Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2016
A good selection to have. Some of it is clearly VERY old and there seems to be no modern stuff; bluegrass isn't dead it's still thriving and growing but there's no indication of that here. Also missing some of the greatest contributors - e.g. Where are Frank Wakefield and John Duffey? There would have been plenty of room for them and other greats if this had been truly a BLUEGRASS selection. At least a third of the recordings are COUNTRY or AMERICAN FOLK rather than bluegrass and that would be my biggest criticism of what is still, overall, a decent album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Bluegrass is my music. I have 700 to 800 bluegrass CDs in my library so why did I buy this when I have all of the tracks already? Two reasons. One; it gathers together in one collection many, many bluegrass standards and favourites so I am not having to search lots of albums for them. Two: the ridiculously low price.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
An excellent (and cheap!) option to start exploring the bluegrass style, with three CD's comprising 60 original recordings by pioneers like The Stanley Brothers, Flatt & Scruggs or Bill Monroe.

Don't expect exhaustive liner notes and recording details, but the sound and tracklists are excellent. If you hate the sound of banjos, avoid it. If you dig vintage American music, this is for you.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
This is a good selection of bluegrass and excellent value for money if it is your first CD. Many of the songs are on other CDs, however, and if you already had e.g. "Essential Bluegrass" you would find a lot of duplication. The quality is good and as a stand-alone you could not fault it at the price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Ancient
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
True old time Bluegrass-----,toe tapping specials, featuring the original artists, amazing value for money, some great instrumental numbers included,along with some old favourites, you won't get robbed with this deal---- Yee Ha
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
This is a fine collection of Bluegrass music superbly played by the Masters.

Who could want more?

Mel.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)