Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2002
This is a fantastic Greatest Hits CD from Janet Jackson and is up there with Madonna's The Immaculate Collection as one of the best Greatest Hits albums of the 90s. It boasts a fantastic collection of hits from 1986's Nasty and Control to 1996's Runaway and Twenty Foreplay. This Greatest Hits got to No.2 in the UK Charts. Janet's only UK No.1 album to date is Janet (1993). Albums such as All For You (UK No.2), Control (UK No.8) and Rhythm Nation (UK No.4) should have all made No.1, like they did in the US.
The album kicks off with a brand new track (or brand new at the time) Runaway (UK No.6). We then go all the way back to two of her first hits What Have You Done For Me Lately (UK No.3) and Nasty (underrated UK No.19). This is followed by When I Think Of You (UK No.10), Escapade (UK No.17) and Miss You Much (UK No.22). This is followed up by Whoops Now (UK No.9) from the Janet album. Following this is Love Will Never Do (Without You) (UK No.34!) released in 1990 from the Rhythm Nation album. Alright (UK No.20) is a fantastic track and is the best track on the album to dance to. The Best Things In Life Are Free, (UK No.2) a duet with Luther Vandross proved to be Janet's biggest hit in the UK to date. Control (UK No.42) is the only song from this Greatest Hits album to not make the UK Top 40. It was one of Janet's first ever singles back in 1986. This is followed by The Pleasure Principle (UK No.24) and Black Cat (UK No.15). The best track on the album Rhythm Nation (UK No.23) is a fantastic slice of dance, R'n'B and pop with the cool "woo!" every 4 seconds. That's The Way Love Goes proved to be Janet's biggest hit in the US. It was No.1 in the US for 8 weeks and was one of her 10 No.1s in America. The most recent been All For You (10 weeks at US No.1). This will probably be one of her 11 No.1s as Son of A Gun will probably go to No.1 too! That's The Way Love Goes (UK No.2) is without a doubt the best Janet ballad ever and is one of her biggest hits along with The Best Things In Life Are Free. Come Back To Me (UK No.20) and Let's Wait Awhile (UK No.3) come before the albums' final track, the new (in 1995) Twenty Foreplay (UK No.22).
This album only features 7 UK Top 10 singles but every track on the album made the Top 10 in America. Janet Jackson is a fantastic artist, actress, dancer, writer and producer and in my opinion is better than her brother. Most of the tracks on this album are dance tracks with 4 ballads. The songs after this album are from the Velvet Rope and All For You albums such as Together Again (UK No.4), All For You (UK No.3) and Doesn't Really Matter (UK No.5). It's hard to believe that Janet's never had a UK No.1 single, but I think her time will come...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2004
Design of a Decade: 1986-1996 is a misleading title. The bulk of Janet Jackson's greatest-hits collection concentrates on Control and Rhythm Nation 1814, simply by contractual necessity. That is far from a fatal flaw. The hits from those two albums were state-of-the-art dance-pop productions at the time of their release, filled with bottomless beats and memorable, catchy hooks. None of the songs has lost any of its impact, from the funk of "Miss You Much" and "What Have You Done for Me Lately," to the ballads "Let's Wait Awhile" and "Come Back to Me." In addition to all 13 Top 40 hits from Control and Rhythm Nation - all but one went into the Top Five - Design of a Decade includes the biggest and best hit from janet., the sultry "That's the Way Love Goes," and two new songs, "Runaway" and "Twenty Foreplay." It's a credit to Janet that the two new numbers feel like genuine hits, not tacked-on filler, and help make the album a compulsively listenable greatest-hits collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2005
This compilation is of Janet's hits from her A&M records down to very few Virgin songs plus two new recordings "Runaway" and "Twenty Foreplay". All of the songs are good, and the booklet includes the lyrics for the new songs plus Janet's achievements and thank you's. The tracks on this album six US #1s, aswell as UK hits. The tracks include "Runaway" (UK #6), Janet's very first single "What Have You Done For Me Lately" (UK #3), "Nasty" (UK #19), "When I Think Of You" (UK #10 and US #1), "Escapade" (UK #17 and US #1), "Miss You Much" (UK #22 and US #1), "Whoops Now" which was teamed up with "What'll I Do" as a single (UK #9), "Love Will Never Do (Without You)" (UK #34 and US #1), "Alright" (UK #20), "The Best Things In Life Are Free", Janet's duet with Luther Vandross (UK #2 Remix UK #7), "Control" (UK #42), "The Pleasure Principle" (UK #24), "Black Cat" (UK #15 and US #1), "Rhythm Nation" (UK #23), "That's The Way Love Goes" (UK #2 and US #1 for eight weeks), "Come Back To Me" (UK #20), "Let's Wait Awhile" (UK #3) and "Twenty Foreplay" (UK #22).
Overall score:- 10/10
The two new songs from this album soon became singles and "Runaway" being a Top 10 hit in the UK, whilst a Top 5 hit in the US. "That's The Way Love Goes" is Janet's biggest single from this album as it saw itself in at #2 in the UK (Janet's biggest UK Charting single) and it spent eight weeks at the top of the US Charts. "Design Of A Decade" was a #2 album in the UK. The singles came from the albums (all #1s in the US) "Control" (UK #8), "Rhythm Nation 1814" (UK #4), "Janet" (UK #1), also Janet's only #1 album in the UK and "The Best Things In Life Are Free" was new to this album. Obmissions include: "Again", "You Want This", "Any Time, Any Place" and "If". Possibly, "What'll I Do" and "Throb" are also obmissions. Overall though, a very good first decade for Janet, enough to make me buy this album. Pick it up now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
The music of Janet Jackson I must admit had slipped from my mind over the years,and this collection reminds me she made a lot of good music in the mid to late 80s,a good buy at a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Bought as a gift for my mum she was really pleased. Good price , cheapest online. Good collection of Janet's songs has all the main hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
I can't believe how cheap this great c.d was! It arrived the very next day after I ordered it too! Very happy customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
A wonderful blast from the past choc full
Of sweet tunes, pulsating dance rhythms and catchy hooks. A class act!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Brought back good old memories would recommend a listen too dance round while doing the house work girly nights in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Brilliant album full of classic tracks from the King of pop's little sis! Great voice too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)