Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2005
The book is erotic; have plenty of ice at the ready when reading !!-but it isn't all just panting & sighing- there is a plot- the hero is an honourable one who is caught in a dilema that is seemingly without resolution- he genuinely loves the heroine but is torn between doing his duty & his love for her.There are very interesting secondary characters, although some of those appear a little too late in the book-there is also an obvious opening for a sequel-which I shall get as soon as it becomes available.All in all, a brilliant debut- well done! Ms Valdez
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2005
Wonderfully HOT. A young widow Passion Elizabeth Dare meets a compete stranger, Mark Randolph Hawkmore, Earl of Langley in the Great Exhibition of Crystal Palace in London. Ms Valdez starts the story with no mucking around straight to business "sex with the stranger" in public and continue to BURN the pages with ultra-hot sex scenes throughout the book with various rapturous renedezvoux. With all the "actions" that happened in public and in private, Ms Valdez manages to draw a surprisingly well developed characters. It is the best erotic romance I had read for a long time. The brillant setting of the repressed Victorian time creates a wonderful contrast with the storyline and helps to stand out from all the Regency books. It has a good balance of story and hot erotic moments. This book reminds me of the early Susan Johnson books and the few good Cherly Holt ones. The language is a bit OTT, but all in all a keeper.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
When they meet at the Crystal palace it is passion at first sight. Passion and Mark indulge themselves with each other, igniting a heat that scorches them to the core. Just for once Passion wants to answer the call of her body, Mark is just fascinated by this lady whom holds his interest with her sensual nature. They embrace this erotic adventure and each time they meet it is the heart that answers to the call of their bodies.

Still evil lurks on the horizon with blackmail and the threat of a scandal. Mark and Passion stand divided by their heart and their duty which may very well destroy the blossoming feelings of a true love not easily found in their world.

Literally from the first page Lisa Valdez captured my attention as Mark Rudolph Hawkmore seduces Passion Elizabeth Dare behind a screen with his voice whispering words of passion and his body that acts upon them. It is a raw and wild need that drives Mark and Passion together and the intensity never wavers for one second and made me want to finish this story within one sitting. Regardless whom called, rang the doorbell or needed me in any shape, form or fashion, I wasn't going to answer. Mark is a man whom is brutally honest, on the brink of being a crude, but it still makes Mark all the more appealing and I just had to find out what kind of woman could lay such a claim to a man and if Passion would be that woman. All of this pulled me into their world and page after page I devoured this story like Mark devoured Passion, with utter want and need, focusing on the one person that brought pleasure.

And that it did bring for me....pleasure, this Regency novel is one of outstanding quality and proved to me to be quite the reading experience moreover with its compelling secondary characters it screams for other stories to be told! I think I've felt a range of emotions with various characters, from delighted pleasure to love and compassion, from anger to utter hate, it all coursed through me as Lisa Valdez created such a cast of vivid characters they could do no other than evoke such strong emotions with me. With bold and straight forward language this author gives it to you all and with various words that are frequently used I like to warn that this is something not all readers might appreciate! I on the other hand was never bothered by it and Mark with Grace would truly never be the same if it was written any different.

Mark and Passion take center stage in such a powerful love story and they created it, it is their attraction towards one another that is so vibrant, so full of passion and evidently clear as I read on. Passion is strong and does her name justice as her very nature is passionate, she's all I want to find in a heroine and a joy to read for me. The circumstances which demand certain choices of the main couple is one that reverberates long after you close this book and those two selfish women make almost any mother or mother-in-law look like a guardian angel. For such an intense, all consuming love it probably requires such characters because they enhance each other so and it gives this tale its impact!

The author created a seductive mix of unforgettable characters, scorching passionate scenes, heart rendering love, when Mark realizes his love for Passion, my heart just went out to him. It is with mere words that Lisa Valdez conjured up a heart touching scene of a man bereft of his love, his only love and is facing a future without it. There isn't much that I didn't like and the few times I did raise my eyebrows it was over minor things that evaporated in the presence of such a compelling love story and it will be a personal thing above anything else. I truly believe no one can read this story and not want to talk about it.

An author such as Lisa Valdez shapes the Historical genre she is writing in and for me she will be one of the authors that blazes a renewed passion in my heart for it!

4,5 stars

Reviwed by Leontine
Courtesy of Realms on our Bookshelves
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2006
I hope that this book is read with an open mind, because what first appears as almost pornagraphic sex in the opening chapter actually grows into a deeply moving romance. As this story of passion, maternal neglect and spite,compicated by blackmail, sibling loyalty and self sacrifice unfolds. It becomes clear how clever the author has been, she has introduced sex with stranger to set up her characters for the denoument later in the story and as our hero becomes more emotionally involved we wait with appaled, baited breath for the axe to fall. Fortunately this story terminates in a satisfying ending where the hero and heroine are reunited in happiness I got hot and flustered reading this tale but I also cried and went to sleep with a warm fuzzy feeling, actualy I lie, I pounced on my husband demanding how much do you love me!

