Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2009
For a long time I had a copy of the original review of this album from "Sounds"(remember that)which gave this album one star and had a very fetching photo of Kevin Haskins.
And here we are 30 odd years later with another one star review!I'm amazed that the funny little band that saw me through the last couple of years of school have become so lionised (particulary by our American cousins).You can't knock this album as it sounded like nothing else then and holds up well even today.
Like the Beatles(!) a remaster has been a long time coming but let's hope it sounds better than ever.
I dare you !!!!
Update
Having had the original cd for years out of sentimentality I bought this for the extra bits and bobs and because I'm a sad old thing but was pleasantly surprised that the remastering has returned the sheer power to the tracks that I had forgotten completely,it now sounds almost like a different record(showing my ae there!).
Buy it now.
Lovely box by the way which seems to have been assembled by small children in a craftwork class.
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2001
Peter Murphy may get bored In the Flat Field, but you would need to be part of the undead to not appreciate the uniqueness and vitality of Bauhaus's debut outing. Prior to the release of this album in 1980 I caught them as a support act to Magazine in Bristol Trinity Centre and was blown away by songs like God in an Alcove and In the Flat Field. The songs are stripped down with scratchy guitar sounds and pounding drum rhythms. This CD has the added benefit of containing one of my all time favourite singles, Terror Couple Kill Colonel. If you want to dip into the world of Bauhaus, buy this and the singles, as you need to hear the classic Bela Lugosi. Bauhaus were the original goths, nothing gets remotely close.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This UK release is from the original label, 4AD, and consists of the album both on VINYL and also on a bonus CD. It uses the 2008 re-master that was also used in the OMNIBUS In The Flat Field edition. The artwork has been carefully replicated from the first editions and included the inner bag. If European customers are thinking of buying a copy from the USA in Marketplace then be careful - the USA copies do NOT have the bonus CD.
For the quality of the music I'll simply quote Ned Raggett's review in All Music Guide. "Few debut albums ever arrived so nearly perfectly formed; that In the Flat Field practically single-handedly invented what remains for many as the stereotype of goth music -- wracked, at times spindly vocals about despair and desolation of many kinds, sung over mysterious and moody music -- demonstrates the sui generis power of both the band and its work. This said, perhaps the best thing about the album isn't what it's supposed to sound like, but what it actually does -- an awesomely powerful, glam-inspired rock band firing on all fours, capable of restraint and complete overdrive both, fronted by a charismatic, storming frontman...In the Flat Field started off Bauhaus' album career with a near-perfect bang."
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
Yes, I am a major fan (have been since '79) so any re-release is worth every penny to me.
This was an axcellent album when it was first released and this 'version' has had a lot of research put into it. This release is more of a project and Bela was not included because it did not fit in with the timescale of the project and there is no live concert cd like there is with Mask (this is due to the fact that any recordings of their early concerts were on poor quality tape)
This album release and Mask were put together for the die hard fans so dont expect the unreleased music to be anything more than what it is.
If you want more and want Bela, then by both cd's together from Beggars Banquet and get a lovely bonus that isn't available elsewhere.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
Having just bought the CD some 24 years after originally buying the album... I am shocked at how good it still sounds. They were my favourite band of the time and Pete was a great showman.
The atmosphere they whipped up was always dark and sensual unlike the bleak, hopeless but brilliant Joy Division which were also the talk of the students union bar. Fantastic; buy it, buy it all.... as for Goths, dont think the word really existed at that time so stop making comparisons.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2001
What a legendary band - and a truly fantastic album. Bauhaus have to be heard to be believed, and this album is as good a starting point as any. They are extremely theatrical, yet without any silly pomp and ceremony. In fact, their music is often stripped right down to the bone - see Spy in the Cab. No goth band since Bauhaus has managed to create such an intense atmosphere, which is why this is a must-have for true fans of the genre. But even the term 'genre' is restrictive, for Bauhaus cast off the shackles of convention and instead do their own thing. Imagine a twisted, demonic David Bowie and you don't even come close. The genius of this band lies in Peter Murphy's incredible versatile vocals, which range from the deepest guttural sounds of Transylvania to a pixie yell. The guitars are brilliant, the bass lines are amazing, and the drums are real - none of your synthesised rubbish for Bauhaus! Buy it and savour the delights of songs such as Double Dare (a real killer riff), Stigmata Martyr (exquisitely scary), Nerves (builds up to a terrifying finale) and In The Flat Field (truly amazing). Bauhaus are more than goth - they are experimental art rock, and anyone missing them is missing out. Buy it and savour it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
This is the first Bauhaus LP. It is new re-issued with a bonus disc of out-takes, demos and live material that will please anyone who has purchased a record by this band in the past. If you have been thinking is this release worth it make no bones it is worth every last penny. Along with Mask these Bauhaus re-issues are the best of the best in their field for 2009.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Peter Murphy being one of my favourite musicians, it’s interesting to investigate his roots in this seminal goth album from the early 1980s. Compared to his later solo work, this music is raw but passionate and multifaceted, utilising innovative drum patterns, guitar bursts and alienated vocals to create sparse sounds of gloom and foreboding. The eeriest tracks here – and my personal favourites – are Small Talk Stinks with it insistent repetition of the title, the frightening St. Vitus Dance and the hair raising Stigmata Martyr with its Latin chant that sounds like the black mass. A God In An Alcove and Spy In The Cab are further above-average tracks. Bauhaus were brave in their experimentation and deserve their cult status as they didn’t choose the easy path of catchy rock riffs but wove a web of mood and feeling influenced to a certain extent by the pioneering work of Bowie, Siouxsie & The Banshees and others. They spawned a host of imitators but this is the real goth thing from the fertile early 1980s.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
Well, I've been recently revisiting my musical past and this along with UK Decay, Furyo and the mighty Killing Joke sit very firmly in that truly unique period of British music, the early 1980s.

To call any of it Goth (not necessarily Killing Joke) complete misses the point and unfairly labels what remains to this day, original and truly inspiring music.

This album still sounds as great as it did all those years ago. There's not many bands today who are prepared to take such risks but Bauhaus did and they pulled it off with aplomb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
This is a seminal work. It stands the test of time and deserves the moniker of 'Classic'. This album must have influenced countless musicians to not pay attention to accepted norms and it could be argued that it spawned the genre of 'Gothic Punk'. I have often puzzled at the lack of recognition it has been accorded, which generally stands true of Bauhaus' catalogue in general.

If you ever heard this, then listen to it again, It'll not disappoint. If you've an interest in strange or dark gothy stuff or experimental noise, give it a whirl, you are in for a treat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)