Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Farm
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2009
Let's keep it simple: Farm is tight, energetic, quite loud and just full of superb tunes. To believe that those guys are well in their 40's just puzzles me, as this sounds as fresh as Bug and as precise as Beyond. It sounds like the guys have finally found some peace in their own lives and here they're just having a blast, taking us along on a beautiful rocking ride. The melodies are right down superb on the entire album and both J's and Lou's songs are as strong as ever.

I have been a Dinosaur fan for a good 15 years and owning all their previous album I can safely say this is probably their best. It's THAT good.

As Murph said in a recent interview, this album is supposed to be listened to at high volume, so yeah it might sound a little fuzzy for some but the louder you play it the better it sounds. And what a joy of an album it is.

Come on, treat yourself and grab a copy!

A solid 5 stars.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Jinosaur Dunior are back on top form with this record, I kid you not. An absolute blast of an album, think back in the day when they released "Your Living all Over Me" and "Bug" and your close to how good this album is. I seem to imagine with Lou Barlow back on the scene the guys just sat back and the pieces of this album just fell into place. I cannot recommend this album enough to anyone, even if your not the biggest Dinosaur Jr fan you still got to hear to this album, it's that good.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
I'll be short and sweet with this one. Quite simply it's the best thing they've put out since Where You Been, and this new album of theirs is one of the reasons why I like guitar-based music.

The 4 minute extended solo/jam that rounds off I Don't Wanna Go There is worth the purchase price alone - sounding like something Frank Zappa could have put together in his heyday.
Once you get to the 2nd track, "I Want You To Know", you know you won't be disappointed by the rest of it.

I'm simply amazed they can still put together such raw, yet tuneful songs after all these years, when many other bands mellow out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
is this dinosaur jrs finest album ? if not its a close thing-after releasing their first album in the mid eighties and then all falling out with j mascis in the early nineties and after reforming the original line-up for beyond (a great album also)they made this album which has captured a lot of their old sound -nice and raw and pretty noisy in places -class album , buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
J.Mascis deserves far more attention from the guitar worshipers of the heavy music pantheon! Always tasteful, adventurous, soulful and exciting in equal measure with great song-writing makes for a most satisfying listen every time, just like the 'Beyond' album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
Nowhere near as good as anything before Hand It Over but there hasn't really been a bad Dinosaur Jr album and this does not redress the balance. Mascis can write a good tune. It's that simple. Traces of Sebadoh of course do leak in occasionally with 'Your Weather' and 'Imagination Blind' but that's ok as they are both excellent tracks. But even when J settles into his groove in his inimitable way on 'Plans', 'Said the People' and 'See You' nothing can go wrong. This is a set of completely tuneful, well-crafted, excellently performed rock tunes, covered in the Dinosuar Jr fuzz.

Lo-lights include basically just 2: 'Friends' and 'I Don't Wanna Go There' for me. The former is not bad just not as interesting as the rest. And the latter is good for about 3 minutes until it becomes a J jam track and we get a song that goes on for nearly 9 minutes with very little song in it.

But the ups eclipse the downs. Highlights for me are the awesome 'Pieces ' (best track on the album), 'I Want You To Know' (one of those tracks when you just KNOW it's Dinosaur Jr), 'Plans', 'You're Weather', 'Over It' (sounds like it should be on Green Mind) and 'There's No Here'. The rest however are all good.

Let's hope they go on for ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2009
Obviously the aforementioned web sheriff of the pitchfork preview had to give and eventually and a few unrestrained fans on the brink of explosion were going to reap the benefits of it; I was one of them. On first spin it was clear this would have been more than worth the wait and naturally the guilt took over and now its pre-ordered with the wait for holding the package no way near as intense but the excitement just as real.

This is because from the word go the album is amazing, feeling initially a lot more accessible than Beyond, though this may be because the latter feels like a really good stepping stone to this one. There aren't really any filler tracks at all, with every contribution feeling as solid as the next. To some extent though it is difficult to find a stand out track, with 'I don't wanna go there' or 'over it' probably claiming the spot overall. The best moments are the solos in 'Ocean in the way' and 'Said the People'... Oh you just wait!

'Plans' feels like a continuation of songs in the same vein as 'Crumble' with the same eerily watery melodic feel with the divine simplicity of the repeated "I got nothing left to be, do you have some plans for me?" summing up the beautiful melancholy of the opening riff. 'Friends' would feel at home on 'More Light' and that proves Lou Barlow's bass would have made that album even better. I should say, you can hear the bass as well! It felt a bit overpowered by the guitar last time round whereas Farm feels a lot more balanced. Lou's tracks are a very welcome turn from J's style but suprisingly don't add as much to the album as they did on the previous one. This being said, 'Your weather' has a really solid chorus that carries the song to another level only to be anchored by another perfect J mascis solo.

It's difficult not to review this from the angle of drawing comparisons to beyond, but the same goes for enjoying it. Its a step up where one didn't feel possible. Beyond felt like the last Rocky film, you felt like they'd done well and the best they could with it, though it obviously wasn't a Rocky II or a You're Living All Over Me... for want of a better analogy anyways... Really this album just solidifies the notion that is was worth while for Dinosaur to get back together - they've done what most reunited bands couldn't; they've remained creative, impressive and a thrill to listen to.

Buy this album. See them live. Ride the wave of a successful reunion thats just as alive as the day it began.
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
This album is incredible!

There aren't many bands around now that could replicate such power, such awesome guitar solos, and loads of disgusting fuzz!

Highlights include Said the People and I Don't Wanna Go There. Two songs that perfectly encapsulate Dinosaur Jr's raw fuzz fuelled power.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
First Dinosaur Jr album for me.
Brilliant!!
I can see the similarity with the Neilster, but this is in a league of its own. The 1st track 'Pieces' is probably the best track for me, but the whole album just rolls through its genre like a juggernaut of rock, sweeping away lesser bands.
Have now bought 'I Bet on Sky' which is nearly as good.
Always put off by the pretentious band name, but not any more, great music, great artwork, pity no more gatefolds of LP size to show it off!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2009
A great album, with virtually all the tracks to my liking especially "plans" and "she's no here". I will say though that the sound quality is a bit iffy, I do know that the early CD pressings had sound quality issues, not sure if this download is from that version but it's not very clear sounding and times, a bit distorted as if my speakers are on their way out, which they are not. On that issue alone it's a 4 star.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.93
£26.99
£10.51

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)