Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 28 November 2009
Disc 1 is a 1980 Rockpalast show, dating from just before they discovered those naughty synthesisers and almost cartoon-image videos that made ZZ Top into a commercial monster. The first disc alone is superb and is well worth the price of admission. It has a whopping 22 songs and is arguably illustrative of the band at their live peak.

Disc 2 by comparison is surprisingly poor. It has a meagre 11 songs - still played with immense spirit and enthusiasm - ZZ Top admittedly do a faultless show - but.... the 11 songs are just about all interrupted or ruined by additional footage and interviews, split screens with images of roadies messing with stage lights. Why? If we buy a ZZ TOP DVD, then it surely naturally follows that want to watch ZZ TOP...... not a roadies cabaret, the view of clouds from an aeroplane window, or even the deepest thoughts of the admittedly marvelous Billy Gibbons.

The 'Live In Texas' DVD that is also available covers the latter period of their career admirably with a fairly recent and truly beautifully filmed show. I advise you to buy both this set and the 'Live In Texas' DVD and when you have them, just skip the second disc of this set, as the constant interruptions are really irritating.

Interviews are meant to be extras, not placed between songs in the main feature. When will they ever learn?
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2009
The way this video is made is just perfect. The first dvd is from their brilliant gig for German TV in 1980 so the picture quality isn't perfect ut you won't notice. The sound is loud raw and brilliant! Billy hops about the stage and they really put on a greaty show with a maximum attack style of playing many classics. It's an unpolished way about things that ends up being great. Every song is done in a classic way on this first dvd.

The second DVD has a good on the road feel to it. It was done with just one camera so the sound from one performence from 08 is heard of the images from many (particularly like the compilation of security having to pull fans out of the crowd during La Grange) different gigs throughout the 08 double down tour. One thing worth noticing is that Billy has grown alot as a guitarist between the two. Although being more polished isn't necasserily better he can do great things effortlessly(notice his one handed guitar solo in I need you tonight)! The shots of stages being built, planes taking off and little interview snippets make it like a ZZ Top movie about the joy of performing. Although the first DVD's the gem in this thing, the second one shows beyond any doubt that they still love what they do. enjoy
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2009
The Definitely Then disc from 1980 is as a few reviews have said, was shot for television, it loses nothing for this, but like the Wanted DVD is limited to a few angles. But this aside, it was shot in the 80's when you see the size of the video camera then its easy to see why the angles were limited. But with music the sound is so important and its spot on here, the right mix of voice, guitar, bass and drums. And has that genuine live feel, like being there. I never got the chance to see the Top in this period I was only 5, its amazing how much BG moves around the stage, leaps, jumps, bounces all sorts are there and when the time comes the special timed moves between BG and DH are locked in so tight its amazing. About 9 of the 18 tracks are from the Deguello album and sound great live, the only one missing is Ester, would have been nice to hear that live.
Almost Now disc, is a combination of interviews between the songs, songs that have live and getting there, touring and backsatage footage, but that aside is still great, La Grange is amazing on this disc.

I also got the Eliminator special CD/DVD at the same time as the Double Down dvd, its has four amazing live smoking tracks from tv, even on a small stage they tear it up. Got me under pressure, gimme all your lovin, sharp dressed man, tube snake boogie, this is also essential top viewing for the top fans.

I just wonder why it took them so long to release a dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2012
Great DOUBLE DVD that let you get to know the styles of ZZ Top from the '80s to 2008, how they changed through the years, but it's ALL kicking ass rock-blues from Texas, great buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2013
we enjoy this sort of music as it makes a nice change to what you hear on the radio.
they and just different
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
Outstanding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2010
i bought this dvd for my mother for xmas, i decided to watch it before wrapping and i must say it was fantastic, i've always been a zztop fan, this is well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2010
The Rockpalast gig is stuff of legend, and rightly so

The other gig was shot by a 3-year-old hyperactive child

Probably the last truly great band in The World to be unrepresented by any decent live product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2014
this was not ordered for me and so cannot comment on it so to add anything else when trying to review a product not seem is impossible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2009
Wow, finally, after 29 years of waiting we got here the legendary Rockpalast concert of ZZ Top on a great dvd. Image is OK. Sound is fantastic. Superb dolby digital stereo and DTS surround mixes are included. If you like the old ZZ Top sound, get this dvd! ZZ Top never played better than on this night. All the great old songs are passing by: Waitin For The Bus, Jesus Just Left Chicago, Precious And Grace, Heard It On The X, Nasty Dogs And Funky Kings, Beer Drinkers And Hell Raisers, La Grange, Tush, Just Got Paid and many more! Disc 2 has a interesting view on the 2008 tour but disc 1, the Rockpalast concert is the one to get!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)