Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
Cyborg She [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 May 2014
Cant really write much more without a huge spoiler, but just loved the way everything was wrapped up in the end sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2014
This is one of the best Si-Fi films to come out of japan. romance, time travel, what if ?.
you may want to slap the male actor about 10 mins into the film, but keep watching to the end it will all fall into place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2015
Incredible...WATCH IT.. cry ... laugh... cheer... throw a cushion at the screen .. do whatever it takes to watch this great story of time travelling romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2014
A thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable film . Good imaginative plot with both humour and sadness . A very watchable film .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2010
To start with I'll simply say this movie was brilliant. After watching it once I'd viewed it again within a week.
What makes "Cyborg She" so good is the blend of elements that come together perfectly to create a genuinely wonderful viewing experience. There is an engaging and intelligent story line at the movies core, along with a healthy helping of humour, a hearty splash of Sci-Fi and just the right amount of Romance. Many parts of this movie had me and the others watching it laughing until our sides hurt and the ending is very touching and a satisfying finish to a movie of this caliber. Additionally "Cyborg She" is a movie that both sexes can enjoy equally as neither the Romance nor the Sci-Fi action overpower each other instead there is a decent balance between them.
This is a must see movie for anyone (not just fans of Japanese cinema).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2009
Jiro is a loser who spends the vast majority of his time in solitude but one year when he's out shopping for his own birthday present he notices a beautiful young women in the same store who starts flirting with him. They go to the restaurant and share a meal together before embarking on a night of clean but mischievous adventures. Before the mystery women disappears she tells Jiro that she's from the future and must now time-travel back home.

One year later Jiro copies his exact movements from the previous year in the hope that he will meet his dream women again. When Jiro is dining-out in the same restaurant Cyborg She reappears and joins him at his table but shortly afterwards a man enters with a gun and starts shooting. Jiro is protected by the cyborg as the bullets spray about the diner; and, later she reveals to him a message sent by his future self who was disabled from the original shooting. Future Jiro tells himself that the cyborg will protect him from the disaster that is about to strike Japan and in return he is to teach her how to become more human; but, he ends up falling in love with his own creation.

This is a sci-fi love story that is similar, in essence, to Somewhere In Time but far superior in every aspect; a detailed plot, outstanding special effects and a healthy dollop of humour. The twists and multiple layers to the paradox narrative will make multi-viewing a must. The chemistry between the two leads, Haruka Ayase and Keisuke Koide, is pure gold and expertly weaved into an emotional rollercoaster ride that's guaranteed to place a lump in most viewers' throats. The directing by Jae-Young Kwak (My Sassy Girl) comes straight out of the top drawer too making this an unmissable flick not only for the sci-fi enthusiasts, but anyone who enjoys a good romance too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2010
I won't bore you with a plot summary as there is already one here.

I absolutely loved this film, essentially it is a rom-com, but there is so much more to it. the story is very well told, and the writer clearly enjoyed creating this and put alot of thought into it. The most comical bits are little moments that are not over-stated like in hollywood films where they make a joke in a way that says 'look everyone, we made a funny, aren't we amazing?!' it just had moments that were nice to watch, and added charm as well as humour to the story, for example, in a montage of the main character and the cyborg bonding, they are throwing cans and she throws a can so hard it hits and destroys a big billboard on the other side of the city.

I also loved the futuristic side of the film, as the cyborg was sent by him in the future, and towards the end you see him in the future and it's quite a sweet and slightly tear-jerking scene, and yet there is humour in there too which adds to the emotion of the scene.

There is also more the the story than just him and the cyborg that ties up a lose thread that is a nice turn around to the story.

Visually it is also very pleasing, lots of lovely colours and interesting environments. I think this a goo film for people that don't watch alot of foreign films, aswell as thoughs that do, it is for a wide audience and I very much advise anyone to see it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2010
To be completely honest i picked this film at random, but what a choice it was.

The film follows the lead character who is a complete loner and definately a bit down on his luck. On one birthday (which he celebrates alone) a beautifull woman walks into his life for one nite only and takes him through an event filled evening that he can't forget. One year later the same woman appears but as he finds out she is a cyborg created by the future him to help turn his life around.

A beautifull love story with humour that will make the most stoney of faced people crack a smile.

Fantastic vissual effects and a plot that will allow you to watch again and again for a new perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2010
I purchased this DVD by chance romcom's are. I not my scene. But having watch the DVD I only say the leads were brilliant and the story out of this world The acting was up there with Chinese Box. In that the actors could not have performed any better. A work of almost genius fom the cast and crew
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
As there are other excellent reviews of this film already on Amazon, I'll just add a few comments.

First, this is a classic Science Fiction film, with ideas a-plenty and enough of a changing story to keep you on your toes. OK, so there isn't a spaceship in sight, or aliens, but instead what we have is a nicely-plotted story with excellent performances from the two leads. Maybe, to be a bit critical, the story drags in the middle, but then things happen (I'll say no more) and off we go again - with some excellent make-up/special effects (understated but very nicely done and convincing as well). A bit cruel to Raoul, though.

Second, I think it would be most unlikely that a Hollywood remake would have the charm of this - maybe an independent film maker could have a go instead, and would probably (hopefully) give it the heart a corporate film company might lack. Maybe I've seen too many disappointing Hollywood films, especially remakes (War Of The Worlds, The Day The Earth Stood Still, etc), and am suitably cynical, but once you can get used to watching a film with subtitles the story just carries you along. Maybe you need to watch it a couple of times (or more) to get all the nuances, but it's not a chore, it's a pleasure. So, hands off Hollywood, don't do a Ring on this film. Stick to teenage chase/sex comedies with little plot/intelligence and lots of car chases and explosions, and we'll all be happy knowing exactly what we're going to get - and thus what to avoid!

Anyway, rant over. Cyborg She is a welcome addition to the list of quality time-travel films.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)