Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 4 June 2014
A highly underrated Teen angst flick that borrows heavily from the theme of " Rebel without a Cause ".

Aidan Quinn plays Johnny Rourke, a star football player, however, since his mother deserted him and his Father ( Kenneth McMillan ) he has become rebellious and is desperate to leave the bleak, industrial town he lives in and to change the life he feels trapped in.

Daryl Hannah plays Tracey Prescott, a popular & beautiful cheerleader from the right side of the tracks who, having become bored with her jock boyfriend (Adam Baldwin) gravitates to Johnny after he rigs the class vote that pairs him with her at the senior dance.

They get close, she is attracted to his dangerous side, a relationship develops and there are some fairly explicit sex scenes too.

This is worth seeking out if you love St.Elmo's Fire, About Last Night and other gritty coming of age dramas.
It lacks the warmth of the John Hughes High school films, but is a far more than the " good girl meets a bad boy " genre it could easily fall into.

Both Quinn and Hannah are beautiful to look at and play their roles very well.

Although no official UK release has occured, as yet, the Spanish Import DVD does play in English, you have to opt for the " INGLES " option, and then using your remote switch off the Spanish subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
This film had girls swooning back in the eighties; mean and moody acting and cinematography meant this was a big hit in the video stores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
I love this film. Wish they would bring it out on DVD. Love the music too. Great chemistry between Aiden and Daryl. He's the bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks and she's the good girl from the rich family but she is attracted to him and they start meeting in secret, mainly just to have sex but it then leads to something more. Great 80's film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
My sister had looked for this film for the last 25 years. I went onto Amazon found it straight away and it was hers within three days and she loves it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
A classic 80's love story that debuts both Daryl Hannah and Aidan Quinn with a very small part for Dirty Dancing's Jennifer Grey in a film that I still love to watch even now. It has a great soundtrack and the chemistry between the two leads makes it unmissable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Myself and my two best friends watched this film over twenty times when we were in our teens, back in the 80's.
We are getting together soon for Sarah's hen weekend and the highlight of friday night is to watch "Reckless" which I recently purchased on amazon much to our delight, having had a sneaky viewing I know we are going to have a great night, because it is just as good to watch now as it was then, excellent sound track too! memories of happy days!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2017
Love 80s movies and Aiden Quinn is brilliant as the "James Dean" character! Great soundtrack too!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
one of my faves
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)