Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
111
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Many people slate Milla Jovovich off the back of her Resident Evil films, but, if you can look past her kicking zombies' heads in, she proves here that she can turn in a decent performance.

`A Perfect Getaway' is one of those thrillers that is best that you don't know too much about before you watch it. If basically follows a young couple on honeymoon in Hawaii, as they try to work out if they're being stalked by a pair of killers. There's little more to the plot than that, so it's not like the film covers any new ground story-wise. But that doesn't mean it's not worth a watch.

There are enough twists and turns to keep most thriller-fans happy and the fact that the film has employed the talents of a crop of decent actors (and yes, I'm including Milla in that statement) means that this is definitely head and shoulders above most other thrillers out there.

Give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I found this film the ideal way to spend my Sunday afternoon. It was an easy watch that provided just the right mix of components to provide the perfect balance of light cinematic relief.

It wasn't too intense, yet there was tension and action enough to hold your attention. The story was easy to follow so you didn't have to concentrate too hard in case you missed something, yet there were nough twist and turns in there to keep you guessing.

The basis for the story is nothing new really: A bunch of people are stuck on a trek up and mountain and some of the members are killers - and while this wasn't the best example of the genre, it was still enjoyable and was executed in a slightly different way than usual.

The Blu Ray copy I had looked stunning and with the film being set in Hawaii, I found Blu Ray certainly added to th cinematic experience. The disc was, however, very light on extras with only an alternative 'scripted ending' (which turned out to be the ending used, just with some dialogue missing - so nothing different or 'alternative') and a 'making of documentary.

The disc conatins two version of the film - the theatrical and the director's cut. I watched the director's cut and, I wouldn't say it felt short - but it certainly didn't feel long. It was over quite quickly, but this too was another reason why I think 'The Perfect Getaway' is the perfect film to throw on and escape on a lazy afternoon or evening.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
A PERFECT GETAWAY is brilliant. It has a great twist like others have said. I was shocked! I never saw it coming! The acting was amazing, especially from Milla Jovovich. The storyline was tense, clever, exciting and surprising. I highly recommend this thriller/horror! BRILLIANT! 10/10!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
I initially thought that the movie started out a little slow. It is an excellent thriller and you do start to jump as much as the young newlyweds whilst they travel the trek and meet with the other couples or suspects.
Your sleuth mind plays overtime constantly. The twists and turns are plenty and are intelligent and it is a good movie for a night in, I would recommend it. The slow start is more than made up for. There was a warning for gory scenes, but it is not at all a gorefest and at stages makes a number of satirical asides at the normal set ups of the genre of the horror/thriller movie which is ushered in through Karl's career of screenwriter.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
I bought this on a whim, my favoured type of film being more psychological than action / adventure. This film delivers both in a totally unpredictable way. A real quality film with great performances and a great story and direction, real class.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
me & my hubby loved this film how it kept u guessing i didn't know that kyle was kym from home & away to the end i loved the views the beach was lovely i didn't see that coming i thought it was the weird guy wow brill film
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
David Twohys Perfect Getaway jumps straight in with both feet from the first scenes and really never stops with Steve Zahn and Mira Jovovich ( who play Cliff & Cydney) who head-off to Hawaii on honeymoon.They hire everything they need and make for the trail which will lead them to the isolated beaches on one of the small islands stopping to give another young couple - Kale and Cleo,a lift before making excuses to "jettison them" for someone else to help. When they later coincidentally meet-up at an off-the-track pool trouble brews but is stopped by the intervention of Nick (Timothy Olyphant) who has just introduced himself to our frightened friends - frightened because they have just become aware of a Killer Couple being hunted on a nearby island after butchering a pair of young tourists.The 3 along with Nicks long suffering girlfriend Gina agree to stick together for the remainder of their trek to the beaches a couple of miles furthe on.I'll say no further to save spoiling the remainder except in the second half of the film the twists and turns increase until it's hard to know who's really who?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
For their honeymoon, newlyweds Cliff and Cydney head to the tropical islands of Hawaii. While journeying through the paradisaical countryside the couple encounters Kale and Cleo, two disgruntled hitchhikers and Nick and Gina, two wild but well-meaning spirits who help guide them through the lush jungles.

The picturesque waterfalls and scenic mountainsides quickly give way to terror when Cliff and Cydney learn of a grisly murder that occurred nearby and realise that they're being followed by chance acquaintances that suspiciously fit the description of the killers...

the film has such a great idea, an a really good story, but it has two major flaws, the first being that the other two couples are so obviously not the killers, that they may as well be wearing T-Shirts saying 'red Herrings'. The first couple (the ones who are not in it much) are just too angry and insane to be the killers. it would have been even more disappointing if they were.

The other couple (the one with Olyphant in) are just too mysterious to be killers, and Olyphant does a silly stare in the distance too many times to be convincing.

this leads to the other flaw, the twist can be seen coming a mile off. but these are only minor gripes, as guessing the identity of the killers, is part of the fun in watching this movie. The location is beautiful and it has a good amount of tension, and while the acting is average, the roles and the script don't really ask for much.

If you want to watch a thriller that is easy going, and looks beautiful, you could do a lot worse than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 February 2013
A couple are on honeymoon in Hawaii and head off on a three day hike to visit a beautiful beach. They hear news from another island of some newly weds being murdered, noone has been caught and there are rumored they are now on their Island.

Are they there? Who is it? Will they get away? The start of this film is a bit slow but, especially in light of the whole film, is very well handled to keep you interest as the scene is set and characters introduced, some with red flags. The characters interaction, dialogue and suspense is very good.

There's some good twists and turn later in the film and it ends up a very good thriller that's pretty intelligent. I was going to pick out praise for individual actors but that would be unfair as the main cast all great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Again I do like this kind of movies so if you are a fan I do recommend it so yes
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)