Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Marion & Geoff - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [2000]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 February 2014
Purchased this due to my love of everyone involved in the production but didn't expect much of a monologue. Boy was I wrong and found it a work of brilliance and an emotional roller coaster ride.Brydon was not alone in that car. I was with him every step of the way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Big fan of Marion & Geoff - it was the first time I was introduced to Rob Brydon many, MANY years ago. A cleverly told story, hilarious, heartbreaking and forehead-slapppingly brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
We bought this because we love Rob Brydon and it didn't disappoint, even though it wasn't quite what we expected. It's a one man monologue of Keith's life performed wholly in his Minicab taxi. While amusing it touches on the pain of divorce and quite frankly the thin line between a nice guy and a stalker!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
As expected, original and quite funny. Can be a little boring in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
With a lot of comedy lacking subtlety and the constant desire to have heroes and happy endings in every episode, Marion and Geoff provides a rare alternative.

This is one of the most endearing and engaging comedies I've watched for a while...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
This is intelligent gentle comedy at its finest. Keith is a simple and honest cab driver (series one), turned chauffeur to a rich dysfunctional American couple's child (second series). Keith's honesty and nativity are brilliantly written and delivered, wonderful lines from the banal to the sublime. First he loses Marion to Geoff, but constantly sings Geoff's praises; then an incident occurs preventing normal contact with his two "little smashers" from the separation, yet Keith remains optimistic throughout as he purchases gifts and meets them at motorway service stations. It's full of superb and wry moments, both funny and emotional. The viewer is taken through the full gamut of Keith's emotions which are delivered in monologue style by Rob Brydon from the confines of the car - which works perfectly. If you like Alan Partridge (and probably to a lesser extent The Office), you'll enjoy the similar character exploration and deconstruction - but this is a far more intense character study, and the viewer has far more sympathy with the character. Wonderful!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Bought after reading rob brydons autobiography. As he and others seem to think it was hilarious. Very disapointed. A few comedy moments but otherwise very pointless. Left me feeling realky sorry for the main character kieth rather then fibding him funny. U can see it was his starting block to lead on to better things. Great guy but this work was a let down. Save your money and just catch the re runs on tv!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
Truly groundbreaking TV. A must see. If anyone doubted the power of storytelling without use of CGI, SFX or other artificial means - this is it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
I love, love, love it! Have only watched one DVD but really looking forward to watching the second. Absolutely recommend to the nation....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)