Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
90
4.9 out of 5 stars
Chuck - Season 2 [DVD] [2009]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 23 February 2011
I loved Chuck from the first episode, and it is getting better and better. The characters are evolving, the comedy is still on top form and the cast are great. I just can't wait for the next season to be out too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
After watching season 1 of Chuck, I was eagerly waiting to watch season 2 and I was not disappointed because season 2 is just as good as the original.

Zachary Levi continues his funny yet sensitive protrayal as Chuck Bartowski, the computer nerd who's in over his head as he and real/fake bodyguard/girlfriend Sarah and macho tough guy Casey go up against Fulcrum, a sinister organisation that wants the government secrets locked in Chuck's brain.

There are some real gems of comedy in this season, the best episodes are 'Chuck Vs Seduction', where Chuck learns from a borderline alcoholic parody of James Bond, and 'Chuck Vs The Suburbs', where he and Sarah pose as a married couple. However, the highlight of this season has to be Adam Baldwin as John Casey, whose sarcastic and sadistic sense of humour is hilarious, one of his best lines being, "Here's my personal contact number for emergencies only... and for your sake, your fingers better be on fire when you're dialling, Bartowski."

As with season 1, there's plenty of action, comedy, 'will they, won't they' romance, drama and of course, Yvonne Strahovski in a variety of revealing outfits. There are plenty of cameos too, such as Chevy Chase, Scott Bakula and Michael Clarke Duncan.

Good for fans of spy spoofs, Chuck season 1 or anyone who's interested in action and comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I love watching chuck it is so funny and brillent it has more action than the first series and brillent all round all the episodes are good and fantastic storys in them
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
If you are reading this review, STOP, go and buy Chuck NOW, you wont regret it. For those of you still reading.... I've always wanted to watch Chuck but never got around to it, 5* recently showed season 1 which is brilliant, but then stopped no season 2, so off to Amazon I go. £[] for a whole season of Chuck amazing. I watched it inside 2 weeks and the extras! Its a show about a guy Chuck (played by the dreamy Zachari Levi) who gets a super computer in his head. He ends ups with 2 handlers John Casey from the NSA (a brilliant Adam Baldwin playing straight so good its brilliant and funny) and Sarah Walker a CIA operative. Bad people want the info in Chucks head, the trio go on missions and get into scrapes all set against the backdrop of Chucks life (his sister and her boyfriend who he lives with) and his friends at the Buy More where he works, Morgan is hilarious, they all are really, its a joy to watch and of course the inevitable romance-no romance between Chuck and Sarah. Some amazing guest stars, a brilliant storyline, I ordered season 3 by the time I got to disc 4 of this 6 disc set. The extras are nice outtakes, a few behind the scenes with cast and crew interviews, some webisodes, all good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
I may despise the stereotypical meatheads who believe Deadliest Warrior is a legitimate scientific show, but the truth is us geeky types have something very comparable on our end of the spectrum. We love seeing geeks put in traditional heroic roles such as The Last Starfighter - a movie in which a galactic federation distributes arcade machines on Earth and then recruits new pilots based on their highscores. Chuck is in the same vein, it's about a geek who ends up becoming a superhuman government agent through the miracle of technology.

If that premise sounds awfully similar to the lesser known Jake 2.0, well... it kind of is. The difference being that Jake 2.0 was too serious. By Season 2 Chuck has figured out exactly what it wants to be, and seamlessly integrates humour whilst slyly winking to the audience during even the most climactic moments. The cultural references are welcome, and the music choices are so perfect they bring back memories of the earlier seasons of Scrubs (when it was good). I also wanted to mention the top notch editing, which is an art we don't typically notice when it's done correctly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2009
Season 2 of Chuck combines brilliantly written action and comedy.

The best elements of season 1 are expanded upon (including family relationships, the dynamic between Chuck and Sarah, the quirks of the Buy More staff). Zachary Levi's performance in the title role is pitch perfect - his reactions are always believable and he is able to convey genuine emotion alongside the slapstick moments. Chuck's growing resentment at his situation, and his desire to get back to a 'normal' life, drives several of the episodes along but never pulls focus away from each week's self-contained spy plot.

Casey (as played by Adam Baldwin)is a great foil for Chuck; season 2 shows his occasional softer side and a begrudging acceptance that sometimes listening to feelings is more important than following rules.

What I love about the show is that, at its core, this is truly warm-hearted and optimistic story telling. It doesn't laugh at its characters, as it's apparent 'losers' (particularly at the Buy More) all have their moment to shine. Chuck's friendship with Morgan and his relationships with Ellie and Awesome are hugely supportive and loving.

It will be interesting to see how developments in the final episode impact upon season 3.

A superbly witty, upbeat adrenalin rush of a show.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
I love this show, i watched the 1st season and just loved it. i just love the characters and how funny it is. i like how it has action but don't take it self to seriously either. all i got to say if you liked season 1 season 2 is even better its a must buy for sure. on top of that it always has lovely lady's in it ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
This show is truly one of the most fun things that I've seen on TV. It all flows so well and looks so easy, but I think a huge amount of thought and creativity has gone into it. As well as the wonderful trio of main characters, the supporting characters are a delight to watch. In many ways it reminds me of Scrubs, but Chuck also has tension and action to go with the comedy.

It's also a genuine family show - I and my kids (aged 11 to 19) all enjoyed it enormously. It probably helps if you're a little geeky so you can sympathise with Chuck and some of the other main characters, but there's something there for most people - comedy, action, drama, romance, eye-candy (for both sexes) and excellent performances from all of the regular actors.

Like many others, I can't wait for season three!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2010
Caught onto this series by chance from the start. Series two is an excellent continuation from series one. Great value for money when the price drops, so patience pays.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
I first bought season 1 at the start of febuary in 2011 and it was a compllete blind buy as the only thing i saw about it was the promo trailer for episode 1 and then in the space of two weeks I had bought season 2 and season 3 and watched them all. After watching season 3 I couldnt wait for season 4 so I bought the season pass of itunes so that I was up to date with america. Overall this series is a must for anyone, it has a mix of genres which everyone can relate to and good family fun. Next up season 5 (which is also the season).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)