Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
46
4.4 out of 5 stars
Horehound
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 6 September 2017
another brilliant white album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
Somehow when i heard about the coming together of Jack White and The Kills Alison Mosshart i was alot more excited than if it was going to be another Raconteurs record and thats not because i don't like The Raconteurs (for the record i do), its just that ever since i saw the footage of white and Mosshart singing together on stage when The Kills were the support band for The Raconteurs, you could see the connection between the two and sure enough they decided to collaborate, first it was only going to be one song, but in typical White fashion they did a whole album.

But with Horehound White and Mosshart aren't the only ones who contribute as Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs,The Greenhornes) and Dean Fertita (touring member with Queens of the Stone Age and The Raconteurs) also play their part with Lawrence on Bass and Fertita on Guitar, they also both contributed to the songwriting on the album, so its simply not Jack White and friends this is a full band with everybody contributing. White handles Drums for the record as well as sharing vocals with Mosshart on a number of tracks.

Horehound was recorded in two weeks and has its rough edges but is all the better for it, especially in this day of over produced records. Mosshart vocals really suit the sound and can be quite haunting at times, The brillant Rocking Horse being a good example. The stand out tracks are opener 60 Feet Tall, I Cut Like A Buffalo, No Hassle Night and 6 minute album closer Will There Be Enough Water? The single Treat Me Like Your Mother is brillant as White and Mosshart trade vocals, There is also an instrumental track 3 Birds which shows off the fine sound this band has.

Horehound won't sell in White Stripes numbers nor will it get much radio play but the people who do take the chance on it will be glad they did, the hope being Whites name will draw them in.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Jack White continues once more to reinvent himself, The White Stripes are blues punk simplicity, The Raconteurs are musicianship at its very finest with its classic electric blues rock. His new project The Dead Weather are dark gothic blues rock that hooks you in and there is no chance of escaping. Horehound is an album that keeps you on the edge, not allowing you to get comfortable. Album opener 60 Feet Tall is cool blues rhytm that twice explodes into fury and one of the best tracks. Mind you every track is a winner, well this album may be straight out blues rock thrash such as the jarring Dylan cover New Pony there is also lots of groove, something not really seen with White's other projects, notable tracks are I Cut Like Buffalo with talk of cutting records across throats and the synth stomper Treat Me Like Your Mother with oedipal overtones, just one example of the theme of dark & dangerous that is portrayed across the whole album. Rocking Horse is the track most resembelent of the White Stripes circa Icky Thump era, perfect example of how good White and Mosshart sound together when both on vocal duties. Bone House with its lyrics of building a house out of bones and putting hearts in vaults,is not an album of sunshine and is Mosshart's finest moment. 3 Birds which is an instrumental, a possible soundtrack for a western from hell. No Hassle Night might be the less memorable track on the album but is still an excellent all out assault on your listening experience with a grinding Little Jack bass line at the forefront. The closer Will There Be Enough Water? is a superb closer, a blues ballad with White and Mosshart sharing vocals but White comes from behind the drum kit to play beutiful acoustic guitar and is a fitting end just like Carolina Drama from the Raconteurs album Consolers of the Lonely. This album is the perfect antidote for people currently tired of the middle of the road so called rock and indie music that is everywhere. A good rock album should be dangerous and thrilling to listen to and this is exactly what Horehound is.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
Bought this on the strength of Jack White's back catalog with the White Stripes and The Raconteurs.
I'd seen the Kills on TV (Glastonbury) and was impressed with Alison Mosshart's moody & raunchy delivery in the style of PJ Harvey.

This fusion seems so natural - almost like the 4 members had been waiting for this to come together.
The sound takes me back 30-40 years and yet sounds so fresh.

If you can't get to see the band live then get this album - you won't regret the investment.
If you can get to see the band then get the album 1st - it makes the live experience even better!
If you're anything like me you'll be hooked and waiting with baited breath for the new material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
If you like your music dark, riff-based & with a raw edge, then this album is definately for you. Inevitably there's a mix of The White Stripes with The Raconteurs, which equals The Dead Weather.....but there's nothing wrong with that!
All the tracks are strong - no throw-aways here. There's the sound of real analogue instruments (digital effects & software don't get a look in....Goody!!).

Horehound is the album you should own. Now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2009
Saw this band on "Later" & was very impressed, so I ordered the cd from Amazon, reminds me @ times of Led Zepplin, Alison's voice is great & Jack's drumming is very good, would have been nice to see Jack on the guitar but never mind, a great first album,hopefully they will make another one.Horehound Mike London.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
This LP sounds so so good on vinyl. The best LP I've heard in a looong looong time. Played this album 3 times already & I haven't even had it 24 hours. Will be buying another just incase I damage/play to death this one. Very phat full sound. A shame new bands dont record in analogue, it sounds so much more natural.

A good mixture of guitars & keyboards, with some excellent vocals & some itchy drumming. More of the same please.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
Bought this on spec because of the Jack White connection and have been really enjoying it. Particularly loving Alison Mosshart's voice so off to explore The Kills now.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sea Of Cowards
£8.09
Elephant
£7.99
Dodge and Burn
£8.19

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)