Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 29 August 2009
Let's be totally honest, I expected so much more from this musical, which, in my opinion fails to deliver.

The pedigree of this new musical comedy based on the classic hit movie! 9 to 5: THE MUSICAL features a brand-new score by seven-time Grammy Award winner DOLLY PARTON that includes the blockbuster title song, plus a book by original screenwriter PATRICIA RESNICK, direction by two time Tony Award winner JOE MANTELLO (directing his first new musical since Wicked), and choreography by Tony winner ANDY BLANKENBUEHLER (In The Heights). Emmy Award winner and Tony Award nominee ALLISON JANNEY stars as Violet Newstead, the super-efficient office manager who joins her fellow co-workers - frazzled divorcée Judy Bernly (STEPHANIE J. BLOCK) and sexy secretary Doralee Rhodes (MEGAN HILTY) - to turn the tables on their "sexist, egotistical, lying, hypocritical bigot" of a boss, Franklin Hart, Jr.

In a hilarious turn of events, Violet, Judy and Doralee live out their wildest fantasy - giving their boss the boot! While Hart remains "otherwise engaged," the women give their workplace a dream makeover, taking control of the company that had always kept them down. Hey, a girl can scheme, can't she?

So when it was announced that the film was being adapted into a stage musical with Dolly Parton at the helm as composer and lyricist this had "hit" written all over it.

It opened on Broadway earlier this year (6th April 2009) and soon after received mixed reviews, it was clear something was wrong. On hearing this musical CD, it is clear that the songs and musical structure of this show are a problem. In truth, the songs are just bland and the stand out song, the female anthem, "Get Out And Stay Out" is only a stand out track against a mediocre score. This is hugely disappointing from the creative talents of Ms. Parton. Given that the show has already announced its closure on the 6th September 2009 after just 5 months it is easy to hear why in this recording.

The premise of this show that 3 women take charge of their business after ousting their "sexist" boss was comically novel and new in the 80's but now?

To fully appreciate this score you have to have seen the show. The vocal talents of the artistes especially Megan Hilty playing the Dolly role are excellent but there is a considerable lack of comedy or fun in this score and that was the stand out feature of the film. The film didn't take itself too seriously but here I feel Ms. Parton is trying a little too hard to prove that she has what it takes to conquer Broadway and on the evidence of this recording, Broadway was a step too far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
The score to this musical is fantastic. I have had it on my stereo non-stop. There is not a bad track on it and each song does stand up on its own. There are a variety of musical styles used throughout, it isn't all country even though Dolly has used some of her own numbers. This is a fun show, the songs hang together well and tell the story. I haven't seen the show but based on the score it's one on the top of my list. The thing that struck me more than anything, having seen a large number of musicals where the writer clearly doen't know what to do for the chorus, or with them, this is not the case with this score and all voices are used extremeley well. The leads have a strong resemblance to the voices of the original film cast too. I heartily recommend this CD to anyone who is musicals fan. It is very, very good and Dolly Parton et al have done an excellent job. Time to go to work, bye!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
A fun classic turned into a fun musical. Except for the opening number none of the music really drags me away from whatever I am doing while I am listening, but when I choose to tune in it rewards well enough. No classic, but a great one for the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I was lucky enough to see this at a local theatre and loved it so much I couldn't get some of the songs out my head. Love listening to this in the car.

Another great Dolly instalment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
Wicked, Les Miserables, The Phantom of The Opera... It's up there!
One of the best Album soundtracks there is! The only thing else to do is to fly to America and get tickets! Stephanie J. Block's song "Get Out and Stay Out" is her best performance in a song! This album is one of the best original cast recordings there is! A must buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Great fun and very well sung!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
speedy delivery; great CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)