Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2017
Wife's favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I don't know how anyone who likes dance music could not like the album, it's brilliant. I think there is only one song on the entire cd that I don't like. If your not familiar with Calvin Harris this is a great introduction to his music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Very pleased given for a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Thought h would be as good as 18 months but it isn't - though its just different.
Listen to it occasionally via my Ipod but not a regular favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
If you are considering buying this album because you've heard his singles I'm Not Alone, Dance Wiv Me and Ready For The Weekend and liked them, you should definitely buy this because the rest of the album is just as good, if not better, than those singles! Also, if you like his older songs, buy Ready For The Weekend - it's his best album by far.
It's very catchy as per usual for his songs, all the songs are great (there isn't one song on the whole album that I don't like) and the music is so good you'll find yourself humming it all day. Calvin has definitely not let us down (I was waiting for this album to come out ever since I first discovered him!) and I hope any albums he releases in the future will be as good and fun as this one!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
I've had this CD for a week and its awesome! Been played everyday at work and its a solid fixture on the radio at work. I really liked his 1st album and thought many of his songs were pretty cool. I saw this in Asda for £7 (hope i dont get chucked off amazon for sayin that!) and thought i'd gotta buy it. It is a great CD - the collaboration wiv Dizzee Rascal ,the song from the coca cola AD (yea yea yea la la la) and his singles ready for the weekend, i'm not alone and Flashback. Its an electro mental fused CD. oh yea he uses a sax (i think, on the 1st track) and the start of Blue sounds like a boy band but then goes all electro clash dash n mash. Great CD well worth it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
As catchy and as toe-tappingly brilliant as his debut album 'I Created Disco', and with slightly more depth than its predecessor (only slightly more, it is a Calvin Harris album after all) it is certainly worth its price tag. Every track will be lodged into your brain within the first listen. Tracks such as; 'The Rain', the album track 'Ready for the week-end' and 'Stars Come Out', represent classic 'Sonic the Hedgehog' esque Calvin Harris. On the other hand, there are a few tracks on this album with a different flavour, most noteable are 'Worst Day' and '5iliconeator' Perhaps a change of direction for the Dumfries born Harris. But for now I suppose he'll just have to be the fly eyed king of electro-synth pop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
After his debut album: I Created Disco was disliked by reviewers and created little impact, Calvin returned with a whole new pack of killer dance tunes! The Scottish DJ has put everything into this follow-up album and it really pays off!

1. The Rain - 9/10, funky dance tunes mixed with Calvin's voice being 'played-around' with makes this a memorable track.
2. Ready For The Weekend - 9.5/10, not surprised that this was so popular! It mixes Mary Pearce's great vocals with Calvin's fabulous beats.
3. Stars Come Out - 10/10, my personal favourite. It has a great chorus! I'm extremely surprised that it hasn't been released!
4. You Used To Hold Me - 9.5/10, a somewhat emotional track that includes Calvin showing off his vocal ability.
5. Blue - 7.5/10, has some nice beats but just doesn't throw anything at you!
6. I'm Not Alone - 10/10, an absolutely incredible track. I'm not surprised it was number one! Perfect for parties!
7. Flashback - 9.5/10, Calvin clearly put everything into this track. It really is great!
8. Worst Day - 8.5/10, it has a nice chorus but does lack any 'oomph!'
9. Relax - 8.5/10, some nice beats but does not provide any sort of attempt at bringing in some vital lyrics except for: 'Relax!!!!'
10. Limits - 8.5/10, quite peaceful. Sounds like an electronic Temper Trap!
11. Burns Night - 7/10, probably the weakest song but does include a few nice changes of beat!
12. Yeah Yeah Yeah La La La - 9.5/10, a great pick-up after a poor previous song! It has some nice vocals mixed with some fabulous dance beats!
13. Dance Wiv Me (Extended Mix) - 10/10, no denying that Calvin is the star of this song - not Dizzee Rascal! His chorus really brings the song out of it's shell!
14. 5iliconeator - 8/10, this song shows a different side to Calvin with a piano as the base of the song!

So, to summarize this album, I'd say that Calvin barely puts a foot wrong and really has created an absolutely incredible set of tunes for you to dance to! It's perfect party material!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
I like calvin harris but over the course of 2 albums ive realised he is no more than a singles artist really. I created disco was a mediore album save for "acceptlble in the 80's" and "the girls" and harris continues the trend on his new album as well. "Im not alone" and "ready for the weekend" are clearly the best things on it with the other tracks largely dull and uninspired. I can see why the album has been heavily criticised in the press and if this is the best harris can do in 2 yrs of work then it's a travesty im afraid. There are touches of magic hear and there on tracks like "yeah yeah yeah" and "Limits" but it really doesnt make it a cohesive and listenable album the whole way through. If your short of money then just download his singles as they are easily the best things he's done. Im hoping for 3rd time lucky from Calv !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)