Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2010
The Essential "Weird Al" Yankovic was always going to be a problem. How to condense 30 years of laughs into just 2 CDs? Well the answer in this case was to let Weird Al choose for himself and so he has. Some people would say that his most recent album release 2006 Straight Outta Lynwood is over-represented here, but as a big fan I feel that it is important for people to realise this is more than a museum piece retrospective. This is an artist who in my opinion is turning out better and better songs all the time. Granted the middle school belly laughs about snot and food and TV shows is fading into the background a little, and that will never please some people of course. The humour Al sings about now may be more subtle but it is no less universal;everyday moments of angst and shame and longing and regret. This collection brings together the old and the new in a great volcano of spirit and shameless silliness.
From "Another One Rides the Bus" which was his breakthrough piece to "White and Nerdy" where Al rises to geek superstardom and finally becomes either cool or so above cool that coolness becomes irrelevant this is an album for anyone who has ever felt like the odd one out. It is a joyous celebration of the mildly dysfunctional and a wonderful way to banish a bad mood. There is a good mix of parodies and original compositions on the album and the content represents what Al himself feels to be his greatest works. Who am I to disagree? There is something here for everybody from one of the greatest performers of the last 50 years. Family friendly multi generational appeal.. you cannot go wrong with "Weird Al" Yankovic (thats Yankovic by the way, sounds like ~vick, not ~vich ok? ;))
review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
The ESSENTIAL "Weird Al" Yankovic is exactly what it says, it's got the best of the best on this album from "Another One Rides The Bus" right up to "White & Nerdy." Just one hilarious song after another, Yankovic is truly crowned the king of Parody...it's just a shame he didn't have more UK releases, anyone with a sense of humour will enjoy this album.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
This collection covers Weird Al's entire discography up to its release. 20 songs on the superior CD1 and 18 on CD2, make for a great value and largely varied package. There's everything here musically and thematically! Michael Jackson's 'Beat It' and 'Bad' turns into 'Eat It' and 'Fat,' Rage Against The Machine's best songs are morphed into a medley chronicling an overly enthusiastic, personal injury claimants list of transgressions and on the other side of the spectrum, Backstreet Boys' 'I Want It That Way' - 'eBay.' As for the originals, I physically cannot play 'Dare To Be Stupid' just the once, 'UHF' is also pretty close.
Disc 2 has two extended songs that really overstay their welcome, especially the monotonous 'Trapped In The Drive Thru.'
The music is flawless and perfectly captures the sound and vibe of the many artists parodied / paid tribute to, Weird Al's band deserves a lot of credit for this aspect and Al's Bob Dylan impression is as spot on as it is belly achingly hilarious. The production is also perfect, although some of the older songs are little lower down volume wise.
I dare to be stupid and say you could easily forego every Weird Al album for this collection, as it's so comprehensive and you can only stomach so much parody music before you yearn for the real thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
A great introduction to the music career of Weird Al. Spread over two discs you get some of his greatest hit's from 1981's Another rides the Bus to 2006's White and Nerdy.

I can't recommend this album enough as the music is hilarious and smart and very catchy and in addition the CD is excellent value for money. There are some notable exceptions missing from the album such as Pretty fly for a Rabbi but obviously these can be purchased on his other albums which have merit in themselves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
This compilation album brings the talent of 'Weird Al' Yankovic into a single place where the fabulous range of songs he has recorded over several albums can be listened to without hassle, and in one place. There are in my own opinion a few songs that have been missed; germs and pretty fly (for a rabbi) are two obvious omissions (though they can be bought on 'Running With Scissors'), but this is still a 5 star collection I feel is worth having.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I was feeling blue but the sweet melodic tones of Weird Al Yankovic, coupled with his emotionally fueled lyrics changed me. I no longer feel the need to pump heroin through my veins on a nightly basis just to feel validated in life. Since this album came out I've been sticking to lesser drugs like crack and meth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
My 2nd weird al album and all the songs on it are wicked and the way he has put the songs together still manages to amaze me
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Fantastic - I'm still laughing. This man is a parodist of supreme talent. Should be far better known.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
I am 9 years old I would recommend it to other 9 year olds aswell. It`s great. I really like the songs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Some tracks are excellent, Al has a weird sense of humour and does a lot of songs for movies, funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.41
£6.34
£9.06
£6.24
£8.08

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)