Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 August 2016
This is the Ultimate Collection of "The Matrix" trilogy. It consists of three films: 'The Matrix' (1999), 'The Matrix Reloaded' (2003) and 'The Matrix Revolutions' (2003), starring Keanu Reeves as Neo, Laurence Fishburne as Morpheus, Carrie-Anne Moss as Trinity, and Hugo Weaving as Agent Smith. This trilogy is a popular contemporary sci-fi film series, known for its 'bullet time' special effects and philosophically derived story elements. All three films were directed by the Wachowskis, and all three were financial successes. However, the first instalment in the saga is typically regarded as a far superior film - as compared to its sequels. Indeed, 'The Matrix' won four Academy awards (as well as two BAFTA's and two Saturn awards). The first film can be watched and enjoyed as a standalone movie ... while the sequels really only make sense as part of the overall saga. This Ultimate Collection in HD is a 7 disc set (note, the DVD edition consists of 10 discs). The 3 movies are all in HD, as is the 'Animatrix' (a collection of short animated films). And there are extra discs - featuring bonus features - in standard definition. This set is rather costly, and as such I recommend it to enthusiastic fans. A more reasonably priced edition (without the animated films and bonus features) is Complete Matrix Trilogy [Blu-ray] [1999] [Region Free].

The Matrix saga is about a dystopian future, in which the bulk of humankind have been reduced to little more than fodder for a race of intelligent machines. These machines rule the Earth, and use humans as a power source. These humans are trapped in pods, and know nothing of their real existence. Each person is connected to a complex computer programme - a virtual reality - called the Matrix, and (nearly) everyone thinks that this is reality ... As such, people live out their whole lives inside this virtual world. Yet a few people, living deep underground, have made it their mission to free the enslaved humans. These freedom fighters enter the Matrix and try to persuade individuals that the world they know is fake. Of course, the machines don't like this - and so they use super-powered 'agents' to defend and maintain the Matrix. To greatly simplify, the main story of the films concerns one man who is born into the Matrix is destined to be able to manipulate the code of the programme and free others ... This is Neo. In the first movie, Neo is located by the freedom fighters and trained. He experiences an existential crisis of sorts, recognising that he is 'the One' - capable of doing virtually anything (and becoming akin to a super-hero). In the sequels, Neo uses his amazing powers to prevent the machines from destroying all of humankind.

The first film is excellent. It's one of the defining sci-fi movies of all time. It's unfortunate that the sequels don't live up to the quality of the original. Yet all are packed full of amazing special effects and action sequences. If you haven't seen these films, I do recommend them. I suggest watching the first - and, only if you really enjoyed it, do I then suggest watching the sequels.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Bought this second hand: only cost a pound more than buying The Animatrix as a separate DVD. If I ever have sleep trouble I now have The Making Of The Matrix Revolutions.
Hopefully, they'll reboot the sequels with a better Inception-style plot: Trinity is an agent and the entire first film was a training program. Neo is woken up at the beginning of the second film into an even darker reality.
Originally, AI realised that growing humans as batteries was way too complicated and inefficient, and started designing their own electrochemical next-generation lithium car batteries... just sayin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2012
I bought this item recently, it came from "Little Music Shop" in Italy. At first I confess I didn't realize when I bought this that the seller was Italian =) so the writings on the outer cover are written in Italian (obviously) but that all was forgotten when I checked the Audio and Subtitles from the movies.

It has subtitles in Portuguese in all movies, I think it has audio in Portuguese also =) LOL!! I was afraid to try it =)
What I also find fantastic is that it has HD Audio in English and it has 5.1 Dolby Digital in 3 or 4 other languages also, that is rare to see in bluray I think. Not everybody has full HD systems (like me) but I'm starting to buy bluray movies that I like most and because of lower prices so... for now 5.1 Dolby Digital is fantastic!!

The movie is "The Matrix" and that's about it... not much to say other than IT'S A GREAT MOVIE!!

If you are looking for this with Portuguese subtitles or other, I recommend the seller also! If you contact them before, I did because of a lost package and they answered very quickly. I think they have all interest in confirming the subtitles.

I think French audio and subs, English, Spanish and Italian also included. This pack is done like I think blurays should, with "everything", I mean, all audios and subtitles as they could fit in there =) I'll try to post a photo of it so you can check the full features.

Excellent Pack!! Thinking on buying it? Go for it!

Best Regards, Pedro.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2016
Got to say that unfortunately I was left somewhat deflated with this box set release. The Ultimate Matrix Collection does have included the bonus of the Animatrix in an impressive 1080p, which was my main reasoning behind purchasing this blu-ray release, however, I was expected to be completely blown away with the picture quality and the potential of visual eye candy on additional appearances, features & as being blu-ray, but simply put, I was not. Some included extras are in such poor picture quality it ruins your viewing experience. Although the main 3 films themselves on dics 1-3 & the included Animatrix on disc 4 are presented in 1080p, unfortunately the majority of content on dics 5-6 are not, with a presentation in just a mere 480p that leaves you to believe you are watching a sub-par live streaming show for your viewing experience. The main menu screens display and visual appearance on all included discs could have been much improved on too in my honest opinion, with nothing massively impressive to prepare you for the experience of the movies, as a menu screen, justs seems, well plain, basic, certainly doesn't blow you away with eye candy with visuals and clickable features. I have always enjoyed the movies, however, my review on this particular blu-ray release of the Ultimate Matrix Collection is a Ultimate Collection of deflated disappointments. Could have done much better as a blu-ray release box set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2016
And yet we are here in 2016 still wondering why we've chosen the red pill. One of the greatest movie of all time is here in a collection box in blu-ray containing the trilogy, the Animatrix, everything remastered in high definition, which has a nice quality being a movie recorded in SD. If you're a fan you shouldn't even wonder if buy it or not. Just get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2015
What a boxset way better than the "The Complete" version.All three movies have awesome video quality on these blurays,the extra disc's just add to the whole Matrix World.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2017
Good price well happy and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2017
One of the best ever films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2009
If you've never seen the matrix you should. It's like saying you've never seen the star wars trilogy or the Indiana Jones trilogy. It's one of those films you have to see to understand facets of our modern culture. It is a cultural reference point and a thought provoking piece. The sound track is full of awesome techno, classical and rock music that will leave you humming them days after seeing it. The visuals and effects will take you're breath away as will the beautifully choreographed stunts and fight scenes. The plot will change your brain and maybe even make you think.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here