Heres the gist, Passion's a widow who meets Mark a peer of the realm at the Crystal Palace during the great exhibition where he saves her from a falling palm they then have GREAT SEX behind a gothic screen. This one time never to be repeated event gets repeated again and again Mark can't fall in love, information about his brothers parentage is being used to blackmail him into marraige with the daughter of one of his mother old friends, guess what? the daughter is related to Passion. Neither Passion or Mark know this as they are on first name basis only. Passion finds out breaks of with Mark, the betrothal goes ahead but on the day of the wedding all is revealed and Passion's cousin release's Mark from his obligation to her. Mark finds Passion and all ends happily ever after. Pretty straight forward for a novel of this genre apart from the sex one could almost say gothic there is certainly plenty of melodrama. Get it, it's great, It's a glass of wine box of chocolates, full pack of fags type of book. Just don't plan on doing anything else once you start reading. I want more. I can't wait to get my hot handies on Patience's story which was exerpted at the end of this one. Sadley it's currently sold out.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
I was brought to this by a quick Google search for "erotic regency novels". Yep; hot from the get-go with truly uninhibited scenes. It is very strong in its sexual content and language (I don't mind that but some may need a caveat...) but I was really impressed with the actual writing. Usually I read a novella like this for a quick afternoon of escapism - really reading for the sexual content and not the characterisation so much. However I really did get involved with Passion (what a ridiculous name) and Mark as people and engaged with their back-stories.When I thought the story was over in chapter 26 I was heartbroken. If Lisa Valdez HAD ended it there it would have been a mightier story for it. I will be reading the next one in the series for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2006
Ms. Valdez's debut effort is beyond steamy but will plenty of heart and emotion to back the sensual bent of the read. As a result this is a very well rounded read that will appeal to most fans of historic romance.
Passion is saved from certain injury while touring the magnificent Crystal Palace by a very handsome man. She is immediately attracted to this handsome stranger and together they act on their passion not realizing that their paths are going to cross sooner rather than later and will the price of passion be more than they can pay. And will Passion have to walk away from a love she has been looking for all her life?
Mark Randolph Hawksmore is Earl of Langley. He doesn't believe in love and when his mothers past indiscretion comes back to haunt him...with Mark having to pay the ultimate price to keep a family secret he is honor bound to keep. Then he meets Passion and she brings his fuzzy life into great focus. She speaks to a part of him he never thought existed. He feels good when he's with her and everything is right when they are together. But, honor and desire don't go hand in hand. Will this powerful Earl be able to keep the family secret while keeping the woman that has won his heart against all odds or will on person's sin become his?
This story is very erotic read. The romance between the two protagonists is emotional and sensual. The reader will not be able to help falling a little in love with Mark. He is a very strong hero and Passion is his equal in every way. This was a very strong beginning to Ms. Valdez's writing career and I eagerly look forward to her next story "Patience."
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2006
dont think this book is all about the sex because it isnt. it is a truely amazing story. iv read lots of historical romance like this or the like of phillipa gregory etc. and this one is one of my faves- its nail biting right up to the very end and will really pull at your heart strings.
iv been waiting for the next one in this series of 4.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Wow! Well done Lisa Valdez!
I loved this book!
It has sex. Loads of sex from pretty much the first page. It's hot, it's erotic, it made me burn. But around page 200 things change and it grows into one of the best lovestories I've ever read. It broke my heart, I cried, then it gave me hope. I could not put the book down until the last page and I found myself talking out loud to the book telling it that "if this doesn't happen now I won't forgive you" I can't wait to read her next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
Ok I didnt hate this book. I normally love erotic romance and I love tortured heroes and beautiful sweet heroins indulging in really dirty sex that I wouldn't contemplate on myself. But I draw the line at referring a womans genitals as a c**t. The minute I read this word on page 12(!)it turned me off like a cold shower!

I just want to bring this up because if another reviewer had mentioned it I would NOT have bought this book, it killed all the passion for me and trust me, I'm broad minded, menage a trois, man on man, I'm one of few who applauded the intense relationship between Butch and Vishous in Lover Unbound! I just find that ONE word the most offensive word in the english language. So if you are offended by this word stear clear.

Hope this is useful?!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Holy smokes think my kindle just disintegrated under the heat from this book! My first read from Lisa but definitely not my last! Set in the 1800's not my usual read but wow, wow, wow...

Passion is a widow, drifting through life, the daughter of a vicar, never knowing the passion between the sheets to match her name until she meets Mark that is...

Mark, brooding hunk of man, sent by his awful mother to meet Charlotte but she doesn't arrive and instead he spots Passion across a crowded auction hall, the cousin of Charlotte, not that he finds out until much much later..

All I can say is I want a screen like in the book. Without posting spoilers, when you read it you will know what I mean. This is a journey of a family heartache, passion off the charts, friendship, rivalry, it has it all and I will re-read this many many times!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse