Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
One of the truly great classical pianist combined with one sublime piano sonatas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
I thought this was a good set, not having had a great background to Beethoven before, but I enjoyed them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
Although there is some misunderstood, the work itself is excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
In my first order CD no 2 was badly scratched but they replaced it quickly. Wonderful recording and playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
I had already the complete piano sonatas recorded by Daniel Barenboim for DG, a very good one but I was not completely satisfied, particularly for the latest opus. I'm very enjoyed by this remake of Alfred Brendel, which is from my point of you better than his other version for the same label (Brendel II). But despite of that, I had a deception hearing the opus 109 "Hammerklavier" recorded live, and also the opus 111. For the "Hammerklavier" Emil Gilels (DG) is clearly fantastic! For the opus 111, there's two outstanding recordings: Claudio Arrau (Philips not reissued by Decca London, a real shame!!!), and Rudolf Serkin recorded live in Vienna (DG with op.109 & 110). For the other sonatas Brendel is at his best, and it's a great musical pleasure. Just a word for the high technical quality of this box set: the unforgetable Philips sound for piano recordings!... I've quoted 5 stars because 4,5 is not possible and 4 wouldn't be enough. For a 5 stars quotation, above all there's Claudio Arrau complete recording, but for me everyone who like Beethoven's piano sonatas must have both Brendel and Arrau. Sorry for my poor english: I'm not British!...
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
The condition on this item was better than i expected.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Beethoven is arguably the greatest of them all. Brendel is one of the finest of modern pianists. These discs are an exploration in depth of some of the greatest, if not the greatest, piano masterpieces of the 19th century by a master. Sometimes I want to listen to Schnabel (a must for all true lovers of music) who seems to uncover depths others don't, sometimes I want to listen to Kovacevich who finds poetry that others miss and sometimes I want to listen to Brendel for the joy of consummate musicianship. None is better than the others but Brendel is one of the greats and the sonatas are the greatest and the more versions one has the better. No one who listens to this will be disappointed. A superb coffret.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
It seems Amazon has no provision that takes into account that there could be three sets of Beethoven sonatas by the same artist.
Reviews of each set appear randomly in wrong places.
The earliest set was on Vox and reissued by Brilliant. Ca 1960, stereo.
The second is Philips' analogue 1970s, by many considered the best, now reissued by Decca.
Thirdly, a digital 80s/90s set again by Philips. Still excellent playing and recording but not consistently at top level, as if inspiration is flagging a few places, like in the finale of the Waldstein, which becomes tiring after a while.
Also, there'll always be some cries for attention from the Brendel haters. If Brendel isn't exciting enough, go to e.g. the frantic Gulda set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Superb playing as you might expect
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
This boxed set brings together recordings by one of the finest interpreters of Beethoven of our time. Brendel is at his best when playing the great Viennese composers of the first school: Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert. The pianist identifies closely with this group. I was privileged to see him on his farewell tour - the hall has never been so packed. He plays with a total absence of show, theatrics, extravagant gestures and the like: it's as if he's playing for himself and the audience is just there incidentally. This contemplative modesty comes across in his style on these recordings
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)