Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2009
So you have the Rock Band franchise that lets you live your wildest 'wannabe rockstar' dreams. Then you have the Lego franchise that provides great family friendly entertainment. Then in a genius mad scientist moment somebody thought hey wouldnt it be good if there was a Lego Rock Band game. Mad as that person may have been they were right!

Lego Rock Band takes the core Rock Band mechanic of knockin out awesome rock tunes with plastic instruments and wraps it up with Lego goodness. Adding all sorts of additional gameplay elements that will keep the young un's just as interested as parents.

There are even Lego versions of Queen, Blur, Bowie, Spinal Tap and Iggy pop to play as. How cool is that!

As well as the multitude of on disk songs that are all kiddie friendly you can also download songs from the extensive online rock band catalgue (filtered for family suitability of course) so it should keep you playing for ages!

All I need now is to build myself a Guitar out of lego and i'll be happy! Oh and Lego you really need to be making Lego versions of the in game characters you can buy. Then I could play roadie building Stages for them!

Err maybe I am getting a bit carried away now I am 37 after all!

If your curious about Rock band and not taken the plunge yet then this would be the ideal way to get into it (You can pretend it for the kids then!) but dont forget your plastic instruments!!!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
If the consept of Rock Band is familiar to you then this brings nothing new, only the background animations are now played by Lego characters. To me, this is more funny than the "serious" characters in previous versions. Especially the Lego dudes based on real musicians such as Queen or Iggy Pop are hilarious. The song list is a great party pack, but this is of course a matter of opinion. if you like Rock Band then this is highly recommendable.

Oh yeah, you can also disable the pedal from the drums wich is great, bacause I hate that thing!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
I picked this up for a fiver, which is great value for all the songs included if you consider that you're paying around £1 per track when downloading from XBox live.

Check the instructions on-line for how to import the songs into Rock Band (does cost another few quid).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
The problem with this kind of game is that it comes with a very broad playlist, which means you often get stuck play really crap songs that you don't like. Great game with friends around when you can skip to the good songs, but sad and boring on your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
I extracted the tracks for rb1 then gave it to my little brother, he was chuffed to bits with it! There's some great and well-known songs that make it a bit more 'family and friends' friendly than the rest of the rb series. Overall a hit with everybody, well worth the money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
Rock Band has certainly been through a very successful life until now, and its TT time to show they can excute the game, in LEGO!

The concept sounds slightly childish but compared to its competiter Band Hero, it really isn't. There are a lot of grown ups who will recognise the songs in games, including Summer of 69 and You Give Love a Bad Name, whereas Kids favourites like Ghostbusters.

The career mode is the main mode in the game and is good fun. You can play 1 or 4players locally, unforuntely the game does not support Live multiplayer but thats not too much of an issue. You play in certain lego vehicles you purchased using lego 'studs' which are simply the amount of points you earnt in the song. Inside a lego vehicle is a bunch of sets and also a special gig which involves certain objectives being accomplished. So rather than just played a song with Lego pieces, you are playing a song to say destroy a Lego building and scare ghosts out of a haunted house.

Each venue you play is customised not only in terms of set but also the crowd. While they can look very similar to one another, each venue looks completely different. So a train station will feature guys with briefcases, whereas building sites men with hard hats. You can create your own characters for you band, but occassionaly the game actually gives them another accessory just for the gig they are playing at. Everything is done to precision throughout the whole of this game. Heck, when your not playing you can actually visit how to make a record, hire lego managers, customise your den...its all there waiting for you in a much more interactive experience than any Rock Band game thus far.

All the songs are unlocked in Quickplay (not career quickplay) from the beginning, and any Beatles or RB1 songs you have downloaded onto your HDD will be transferred as long as they are not too rude. Luckily, the game doesnt do annoying censoring like Band Hero has done, it simply just doesnt allow you to play that song. YOu can also download these LRB songs onto your HDD as well for use in other games. The only game which you cant do this is RB2 songs, but all DLC will transfer anyway.

There are some further local multiplayer modes including tug of war, or score duel, but nothing new at all when it comes to it. The career mode is the strongest point. Also the achievements are really easy. You could obtain at least 600 just by playing the career mode for 5 hours. It's all good stuff.

This is a very cheap game, but its production values are worth so much more. If the quote 'never judge a book by its cover' was true, this couldn't be more true! Its an awesome game!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
This game is essentially just normal Rock Band with a Lego characters in the background and some cheesy Lego based cinematics. It is a game for children, however the song selection is very good and the little Lego touches can be entertaining.
The choice of songs is a bit limited however and to pad the story mode out you are made to play the same songs over and over again. The story mode is laughably easy. Most of the songs are impossible to fail. If you aren't playing well enough the game enters "Recovery Mode", which puts the crowd-happinessometer-thing back to full.

A few of my personal favorite songs that aren't mentioned in the product description include:
The Coral - Dreaming of You
Jimi Hendrix - Fire
Ray Parker Jr - Ghostbusters theme
Supergrass - Grace
Zutons - Valerie
David Bowie - Let's Dance
Iggy Pop - The Passenger
Automatic - Monster
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
I bought this game soon after we bought a full set for Guitar Hero 6: Warriors of Rock, with the drums, guitar and microphone. My boyfriend was the one who wanted it and there weren't many songs I knew on there so I wanted something with some different songs on it.

I found this one and immediately thought it was a good idea. I knew quite a few of the songs and loved the Lego theme (my uncle collects Lego and I've always enjoyed playing with it).

I wasn't disappointed. There is a good range of songs with difficulty levels for each of the instruments. It's really easy to play by yourself or with friends. I really like that you can set the kick pedal on the drums to automatic with this game. Some of the songs are really quite hard if you've not had much experience with drums, and by setting that to auto, I could keep up with the other drums and learn those first without getting really bad scores.

The only downside with it, was that the drums on the game were slightly different to the ones on the set that came with guitar hero 6. There is no orange one in the game whereas there is on the set. However all the other drums remain in the correct order (moving from left to right) and so it's not too hard to adjust to it.

I would definitely recommend this if you like the songs that come with it. When we first got it we were on it for hours and didn't get bored. You can change around instruments and there are enough songs to keep you entertained for quite a while.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
The track list is really cool, and for such a cheap price, it's really a cool add-on to your Rockband music library. If you plan to play it as a standalone game, it's kinda fun and quite cool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
Good game i spent a week on this achievement are easy, games got a good story, the drums are loud kept my parents annoyed only bad thing no lego guitar:(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)