Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
262
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2009
After a brief foray into the mainstream with the decent but not outstanding Spiderman franchise, Sam Raimi makes a very welcome and long overdue return to the horror genre with `Drag me to Hell', a chaotic shock-fest so entertaining that it sits right up there with his two 80s classics; `The Evil Dead' and `Evil Dead II'. Like `Evil Dead II', Drag me to Hell is one of those rare beasts in horror cinema; a film that is intentionally funny and manages to be quite terrifying at the same time. It is a total blast from start to finish.

Refreshingly, the subject matter could be considered rather simple and old-fashioned at a time when horror cinema releases are littered with those of the `torture-porn' variety. The plot concerns Loans Officer Christine (Alison Lohman) who turns down a request for a mortgage extension to an old, feral, one-eyed gypsy woman, a firm stand intended to impress her boss and increase her chances of promotion to assistant manager. Enraged, the gypsy woman attacks Christine in the car park and snatches a button from her coat, uttering a gypsy curse. From here, events take a turn for the worse for Christine as she discovers that she is to be taunted and bullied by cloven-hoofed demons for three days before being dragged down to hell to burn for eternity. Support for Christine in these dark times comes from Clay (Justin Long), her sceptical yet highly supportive boyfriend, himself a high flying academic from a wealthy background and whose mother disapproves of their relationship. In one of the most memorable scenes, Christine attempts to subdue the forces of evil while dining with Clay's posh parents for the first time.

Today, too many films of the horror genre are made almost solely with shocking the audience in mind; limbs are hacked off, entrails are spilled, character development takes a back seat. But part of what makes Drag me to Hell so enjoyable is the utter likeability of its two leads. Lohman commits herself fully to a hugely physical role as she is bullied, thrown about and vomited upon. She is innocent enough for us to care for as a character, but feisty enough to be believable as she starts to fight back against her tormentors.

This is the kind of film that Raimi was born to make, and it has his stamp and particular brand of chaotic and bizarre black humour all over it. Raimi is an absolute master of manipulation, and the scares and laughs come thick and fast, with plenty of gross-out moments. Projectile nose-bleeds, talking possessed goats, cat sacrifice and flying eyeballs are all on the agenda. Drag me to Hell is a film that has been skilfully created to make you jump, giggle and cringe in equal measure, and turns out to be one of the most enjoyable films in its genre for many years. 9.5/10.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There has been many so called 'scary flicks' in recent years...but....very few manage to cause any genuine tension, this one does buck the trend some, i would defy anyone to not find at least two or three sequences during which you become startled-'jump' a little ?? ( if you don't you just ain't watching the movie or your'e asleep or ??? )
The co-writer and director 'Sam Raimi' is responsible for one of the few films that have truly un-nerved me down the years, believe me I've seen 100's if not over a 1,000 horror flicks down the years and very few really get to me.
this film is creepy and does have it's moments of 'horror' there is as with most, one or two scenes that are a little silly, however overall it is well worth a spin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An old woman, Mrs. Ganush visits her bank to try to prevent them from reposessing her house. The lady loan officer refuses to extend the loan and Mrs Ganush puts a curse on her, she has 3 days to live before she gets dragged to hell.

There is only one way to break the curse and that is to pass the curse onto someone else, she tries to pass the curse back to Mrs. Ganush but of course it all goes wrong. I'm not telling you the end but it's well worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Bit of a disappointment from Sam Raimi, I loved the Evil Dead trilogy. This has the frenzied attacks, and general spookiness, but at one point a demon-possessed chap floats menacingly around, then does a little jig for comedy purposes. It's totally jarring, and is completely out of place in the movie, I can't believe that little bit wasn't cut.

Watching it again had me look upon it a little more favourably, but it's still not as good as his much earlier work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
I really wanted to see Drag Me To Hell because I'm a big fan of Sam Raimi's The Evil Dead movies. I've always thought Raimi was a brilliant horror film maker. Drag Me To Hell's opening scene is extremely effective. It just keeps you wanting more. Raimi works brilliantly at letting the audience know what they're in for.

There's more than just a hint of The Evil Dead in here. Raimi works on convincing you that the characters are just every day normal people in which extraordinary things are going to happen. Within 15 minutes, you know Lohman's character is in trouble and that's where the jumps start. Most of them are cheap shocks in truth, but they all work really well. You'll know what I mean when you jump out of your seat because of a handkerchief.

When I went to see this at the cinema with friends most of them had pretty much the same reaction. Not being familiar with Raimi's work or that the movie was intended to be tongue-in-cheek and quite funny in parts, the general opinion was that it failed as a horror movie, but succeeded as a comedy movie. The `gumming' scene comes to mind as a particularly funny scene which is also quite sinister at the same time.

I find it particularly amusing that I went to see this movie three times at the cinema and this is my second view of it on DVD and I still jump out of my seat at some of the scares. Some of them are just so unexpected that when you watch it again you just forget they're there.

