Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(5 star). See all 17 reviews
on 12 November 2001
Being a fan of Mazzy Star for quite a while, I was keen to hear Hope Sandoval's first solo outing (apart from the At The Doorway Again EP and the stuff with the Chemical Brothers and the Jesus and Mary Chain). I can tell you now that since I got this LP, nothing else has been on my cd player (and I have a big cd collection with [in my opinion] a lot of really good stuff in it).
Hope's voice is as deliciously narcotic as usual, at the same time languid and sorrowful, and if anything the tracks are even more laid-back than Mazzy Star... perfect music for any time, stone-cold chilled and sweeter than a kiss.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
This is indeed ethereal music, but not quite in the sense that Enya for instance is ethereal. There is more of a eerie and haunted sound here, but there's exquisite beauty within that sound.
These are all good tracks, but most notable are "Suzanne", "On The Low", "Feeling Of Gaze", "Charlotte, "Clear Day", and "Around My Smile". There is a melancholy mood here, but not depressive as Natalie Merchant's MOTHERLAND might seem to many. This is meditative, relaxing music, and yet there is depth to it.
Highy recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2001
We had to wait for quite some time for this album, but it definitely was worth the wait !
Hope Sandoval proves that there is life after Mazzy Star. Because of Hope's amazing voice, this album sounds like Mazzy Star. There are differences as well. The songs are more laid-back than the songs on Mazzy Star albums. Hope gives us a cd which makes day-dreaming easier than ever. Great songs, great atmosphere ! One of the better albums of the year !!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
Music is its own reward and fans of Mazzy Star will not be disappointed with "Bavarian Fruit Bread". Hope's voice is still the most beautiful sound ever committed to tape, disc, vinyl...or whatever new technological medium comes our way. Although the music may not be as psychedelic as Mazzy albums were/are, it is however, still very haunting, moody, atmospheric, and as uplifting as ever. Like fine wine, or Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks", and Love's "Forever Changes", Hope's first solo offering is an album to grow old with and enjoy for years and years to come. This really is as good as it gets. Splendid.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2004
Sandoval is one of my favourite female vocalists. Her eyes closed whisper oozes a lazy sexuality that gives me goosebumps every single time. Around my smile has the lady herself admitting "I got it going on!" and listening to this you have to agree. On the Low is a tune in a very similar groove, and although not an identical twin it is at least a very alike sibling. This is a good thing as these two stand out tracks are perfect. Things get a little melancholic throughout but never to the point were you even think of turning it off. Gimme this CD, a balmy summers evening, a hammock and a beer and I got it going on!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
In 2001 Hope Sandoval released an album under the banner Hope Sandoval and the Warm Inventions. Bizarrely, it was entitled Bavarian Fruit Bread and largely featured a collaboration with Colm O'Ciosoig, ex-drummer with the wonderful My Bloody Valentine. There's minimal percussion here though. The sound of the album, while not a major departure for Sandoval, was a lot more stripped back than Mazzy Star, featuring a lot more acoustic guitar and touches of cello, bells, harmonica and xylophone here and there. Hope sounds totally unenthused, but in an utterly bewitching way.

The album begins with Drop, a Jesus and Mary Chain cover (she used to go out with William Reid) and Hope's voice is centre stage over a strummed acoustic guitar. It's followed up by the narcoleptic Suzanne. This and Butterfly Mornings are perfect sunny Sunday morning music. On the Low picks up the pace a bit and reminds me slightly of less cringe-y Serge Gainsbourg (without the male vocals). Feeling of Gaze doesn't quite work. Hope's singing is great but the cello and piano competes rather than complements leaving the track sounding disjointed.

The stronger melodies are actually backweighted towards the second half of the album. Charlotte is another sleepily graceful track, while Clear Day is a quiet triumph. The vocals here are particularly enticing, lines like "gonna take all your troubles, gonna send them away"wouldn't work with other singers but they suit perfectly here. Around My Smile is probably the strongest track, a slow-burning torch song with Hope Sandoval at her most alluring. The chorus is like a ridiculous come-on, the line is "I got going on". Writing about it doesn't do it justice. The final track is an extended shoe-gazey type piece, Lose Me On The Way.

Avoid this album at all costs if you prefer rockier stuff or like your music to actually go anywhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Hope Sandoval's vocal style remains the same - dreamy, half spoken, ethereal. Guitars are slightly less to the fore than with Mazzy Star and the variety of instrumentation and sound is wider but otherwise fairly similar, hence if you like Mazzy Star you will probably like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I have always liked Mazzy Star since my son played them to me, Hope's voice is really soothing and this is every bit as good as Mazzy Star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2017
Great albumn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)