Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
26
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2012
If I could rate this with 6 stars I would. A marvellous set of audio CDs. The music is wonderful, played by 2 of the greatest violinists. The quality of the recordings is good and the selection of songs is extensive. The players blend their styles so well and their enthusiasm for working together comes across in their music. I listen to these cds over and over and never tire of them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Two of the greatest together what a dream. Arrived as promised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
This box is an incredible bargain. Menuhin and Grappelli came from very different backgrounds and musical fields, but they enjoyed making music together and the results are often highly spontaneous and enjoyable. Buy it while you can!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Fantastic compilation from Menuhin and Grappelli.
Has all the popular favourites and few that I have never heard before.
Nice, clear reproduction and CD well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
I rarely write reviews but this is worth one.

If you are a fan of Stephane Grappelli then this should be in your collection.

Why? The recording quality is excellent.It makes the music that much more enjoyable.

I was expecting a highly compressed recording but as is often the case these days,i was incorrect.

I am not saying that on a budget hi fi system it will sound beyond the capability of the system, but certainly on a medium or a high end system it will sound very good indeed.

Whatever the system though,the music is still great.

I hope you enjoy it as much as i do.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
Wonderful recordings from two wonderful musicians. Choice of composers for all tracks couldn't be bettered. Well recorded and great listening. The box set arrived very quickly and in good condition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I was fortunate to attend a concert by Stephan Grapelli, at a time what Traditional Jazz was enjoying a revival - early 1960's; and as a lover of classical music I thought the blending of the different styles of these two maestros would produce a new stratum in violin musicianship. And it did, as recorded on this precious disc!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Wonderful and nostalgic - superb seemingly effortless expertise from this amazing duo!
Bought after seeing a documentary on Menuhin, so glad I saw that which promoted this essential CD for anyone's collection - brilliant price for such a multitude of songs!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Great to have all their collaborations in a box set. Very good value and delivered promptly. It was a present for my wife who had some of the old vinyls. She has been thrilled with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I've got some of this on vinyl, but the other CDs are fantastic and so easy to listen to but complex and clever if you want to sit and dissect the music if you're in the mood. Great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)