Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
125
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.91+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2009
Another magical tale from the writings of Noel Coward - beautiful transformed into a magical tale - terrific music - true english wit a film to be seen over and over. Colin Firth dancing a tango a must see.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
My memory played me false. I thought I had enjoyed this the first time I saw it, so I was sad to find that the film was shallow and irritating. It was supposed to be funny too, but it failed to raise a laugh! The scion of a dysfunctional wealthy family returns home in the 1920s with an American racing-driver bride, and her mother-in-law (Kristin Scott-Thomas) freaks out, spitting hatred and despair. The scion is infuriating, but then all the characters are! None of it rang true at all, and we breathed a sigh of relief when the final credits rolled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Great Mother-in-law/daughter-in-law rivalry set against a crumbling family seat. Tradition meets modernism. All the English girls look so dowdy, nay scruffy because they are so impoverished and the sassy American racing driver is a breath of fresh air. No wonder the husband leaves with her. Firth was excellent as the war-weary, disillusioned father, who had returned to his wife just to keep up appearances and help raise his three children with wise sayings. Kris Marshall as the butler was also great. Jessica Biel was terrific.

I thoroughly recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 August 2009
This is an hilarious reworking of the Noel Coward play with all the stars perfectly cast and on top form.

Set around the son (Ben Barnes) daring to marry and bring home an American (Jessica Biel) to their family estate while his mother (Scott Thomas) schemes to try and keep things together and the father (Colin Firth) tinkers. The interactions between the characters are acted out in true Noel Coward style making the film very entertaining.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
A film that did not quite achieve a five star rating and seemes to have sunk without trace on cinemas around the UK. However, it contains a pleasing story, good acting and ends on a happy note. Strongly recommended for all viewers who enjoy the ' Four Weddings and a funeral' genre. A very good evenings entertainment
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Saw this on TV, enjoyed it so much, I purchased the DVD.

Most of the acting is very good, a comedy of errors, some very funny scenes, ( the death of the yapping dog was funny if a little implausible ).

A good watch, buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This is a lovely way to while away a rainy afternoon. The reactions of a family to an unsuitable spouse is pretty much a universal theme and in this case, the mother and the sisters' reactions are beautifully timed with biting lines. This is also an excellent film for any lover of Colin Firth but it is not essential to your enjoyment.

I love the music of the 1920s but the covers of more modern tunes in the style of Cole Porter fell a bit flat for me - perhaps as the "modern" tunes date so easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I had a wet afternoon lit up when I put this film on. The story is adapted from Noel Coward's stage play but significant changes have been made especially to the main character, Larita. The cast are drawn from Britain's finest but the beautiful Jessica Biel steals every scene for me. I would imagine that the film is essentially more appealing to those who enjoy period drama and comedy. It is clever, witty and directed masterfully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Had this one on my wish list for awhile as I had already seen it, finally thought I deserved a treat and it was speedily delivered. Great easy to watch film, can recommend it to those who don't want blood and guts and loads of swearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2012
This film will not stretch your brain cells however it is an easy houmerous watch. Based on a Noel Coward play this should not surprise you. It is set in the period following WW1: of country house parties and gay (sorry to have lost the old meaning of the word!) young things. A very enjoyable way to spend 92 minutes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)