Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 5 December 2014
The playing is great but the recording is of its time. Possibly recorded around the 1930's you can hear the background hiss of the recording medium. The recording levels are much lower as well so can sound a bit quiet on i-players and mobile phones. However, I consider the recording hiss as part of the atmosphere which really places the recording within its historical context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2012
This is superb in every way - 101 tracks for £1.09. The sound quality is amazingly good for the period, very clear. The performances have met with almost universal acclaim for over 70 years. The fact that op.110 is not included is not a problem, as it is available as a separate download (a bit pricey though, at over £2!!)Very rewarding in every way
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
I am not a pianist, but I enjoy listening to piano music, and this huge selection of sonatas "does the trick" for me. No doubt if you listen to this on expensive speakers you might find fault, but as background music on my laptop it is ideal and consequently if you want something 'in the background' then this is good value for money. I can recommend it,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
very happy with the service you provide. solid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2012
These recordings provide a fascinating insight into how one of the great exponents of the piano approached the playing of the Beethoven sonatas. It is a pity that Sonata No 31 is missing, but for such a small outlay they are well worth purchasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2012
This must be the bargain of a lifetime,the playing is so good that the age of the recording does not matter.Under the playing of Schnabel these sonatas come to life and show their remarkable beauty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2013
I think I saved something ludicrous like £87 on this mp3. A wonderful recording of fabulous pieces for a completely crazy price. Splendid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2010
I can't hope to match the eloquence of the other reviewers but once you get used to the fact that the recordings are nearly 80 years old the brilliance of Schnabel's performance more than makes up for this. At this price you would be foolish not to buy this (I'm listening to this on my iPod as I write this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2012
The playing and the interpretation are splendid. The download is a fantastic bargain.

The only downside is that this is not the complete set of Beethoven Sonatas - No 31 in A flat is missing!

It's a great buy nonetheless but I was disapointed when I found out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)