Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Love (Omnibus Edition)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 September 2017
well wot can I say?? if ya love the cult then this omnibus edition is for you, I can't stop listening to it, highly recommended 😊😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
Just brilliant! Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2009
This has always been my favourite Cult album, I've never been convinced by the fuss over 'Electric'. With the 2-CD edition you get the album remastered (but the previous CD edition was anyway so no change there), plus all the 12" single tracks with the possible exception of the new remix of the full version of Revolution. Otherwise, you get all the rare tracks particularly from the Revolution E.P. and The Snake, plus the club mixes of She Sells Sanctuary. A few of the tracks are available on the Best of Rare Cult album, i.e. SSS full version, No. 13, and Little Face, but that's a small price to pay in exchange for getting (Here Comes the) Rain, The Snake, Judith, Sunrise, and All Souls Avenue. The club remixes are good, especially Assualt on Sanctuary, while the Howling Mix of SSS does sound of its era in a good way. This edition also has a quality booklet with a number of recollections from the band, music writers, and fans. This edition is definitely the pick of the new crop of Love re-issues. Oh yeah, the album itself is one of the best of the 1980s, no contest.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2009
This is how CD's should be reissued, great price, great packaging, wonderfully detailed reissue of a "Classic" album. You get the remastered original album, repackaged as a vinyl replica, details include the gatefold sleeve, and even polythene bags on all CD's inside the sleeve housing the CD's! A Disc of singles, all b sides etc, a 3rd disc of unissued Demo's, and then the AWESOME BBC Live in concert Disc from 1985, which is worth the £12 price alone!! WELL DONE to beggers archive who've put this together, and similar sets from Bauhaus are due, and THE FALL next year, Hope all Cult Cd's follow suit, This is great value..(check out the price of U2's similar reissues which are double the price and contain less material>
33 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2013
As I type my ears are being blown away by this awesome rework of my favourite Cult album, I still have the original vinyl and always loved this disc but it never sounded like this, I always felt it was a bit too thin sounding needed more oomph for the bottom end, well hello bass bins here comes the Cult ,cant wait to destroy my car speakers with this.
Nice packaging too and i'm well pleased with the second disc as (again) I still have the original double pack vinyl Revolution and have missed the track All Souls avenue, well now its back on my playlist. The Cult always were best when they start grooving and this and The Witch prove that.
So to summarise, if your a Cult fan and you don't own this the only reason you are reading this is so I can tell you to buy it.
So.......BUY IT.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2009
I'll come on to the music in a bit, but this Box Set is truly stunning, Beggars Banquet have excelled themselves in the detail they've gone in to. The outer card box is quality, then housed inside is the beautiful booklet & 4 CDs. The main album CD is a mini replica of the original vinyl with a gatefold sleeve, inner card sleeve with notes and then a polythene bag over the CD - wonderfully done. The other 3 CDs are done in a similar way minus the gatefold sleeve.

Love is a great rock'n'roll album, with some truly outstanding tracks. The 3 Singles (She Sells Sanctuary, Rain & Revolution) speak for themselves, but `Hollow Man' are `Big Neon Glitter' are superb. Perhaps some of the songs could be a bit shorter - I'm trying to be critical and finding hard. Disc 2 has some great B-Sides and some good extended versions of SSS. Not listened to the 3rd disc yet but it looks interesting. The final Disc is the BBC Live In Concert show which I had on cassette (recorded it when it aired on Radio 1 way back when) - this is the complete show, as the BBC aired version missed off a couple of tracks - it's a great recording.

If you have the original album on CD and want to get the remastered version - get this rather than slightly cheaper Double CD version.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2009
This is a must for all Cult fans. Stunning value for money and a definite collectors item not to be missed. Had I not gone to the concert at the Royal Albert Hall in October I would not have known about this release, but other Cult fans were raving about it and how right they were. Miss this from your collection and regret it for sure, it is the best box set I have ever seen.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2009
Remastering Love and its singles gives Cult fans something they may be tempted by, but bulking it up with Demos, a Live show and a book makes this a great buy. The remastering will leave you amazed, the bass is so much higher in the mix and as a whole it sounds a clearer more interesting listen.

The Demos cannot be dismissed as the quality is up there with those on the Rare Cult Box Set and of course are an insight in to the formation of the songs. It's difficult to capture the spectacle of The Cult live and while this is a top notch recording nothing beats seeing them in the flesh.

The book tells the story of Love from the outset until the band wrapped up the tours in support of it. As books on The Cult are so few this gives an extra reason to buy this box set.

Any Cult fan would "love" this set. Buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2009
Can't thank the band, the label, and amazon enough for this product! Its outstanding value
for money. I wasn't sure about ordering at first, having purchased the album on its original
release. But there is so much material here, and the packaging is fantastic. Really recommend it to anyone who's thinking about getting it, you will not be disappointed! Well done Amazon
for the price, best value CD box set I've ever purchased. - The Cult Crew - Manchester (CityFC)
England
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)