Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
44
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2009
I am a big fan of both The White Stripes and The Raconteurs. So when I heard Jack White was in this new band called The Dead Weather I just had to get it. If the director Tim Burton was to produce a band then The Dead Weather might be it because they are dark, a bit strange and rather cool too. Jack White plays the drums of which is does a good job but he is a finer guitar player overall. Alison Mosshart has a voice of a dark angel and looks a bit like Meg White to me. Also Jack Lawrence from the Raconteurs is one of the band members so maybe one day when Jack White goes on tour he could play music from all of his great bands. Two standout tracks for me are 60 Feet Tall and I Cut Like A Buffalo. Overall if you like Jack White's music then you need this album in your collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
Cracking album - obviously heavily influenced by Jack White III so if you like White Stripes you will probably like this album. "Cut Like a Buffalo" is fantastic.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Pared down rock blues, the way only Jack White knows how to do it. And he surrounds himself with equally talented musicians on this CD.

Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
A very good album, but not quite as innovative as I was hoping. Having said that, its better than many albums I've listened to over the last few decades.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
A real masterpiece. Kind of heavy metal cum blues but cliche free and with enough inventiveness to be it's own contemporary style.Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
I love this album its a really deep blues masterpiece the only downside is that we don't hear enough of Jack White,s vocals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
another one bought on the strength of Jack White being involved- great album but not my absolute favourite of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
Chances are you're probably only thinking of buying this because of Jack White's involvement...the bottom line is that if you liked the White Stripes you'll probably like this. It's still got the rough feel and raw blues edge of the White Stripes and is in some ways a natural successor to Icky Thump; more so than The Raconteurs who I find a bit too polished. There are some real crackers on this record plus a couple of weaker ones but what album doesn't have that? Plus, it's only three quid so what have you got to lose?!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
This album is a real grower. I really enjoyed it and can't slate it at all, but was a little surprised.... I thought it was going to be a new 'supergroup' what with with its members comprising some of the Raconteurs, White Stripes and Queens of the Stoneage... SADLY QotS didn't appear to have much of an infulence on this album at all. It is however excellent and a tribute to all their hard work. Don't be dissappointed, just enjoy it for what it is!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
JW and all can never be accused of compartmentalisation, a strangely creepy mix of industrial voodoo this, music for discerning listeners not quite like anything I've heard before. Some great riff, beats and funky bass too, vocalisations are pretty dark but open the door and turn the volume up. It'll will never chart and thank goodness for that, Lux Interior must be spinning in the ground. Clever stuff and worth a punt.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.19
£8.09

Need customer service? Click here