Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2009
I thought this was brilliant. The style is very much 1960's TV. The main actors give very enjoyable performances and anyone who liked William Gaunt as Richard Barratt in The Champions should consider buying this to see him in what was probably his first major TV role. The plots are traditional whodunnits in most cases and there is a certain amount of humour similar to Ghost Squad, The Avengers and other similar series. I would recommend it and am eagerly awaiting series 2.
33 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2009
For those of you who like slick, complex detective dramas with emotionally charged relationship issues this probably isn't for you. But if you enjoy 60's TV and are fans of William Gaunt, or John Barrie for that matter, I urge you to buy this DVD. It was something of a relief to me to watch a drama where the main characters weren't trying to sleep with one another, which seems to be a prerequisite these days!

The plots are simple, although a few have some genuine surprises, and all the fluffs are kept in, as was the way back then, but what I found most enjoyable is the double act between Sgt Cork and Bob Marriott plus some excellent guest appearances. It is often funny and sometimes dramatic, touching or surprising. The characters are well fleshed out and enjoyable to watch.

I agree wholeheartedly with the first review. Please bring out the second series.

R
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
I bought this (although I recalled it from when I was a boy) for my sister.... unfortunately - she said Sergeant Cork when she meant Alan Dobie as (Sergeant) CRIBB! (also on DVD and I thoroughly recommend it!).

These are good for their time, though... the sets are definitely studio bound and simplistic, and the acting slow (like Dixon of Dock Green and no wonder, since Ted Willis created it) but the scripts are good and there are nuances in some of the characters, even the incidental characters, that make them interesting....

Oh yes, these discs are worth the money I paid for them. And I do recommend them.
The picture quality is good, as well.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
I AGREE WITH THE OTHER REVIEWS THIS IS GOOD CLEAN TV FROM THE 60S, I WAS ONLY A BOY WHEN THIS CAME OUT BUT A FEW PARTS OF THE SERIES STILL STUCK IN MY MIND IVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS TO COME OUT ON DVD FOR AGES ALL I CAN SAY IS BRING ON SERIES 2!!!!
33 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
I had forgotten how good it was. John Barrie was superb in the title role. Unlike modern shows it was filmed in the light and you can here what everybody is saying. After a couple of minutes you forget it is in .black and white and just enjoy the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
The nice thing about this series, is the warm relationship between the two c.I.d. men. 1890s, or early 1960s, the story's will strike a chord in 2016!...an episode one from the end was eastern Europeans working as sweatshop labour......if you enjoy slick and action.....keep looking...watch out for the fella whose tasch comes off, turns and completes the scene. 13 episodes...easy simple...and great nostalgia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
Sergeant Cork - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] [1963]A great old series from the sixties that i watched as a boy and i was so happy to watch and enjoy just as much even though i not far off sixty myself now.Good stories well written and acted and although the sets are a bit creaky it detracts from the enjoyment not a jot.John Barrie who often played baddies in those days was great in the title role and William Gaunt who became famous in the Champions(which i thought was rubbish) was never better.When is the next series or better still all of the other series going to be available we have been waiting for a long time now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
i can't help but wonder if "sergeant cork" is a bit of a wasted opportunity. the idea for the series is a good one but the final results are somewhat mixed.
to me, the actors are going about in fancy dress as the scripts make no mention as to what was happening at the time the series was based. this is the biggest letdown of all, as some historical and political references would have gone a long way towards some kind of improvement. alas, it misses the mark by yards.
the two leading actors are good enough, the sets are what you would expect, the footage is typically grainy, the direction is average, the supporting cast are superb for the most part but the lack of any location shots is also a major handicap. usually, i wouldn't mind but it would have helped to have created the right atmosphere if some shots had been done on location.
this series isn't really for me i'm afraid. it's a pity as the potential is clearly there.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Considering it came out in 1963, these programmes were well made. There aren't many twists and turns in the various plots, but it's still good stuff. Being in black and white helps you get a feel for the period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Brilliant I saw these as a kid, and have to say even though old
hasn't lost anything nor dated, we are glued to it, have got them
all bar the new one to be released, will get it when released
Thank you Corky And Marriot A1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)