Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 2 March 2010
Bought this CD after seeing the artist perform live at an event. Had not heard of her before. Some great tracks on the CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2009
Being a child of the Seventies, I was a great fan of electro pop the first time round in the eighties but La Roux takes electro pop to a whole new level. This album is fantastic - an absolute must have album of the year! There are some great tracks including: In for the kill, Bulletproof, Quicksand and my favourite, Tigerlily. This album is slick, polished and well produced - it has a great retro feel with a modern twist.

Get your hands on a copy now - you won't be disppointed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2009
I waited 6 months for this album so I had quite high expectations that, understandably, were going to be hard to live up to.
Having said that, i think it's a fantastic debut from a great artist, even if it's not to everyones taste.
My personal favourites are 'Tigerlily', 'Colourless Colour' and 'I'm Not Your Toy' (as well as the released tracks).
The only forgettable tracks are 'As If By Magic' and 'Armour Love' and even these are still pleasant to listen to.
Overall, a great album - not perfect, but not far off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 June 2009
Having recieved the album a few days early before actual release (thanks HMV, sorry amazon :P) i have been able to give the album lots of listens before i reviewed it, and im proud to say that i love the album as much as i thought i would, not one bit dissapointed in this epic debut album by the greatly talented duo that is La Roux.

So the album starts off lively with the No.2 hit "In For The Kill" which some might not know that the song meaning is going to tell someone you love them, so don't worry no one is getting killed...
but love soon changes to stalking in "Tigerlily", a dark song, which has a spoken word bridge done by Elly Jacksons father which was inspired by Micheal Jacksons "Thriller".

The album then moves on to "Quicksand", the synth heavy first single from La Roux which unfortunately failed to chart in the UK but they have gained the recognition they deserve thankfully by releasing other great singles.
Elly claims that she will be "Bulletproof" in this next track, the insanely catchy No.1 hit proves that she has attitude and shes not afraid to show it.

"Colourless Colour" a song that is instantly catchy but had to grow on me (didn't take long) few listens later loving the song as much as others, its a great upbeat, funky song.
The album moves on to the caribbean feeling song that is "I'm Not Your Toy" which is also the next single, the chorus simply repeats "I'm Not Your Toy but this isn't another Girl meets Boy" but again like Bulletproof its so darn catchy! Great summer feeling song.

The album shows it's more diverse side in the gorgeous "Cover My Eyes" a great ballad, but with it being La Roux it still manages to keep a catchy chorus which stays stuck in your head, Ellys vocals also shine through in this song with assisting backup vocals by The London Community Gospel Choir.
"As If By Magic" lightens up the mood a bit more after the great Cover My Eyes, were Elly shows she is moving on from a broken relationship, with a killer chorus and some added uplifting "Ohh Ohhs" after it you can't help but love the song.

"Fascination" is another synth heavy song but the synths aren't as stabbing as they are on Quicksand, this is probably the only shrill song alongside with In For The Kill (although not as shrill as In For The Kill) on the album but it's still a great song, shrill doesn't ruin anything!
Elly believes her "Reflections Are Protection" on this next track, it's definitely the most relaxing, easy listening song on the album but it still has the great synths and beat an of course killer chorus, some may find this the weakest song on the album (in my eyes there are no weak songs) but i feel that it really depends on your mood.

"Armour Love" is the final ballad on the album, it's just as good as Cover My Eyes in its own way, it does have two minute silence after the song finishes so you may want to skip ahead to the UK bonus track which is "Growing Pains" and it ends the album on a high note which left me absolutely wanting more, but until they begin work on their next album we have this stunning debut album to cherrish, thank you La Roux.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2009
I have just discovered La Roux after a few months of media coverage and song leaks on the internet (but i'm buying the cd - thats how much i love her sound) and her music is a breath of fresh air. Not that I haven't heard this sound before, its what I grew up on in the 80s (im 32 now) and i still love the music of the 80s, even when people have bashed it over the years, ive always loved it, and now its making a come back, obviously it never went out of style!
I just saw her video for 'bullet proof' and I felt like a was watching a video that would have sat nicely nestled in between madonnas get into the groove and yazoos dont go on Razzmatazz (or top of the pops circa 1984), i really felt like it was just retro and just such a great feel good song, loved the 80s style video, it reminded me so much of my childhood *sigh*

Anyways back to La Roux! I have only heard two songs on here, 'bulletproof' (THE summer anthem - well for me anyway - a surefire number one IMO) and 'in for the kill' - i know i will love the other tracks on here, her music is uplifiting, anthemic, and just 80s synth pop which just makes you want to dance and wear day glo and ray bans and hi tops, its soooo cool, La Roux for a 21 year old, you have good taste in music!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2009
It took me three to four times of listening before I decided I liked the album!! The result is not bad - it is easy listening and different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2009
I love this album, and although it is mainly the same-ish sounding it can be listened to over and over again, i love it! xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2010
The music itself is, for all its derivative nature, OK. It's that HORRIBLE SHRILL VOICE which I just can't take to. Sorry, I can't listen to this. Try Little Boots or Ladyhawke - or even Gaga instead or go back to the originals, DM, Yazoo etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2010
I listen to it every day. Armour Love is quite possibly the best pop song ever written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2009
I am 42 and have been in love with music since my childhood. I am deeply passionate about a very wide variety of music, from serious classical music to opera, lived through the 80s with the the New Wave movement, then Madonna and Pet SHop Boys formed the soundtrack of life from the 90s on; discovered trance and danced till it died in the 21st century.

I still buy CDs and always try to keep up with pop other than those from winners of TV talent shows. Why is all this relevant? Let me say this, this album is one of the most refreshing pop releases in recent years!! Yes she has got an odd voice, yes, the lyrics are odd, yes, she looks odd, yes, at first and second listen many of the tracks share similar beats and even chords. But this girl knows how to put a catchy tune together. Remember when songs used to be about melody and tune? This is like the 80s all over again. What were the better pop releases in the past year or two? Sasha Fierce? E=MC2? Day and Age? Funhouse?The Sweet Escape? Relapse? Count La Roux in! Give it a go, don't take it too seriously, and treat your ears to some catchy tunes again.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)