Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
157
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 August 2017
What a mini series. I had never seen this and it is truly brilliant! It is in places a little slower than we are used to from out TV. It is a real epic and is one for people, who like me loved Passage to India.
The cast is outstanding with Peggy Ashcroft taking the acting honours but some standout performances from Geraldine James, Tim Piggot Smith and Charles Dance.
For TV buffs it is 13hrs (or so) of pleasure and a very balanced look at the end of the Raj, much more so than The Viceroy's House.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Enjoying this so much as I never saw it in 1984.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Good item
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
One of The best drama series ever with good actores
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Wonderful acting. I was entranced throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
As Described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fanatstic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
Excellent| Arrived very promptly, thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Everything inperfect order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
I bought this wondering whether my memories of the quality of the stories, the acting and beautiful locations in India would match the reality of watching this series 25 years on.I am delighted to say that the quality I recalled was not idle nostalgia but was based on a true recollection of the sheer quality of the production values and the enjoyment of watching a long series over a number of weeks ,just as was done in the 1980s.The slow pace IS one of the great virtues affording time for the characters and varied parallel stories of the Raj in India to develop and allowing one's own thoughts about that period to mature.The finest acheivment of ITV and a worthy contender to the BBC's "Tinker Taylor.." series and "I, Claudius" as the finest British TV ever. I sadly feel it is true"They don't make programmes of this quality now"
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)