There are two different versions of the movie available in the US, theatrical and uncut. The uncut version is the only version available in the UK, although the DVD artwork does not specify this. A few scenes are bloodier and the F-bomb is dropped. The certificate is still 15 though. I couldn't recommend picking up Drag Me To Hell more, it's officially one of my new favourite movies.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I would love to rate this purchase as 1 Star, but it would look like I'm rating the film with a low score, which I'm not. Suffice to say on the film - I love DMTH, in that nothing's perfect, this isn't perfect, but it's not far off; I don't like 'horror porn', like the Saw series, so this lighter touch approach is a breath of fresh air. The 2 female leads are excellent, especially 'the Gypsy', I could watch her all day; the film flies along, almost never dips, and gets you to one of those ending's that leaves you screaming "No, No, No!!!" Sequel PLEASE!!!

BUT, the way this Blu Ray is being advertised on its front cover, in my opinion, is almost criminal; if I'd paid the original full, high price for this, I think I would have been furious. As it is I'm glad to have a high res, DTS version to watch on my home cinema, but to say that there are 2 versions on this BR is OUTRAGEOUS, and whoever did this, should be ashamed of themselves.

I've checked online, and there are at most, 10 seconds more/ different footage on the 'Unseen Version', and if you can detect them, you're a better person than me; I think some extra blood during 'The Kitten' scene is about it.

I'm glad to have a BR copy at this good price (about £5.99), but I did partly buy this to see the other version, so arguably I was tricked. So - if you want this film, to keep, and in the highest quality available, then go ahead and buy it, but if you're after 2 versions, you're out of luck.

***VERY NAUGHTY***
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
This is one of those horror films that manages to gloriously combine horrifying and frightening shocks with some truly funny comedy and keep its balance. The opening is a real shocker, and sets the tone of menace for the rest of the film as Alison Lohman's ambitious bank worker mistakenly turns down a mortgage extension for Lorna Raver's demented gypsy woman, and ends up cursed with the 'Larmia' - a malevolent spirit that will torment her and then 'drag her to hell' after 3 days unless she can find a way to wriggle out of her dilemma.
Lohman is sweet and funny as a gentle soul suddenly thrust into harm's way, and Justin Long is brilliant as her supportive boyfriend. All of the cast members excel, and Lorna Raver gives a barnstorming performance as the demented Mrs Ganush. The fear is built expertly by a series of creepy occurrences and great atmosphere until we're in no doubt that she's not crazy, and is really being hunted by something malicious and terrible. There's also a healthy ladling of comedy and awkwardness along the way. Where this misfired for me was in Raimi's urge to lean too far towards the silly in one scene where the bad guy starts dancing, which burst the tension for me since the rest of the scene was largely threatening and frightening, even at its most absurd. This one misfire aside, the rest of the film is an astonishing exercise in how to make the comedy funny, and the terror frightening, and feel you've given the audience a real emotional workout before one hell of a terrific finale.
A tremendous film full of amazing talent.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
The reviews on rotten tomatoes looked excellent and so I bought this hoping for something good. It really is not fantastic. I realise the style is something of a cult favourite but as a standalone film there are far better horrors or comedies you could buy. If it were free to watch then it would be decent enough but having paid to stream it- thought it was a bad purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
drag me to hell is quite frankly one of the best films of the year. trashy as hell and it knows it too, really silly, very tongue in cheek, though a great cast are playing it completely straight with superb special effects and a fantastic twist at the end that leaves you crying out for a sequel. don't take any of it seriously and you should have loads of fun with this. entertaining, well made and original, this is director sam raimi returning to his horror roots.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
I admit i didn't realize this was a silly horror,but once it became obvious that's what it was i just sat back and enjoyed it for just that,a silly horror.
I can see why a lot of people wouldn't get this,and no i wouldn't go as far as to say it's amongst my favourite films of this ilk,but it is very enjoyable. Don't go thinking this is a serious and dark horror,that it's not.
So yeah the title may sound a little misleading,but once you get into the main story of this girl that works on insurance claims refusing (feeling kind of forced to)this old woman's plea for help and then have a curse put on her,via her button (silly,but what the hell)it is very entertaining. Just to point out something that other reviewers clearly didn't get,you are meant to laugh,it's very silly.
The fight in the car is brilliantly stupid and the gore is done for fun rather than scares. There are a few jumpy moments which is where the horror comes in and yes,it's a little confusing why it goes from very silly to quite serious horror within seconds and back again,but i would say it's still a great film,maybe a little overrated,but entertaining.
The main character's fight to prevent herself being literally dragged into hell has moments of shocks,laughs,gore,desperation and will no doubt offend some viewers. The killing of the cat is brutal,but poses the question of what would you do?.
So it's a film receiving split opinions that it is or isn't as good as stated,but once i got what it was,i enjoyed it and will watch it again. Don't agree with my review? What can i say...drag me to hell!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)