Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
8
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2015
I cannot understand some of the comments made by other reviewers. I think there is some wonderful music here and "EXERCISES" is a set the band can be proud of. There is a touch of folk and country to some of the tracks it's true, but some of the other reviewers mention this almost as a criticism. What bollocks! There are some carefully crafted songs that are played and sung beautifully. Some of these others must have cloth ears! Turn up the volume and enjoy!!!
55 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 August 2011
...there were two albums that didnt set the heather alight,so disappointing as it is i fully understand why the bands first two albums are issued in Salvo's superb remaster campaign as a 2 on 1 disc,completists will be disappointed as some b'sides etc are not included.

So what of this reissue ,well i've always quite liked Nazareths debut,is certainly of its time,the days when a Bass player would be quite high in the mix,thankfully this remaster has come with a superb sound,the Bass playing in particular outstanding.

Nazareth(1971) """" a decent debut with highlights such as 'Witchdocter Women' and 'Dear John',the former giving a early indication of where the bands sound would go while the latter a superb Quo like shuffle.Other moments to mention would be the superb lenghty cover of 'Morning Dew' whilst the bizarre vocal on 'Fatman' always brings a smile,'Country Girl' is a good old stab at country rock while 'I had a Dream' has a superb vocal from Dan.

Exercises (1972) ** After the promise shown on the debut,this is a disappointment,maybe the band lost confidence,panicked ,who knows but its probably the poorest disc they released,for the most part its directionless with a series of well played but uninspiring tracks such as 'In My Time','Called Her Name' while 'Sad Song' sums up the disc,very down not much joy.Highlights are few and far between but plus points for 'Cats Eye,Apple Pie' & 'Fool About You' whilst '1692(Glencoe Massacre' shows their prowess,all in all one to forget.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the first title in Salvo's reissue of the entire Nazareth catalogue - the Scottish Seventies hard rock band that took their name from a lyric in "The Weight” - a song on The Band's debut album "Music From Big Pink”.

Each of these UK issues comes in a Tri-Gatefold card sleeve with the 'Loud, Proud & Remastered' logo on the front cover. When folded out, two of the flaps usually reflect the gatefold artwork of the original UK LP while the third flap gives us a live shot of the period (disc in the right flap, booklet in the left). Here are the hairy-men details…

UK released September 2009 on CD - Salvo SALVOCD030 (Barcode 698458813022) breaks down as follows (74:21 minutes):

1. Witchdoctor Woman
2. Dear John
3. Empty Arms, Empty Heart
4. I Had A Dream
5. Red Light Lady (Part 1 & 2)
6. Fat Man
7. Country Girl
8. Morning Dew
9. The King Is Dead

Tracks 1 to 9 are their debut album "Nazareth" issued January 1971 in the UK on Pegasus Records PEG 10 and May 1972 on Warner Brothers BS 2615 in the USA (later pressings are on A&M).

10. I Will Not Be Led
11. Cat’s Eye, Apple Pie
12. In My Time
13. Woke Up This Morning
14. Called Your Name
15. Fool About You
16. Love Now You’re Gone
17. Madelaine
18. Sad Song
19. 1692 (Glencoe Massacre)
Tracks 10 to 19 are their 2nd album "Exercises" issued June 1972 in the UK on Pegasus Records PEG 14 and October 1972 on Warner Brothers BS 2639 in the USA (later pressings are on A&M). Note: the band returned to “Woke Up This Morning” for their 3rd album “Razamanaz” - the version on this debut album is therefore commonly known as “Version 1”.

The 16-page colour booklet is superb, liner notes by band expert JOEL McIVER, pictures of rare UK 7" singles, Euro picture sleeves, tour program, promo photos from 1972 - very nicely done (it's missing the rear ‘cards' artwork of "Exercises" though). But the really big news for the fans is the fantastic new SOUND. TIM TURAN at Turan Audio has remastered the original tapes and a truly fabulous job has been done - loud, clear, and ballsy - without being overbearing. To use the vernacular - this rocks...

Downsides - there were 4 singles issued between the 2 LPs - two of them "Dear John" and "Morning Dew" (itself an edit) had non-album B-sides - "Friends" and "Spinning Top" - they're not on here (neither is the edit). If you want those, you'll need the previous issue of both albums - a bit of a pain really. The lovely artwork for the rear sleeve of the US "Exercises" is missing too as I said and someone has double-imaged the first sleeve picture for the rear, which does no one any favours. That said - I actually like the packaging and at least each issue to follow will be uniform...

As you've no doubt read from other reviewers, the songs on these formation albums are viewed as good at best - and in the case of "Exercises" where they veered away from their rock formula - as even less so. But I’d argue that it's not all that bad. I love the quirky Band-feel to "Cat's Eye, Apple Pie" and "Fool About You" from Exercises, while "Empty Arms, Empty Heart" from their debut is as good as anything Wishbone Ash was doing at the time. "Dear John" from the first album (lyrics above) also features excellent bluesy piano work from Pete Wingfield of Britain's Blue Horizon signing "Jellybread" (see separate review of their Complete BH material). But there's no doubt that "Love Now You're Gone" and the weedy "Madeline" is plodding stuff. And their 1st version of "Woke Up This Morning" hadn't quite got there yet. Still, at least all the tracks are now saved by truly great sound quality...

This is probably the 3rd or even 4th reissue of Nazareth's material on CD by varying labels - but Salvo’s gallant attempt is by far the best sounding version [Dan McCafferty has to be one of the most underrated vocalists of the period - Frankie Miller too]. The packaging is also pleasing to the eye and it's pitched at mid-price.

But it would take hunger, Roger Glover of Deep Purple as a Producer and a return to good old rock blues to deliver the real goods next time around - the awesome “Razamanaz" and the album that followed it “Loud ’N’ Proud” (see reviews)…
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2009
Been a Nazareth fan since the early/mid 70's and own most of their albums on CD or Vinyl.
I bought this to complete my Nazareth album collection. First I expected it to be a 2CD set, but it's two albums on one CD. The first one isn't too bad, but Exercises is dire - must be the worst album Nazareth ever made (even more patchy than some of their later recordings I don't play often).
The CD sleeve printing is realy bad, all the band have 2 heads an four eyes on the back of the cover!!!
If you really want to own these albums try and buy them individually packaged, and don't bother buying 'Excercises' at all. It has 'Woke this Morning' which is the only decent track, but the version on 'Razamanaz' is much better.
There's a booklet included, but the quality of the packaging and material, I can't be bothered to read it.
After these two albums, Naz morphed and produced some classic stuff, like 'Razamanaz' and 'Hair of the Dog'.
If you are like me and want to complete your set, try and buy the CD's individually, and if you do have buy 'Excercises' - file it, don't even bother to play it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2009
Well unfortunately these two opening offerings from the nazsters just dont do it for me they were fumbling around finding their way here and its not very good.
The first album is marginally better than the second which quite frankly is mega boring and is so of its time.
I really cant find a track on the second album I like at all. On the first I will go for the first track witchdoctor woman which is the pick of the set in my opinion and probably the only reason I gave this compendium 2 stars instead of what it should have got 1.
Its not a shade on the stuff to come and Dan's voice on these albums is unrecognisable its so insipid, thank the lord they improved drastically.luckily its not an expensive buy I got this out of curiousity really and wish I hadnt bothered but thats how it goes you cant win them all.
A word of advice especially if you are starting out discovering this band avoid these albums start with razzamanaz, rampant or hair of the dog.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
Brother wanted it for his collection, he was very pleased with a fast and efficient service and the CD was as described
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
OK!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
o k
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)