Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Breakin' Away
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.91


on 2 June 2017
Wonderful album. Nice to hear the remix and extra tracks. Now someone needs to release this on an SACD in surround sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
A replacement at last for my lost cassettes of the 80's. So good to hear again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
I completely forgot how brilliant this album is. Brought back such wonderful memories! Al Jarreau at his best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Epic recording somewhat ruined by this bad quality pressing. Way too quiet, sounds like it's just a CD master to me. Wouldn't recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
In the late-1970s, Warner Brothers managed to break George Benson out of the jazz market and into the pop realm, and obviously then fancied doing the same with Al Jarreau. Teaming Al with Jay Graydon, who had already produced a couple of hits with George ("Turn Your Love Around" and "Never Give Up On A Good Thing"), proved to be the masterstroke. Their initial teaming, This Time, was well-received, but on Breaking Away everything clicked and a platinum Grammy-nominated album was born. Combining smooth jazz arrangements with slightly more accessible R and B/pop material was irresistible. The single, "We're In This Love Together" is cool and catchy and proved a well-desered hit, but is more than matched by the rest of the material. The opener, "Closer To You Love" is more uptempo and stylish, while "Roof Garden" is funk-jazz and a real gem. As all great albums, though, the best is saved for last - the gentle, smooth arrangement of "Teach Me Tonight" glides along effortlessly until the last verse when Al lets go and soars, matched by the arrangement and the wonderful sax climax. Awesome. This is an essential part of any real music lovers collection. Check out the follow up too, Jarreau, which I think is even better!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2003
I bought this album about 20yrs ago and have been playing it regularly ever since.Both my kids are hooked too now (ages 16 and 11!). This album is by far his best. Every track is superb.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
The definitive Version with brilliant extra tracks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Jarreau
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)