Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
173
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2009
In an email from the distributor for this title, 2Entertain, I was assured that this box set of Bergerac is complete in two ways: it contains all the episodes, and every episode has been restored to its full running length. The unfortunate errors committed for the seasons 1 and 6 releases have been rectified for this box set and future distributions of those individual seasons also will have the full length episodes, not the shortened versions.

This series was a constant companion through the 1980s and was consistently enjoyable. It is one of the half a dozen crime related TV series from Britain which set a standard to match. It has stood the test of time and will entertain and audience today. Newcomers to Bergerac may find though that the concept for the series gets diluted towards the end, especially as some of the favourite regular characters appear less often (Sean Arnold's character Barney Crozier is particularly missed) but it's worth seeing the series through to the end with the 1991 Christmas special which which brings the series to a satisfying conclusion.

Highly recommended.
66 comments| 164 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
These episodes are supposed to be unedited but either I have a rogue set or later collections were padded out with the old edited series one (and possibly series 6) discs when supplies got short, I dont know,but some of my series one episodes are heavily cut down to 45 mins approx.(I havent got as far as series 6 yet to check)
The packaging gives the correct unedited run times but significantly there are no run times printed on the actual discs.It does say however 2006 on the discs and not 2009 which could be very telling. I would expect both dates to be printed if the corrections had been made to the 2009 release.
This box set is still good value,but anyone wanting the full unedited versions should check first.....Beware!
66 comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 March 2014
Reading other reviews here, what comes over strongly is the affection and regard in which the series Bergerac is held, and I would certainly endorse that, as it is wonderfully nostalgic and watchable over and over again, unlike lots of other series of the time. Having seen several episodes recently on various Freeview channels, I wasn't sure that the boxset was totally necessary, but I am very glad to have purchased it.

Seeing the full episodes it is easy to see just how hacked about the current TV-repeated versions are (the BBC can't even be bothered to show all episodes in a series based on current daytime showings on BBC2), and comparing the first ever episode with the chopped-down version that aired last week on TV it is clear that watching the restored DVD versions is way more enjoyable.

John Nettles really develops the role as the series developed, and even though the latter episodes lost their way and were occasionally quite weak, there is still enjoyment to be had from seeing how the whole series developed over its lifecycle. Particularly enjoyable is the changing character of Hungerford - played by the excellent Terence Alexander - from rather brusque, unpleasant ex-father-in-law in the opening series, to a rather more lovable, gentler soul as the series progressed.

All in all, recommended without reservation. Anyone else out there currently enduring the haphazard TV repeats as a way of enjoying the series and wondering whether the purchase is worth it - as I was - should simply go for it. Neatly packaged, restored running times, and including all episodes plus never-shown-again Christmas specials - a treat awaits.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
Made from 1981-1991 this show is perhaps the best of its kind and it has dated well. John Nettles plays his definitive role with a performance that makes the show. Bergerac is something of a maverick cop, often playing fast and loose with the rules and being on the verge of being kicked off the force for insubordination. Of course this is the usual behaviour for cops in tv series, but as Bergerac works the mean streets of Jersey his behaviour adds interest to a show that could have been too predictable. As a recovering alcoholic he also has his demons, but the show never lets this element become too serious and the numerous recurring characters ensure the show has a cosy format.

Best of the main characters is Terence Alexander's Charlie Hungerford, Bergerac's ex-father-in-law who is a rich buffoon who is always involved in dodgy activities, usually innocently, and who can always provide Bergerac with the clues he needs to solve the cases. Best of the recurring small part characters is Phillipa Vale, which provided Liza Goddard with perhaps her best role as the charismatic jewel thief.

During the course of the series Bergerac went through several girlfriends, starting with Francine and ending with Danielle, although for most of the run Louise Jameson, also in her best tv role, had the role. The show does ultimately run out of steam, although the makers accept that when they amend the format with Bergerac leaving the force. And the dangers of presenting Jersey as the crime capital of the world are headed off with many of the later episodes taking part in France. I didn't enjoy that latter change and so I'm pleased the show didn't carry on for too long with the revised style, leaving this as a thoroughly enjoyable cop show.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This collection of 27 discs contains the entire 9 series of Bergerac, and is good value for money. Nicely packaged in a neat storage box, but having 3 discs to a case makes it a bit trickier to remove one. To date I have only watched the first few discs, but so far the recording quality appears better than my memory of the TV showings. Also, the storylines benefit from slightly less editing than the TV episodes, and it is good to watch the series in order of original airing which seldom happens on TV re-runs. This is a really enjoyable series and, knowing Jersey as it is today, it is interesting to see how it looked in the 1980s.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
The complete collection with all episodes restored to their correct running length. Quality varies a little as the source recordings themselves vary, but on the whole the quality of both picture and sound is absolutely fine. I have really enjoyed seeing these again and would not hesitate to recommend to all Bergerac fans. Good value for money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
A great detective television series from the days when British television broadcast excellent programming, my box set seems to be the none edited versions and seems to be the full timing which was broadcast on the then BBC 1 television programs of the day. I have not as yet gone through the whole television box set so can not truly say if all the episodes are to the exact true timings that were broadcast as I have only seen a few episodes of the box set.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
It is interesting to see John Nettles grow into his role as the detective Bergerac--one comes to see why he was chosen for the that masterpiece and perhaps his iconic role in "Midsomer Murders." The series taking place on an island presents one with a cosy murder series and again also populated with interest quirky characters especially bergerac's father-in-law or ex-father-in-law Charlie. The plot lines are varied and some are excellent others weaker but as the writers vary one must expect this to be the case. A very enjoyable series all told and certainly worth watching. I have also ordered the book Nettles wrote about the German occupation of Jersey so interested did I become in the island and its history as a result of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
This is a terrific series of programs having been shown on the BBC for most of the ten years after 1981. Being released in one dvd package is super as it allows the viewer to see the entire series over time or select segments at will.

Having spent time on Jersey the series a definite trip down memory lane as there are many many scenes I remember from my time there.

The story lines are not always as consistently great but many are fine stories and well acted and presented.
In addition to John Nettles, Annette Badland is also a fine addition in the earlier years. The actress who plays Phillipa Vale is also a treat to watch and enjoy in the several episodes she plays in over the years.

Great viewing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Considering the world has gone digital and most TV's are now this or HD, it was a pity that this hasn't been up graded. Other than that this series is well worth a look. Always been a fan of John Nettles and just loved the Midsomer Murders. Not seen this series since it was released in England and now living on the other side of the world, just great to see some of the places we have visited. Then there are the stars that have since made names for themselves. Warren Clark, Patrick Mower, Greta Scacchi, to name but a few. The stories have a gentle pace (not like the Sweeney) but interesting stories just the same. What I want to know is, did we really wear those clothes!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)