Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
207
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Game of the Year Edition|Change
Price:£36.99+ £2.99 shipping

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2017
Not a scratch on them. everything there. All in very good condition. Arrived well packed and on time. loaded up and I have been playing it for one week now, no problems. ( windows 8.1 on AMD 1.35GHz 64 Bit 4 GB RAM with Radeon R2 graphics).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Ever since i stepped out of the vault for first time back on the xbox version i knew i had to own this game!
Now i do, this product is a fantastic all in one package of endless gameplay!
Installation was easy and smooth!
Everything about this game is amazing and the DLC's make it better, with new locations, weapons, armour and bad guys to shoot!

BUY BUY BUY IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 October 2009
I am old enough to have played the original game when it first came out in 1997. I was a great fan of the series that followed and, thus, was very eager to get my hands on this latest installment. In a short sentence: FALLOUT-3 is A DREAM COME TRUE!

It is a cRPG game in which the player can alternate between the First and Third person perspective roaming a world comparable in size with OBLIVION. The action has moved from Vault 13 and Southern California to Vault 101 and Washington, D.C. and the story brakes away from the previous bloodlines. However, the atmosphere of the original has been maintained and its scents sharpened: veterans will find it fitting like and old glove - whereas the new gamers are in store for a bag of pleasant surprises.

The graphics are wonderful, the guns detailed and the environments highly interactive. Short of a screenshot, imagine what would HalfLife-2 would look if released today. And similar to HL2, FALLOUT-3 does not require an...ubercomputer to run smoothly. Once you see a NPC move though, you understand where the corners were cut.

Character customization is carried out in great style using the new and improved PIP-BOY at the beginning. You exit the vault and the harsh reality of a world that barely survived annihilation slaps you on the face. Adapt or perish.

The main storyline is there to be followed but FALLOUT-3 offers the greatest number of alternative choices I have ever encountered in a game! There is always a great number of paths to follow in order to achieve any goal - but every choice comes with a consequences tag. This is common feature of most classic cRPGs but in FALLOUT-3 I saw it implemented like never before. If nothing else, this sends replayability through the roof.

Side-quests offer little besides distraction and experience points (XP) to be spend on character improvement. XP are gained solely by completing quests, emerging victorious from fights, finding locations, picking locks and hacking terminals - and they are not limited by the action they were earned. Leveling up is based on 7 basic attributes [Strength, Perception, Endurance, Charisma, Intelligence, Agility & Luck - acronym?;)] that, in turn, affect your (13) specific skills. Since leveling up is capped at Level-20, the game designers wanted to encourage replaying the game. On the other hand, it also means that your character will never realize its full potential (in case you are wondering why I withheld a star from FUN, that's the second half of it).

The game is violent and gory but well within tasteful limits. Not so with the language - but it is trade off with realism. In a radioactive world, Sunday-school niceties are bound to go out the window.
What deserves a special mention is V.A.T.S. (:Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System) which opens new vistas in cRPG design. It is an ingenious system which lets you pause the game and target specific body parts of your opponents. The success of your attack still depends on your skills but the end effect is cinematic and amazing (remember SWORDFISH?).

This GOTY edition includes all 5 DLCs: OPERATION-ANCHORAGE, THE PITT, BROKEN STEEL, POINT LOOKOUT and MOTHERSHIP ZETA. Compared to the basic FALLOUT 3, applying the above improves the experience immensely! Since one used to reach the Level 20 cap long before the endgame, increasing this by 10 levels will give you a brand new ballgame.
Augmented weapons, new territories, novel foes and unexpected story branching - all for the price of the original game. I own the original game and coveted after these DLCs all these past months, waiting for a complete edition such as this GOTY one. When it became available I jumped at the opportunity to get them all. And did not regret it for a moment.

After the nuclear summer of 2008 (with all the Limited-Installation/defective EA releases), this seems like a post-apocalyptic dawn indeed! BETHESDA decided to listen to the gaming community and did NOT cripple this beautiful game with any idiotic DRM scheme. Inputting a serial number and a DVD-check is more than reasonable.
The publishers of FALLOUT-3 understand that there is a fine balance between "protecting the product" and..."insulting your own customers". And they obviously view respect as the two way street that it is - and for this they deserve our support: buy this game, today.

Voting with our wallets is the only argument the gaming industry cannot afford to ignore. And it is about time to cast some well deserved positive votes.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
44 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
First things first... the game itself. For the price, this is a MUST have as it contains the original Fallout 3 plus all of the DLC packs made (Operation Anchorage, Broken Steel, Point Lookout, Mothership Zeta and the Pitt).

The game is essentially a 1st/3rd person rpg set in a retro-futuristic post apocalyptic USA. Players who enjoyed games such as System Shock 2 and Oblivion will love this.

The game is extremely rich in content and very replayable as your character can take all kinds of turns etc.

The karma system is brilliant and certainly, some tough moral game choices will have to be made...

The main quest line is indeed gripping and can be done in your own time. The DLC quests are also very good and certainly, add to the whole experience.

Overall, this game scores a massive high for playability and experience.

A FEW THINGS TO BE AWARE OF:
Disc Two (Containing the DLC packs)
You will likely notice your computer does nothing but the drive will spin and spin... just give it time (10 - 15mins) and it will load up... otherwise... do what I did... open Windows Explorer and "Explore" the CD/DVD Drive... simply copy and paste the .exe file onto the desktop and run it - this will work too. So, don't be hasty to hit the return button as this is not the seller's fault/problem unless the disc is physically damaged.

Microsoft Games for Windows Live
You also DO NOT need to use Games for Windows Live to run the DLCs if you buy the this product (Game of the Year Edition). Once the DLCs are installed, insert Disc 1 to load the launcher menu and simply select the Data Files option - make sure all the DLCs are ticked... this will now enable the DLC content in the game.

Tri or Quad Core CPUs
Also, be aware if your computer has a Tri or Quad Core CPU, the game will run but will crash frequently. It wasnt programmed for more than a Dual Core CPU, but however, there is a fix though. Check the Bethesda Forums for the fix and apply it, this will significantly stabilise the game for you and make it playable.
33 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
Along with Bioware, Bethesda Softworks is the most loved and most respected RPG developer company in the world. With their long standing Elder Scrolls series, the American company has managed to successfully captivate millions of people. Initially, Fallout 3 was in development by Black Isle studios, but BethSoft acquired it back in 2004. Four years later, the game hit the shelves in late October. Unfortunately, Fallout 3 is a crash prone game. It shipped with quad core support, but loses this after patch 1.1, which means that if you have a quad (or more) core CPU, this game WILL crash. To solve this, do the following:
Open up the fallout.ini file in: My Documents\My Games\Fallout3. Find the line:

bUseThreadedAI=0

and change it to:

bUseThreadedAI=1

Add another line after it and insert:

iNumHWThreads=2

This will limit the game to 2 cores and prevent the engine bug from causing the game to freeze. If you still experience crashing, you might want to disable Multi-GPU mode and try running the game in Single-GPU mode (this of course only applies to people who have 'sandwiched' Dual GPU cards, or are running SLI/crossfire setups) - for SLI cards, it will also eliminate the "flickering" (rapid altering of brightness) of the sky when you're moving around and HDR is turned on.

In the beginning of the game, you get to live the life of a true wastelander - always on your guard for potential attackers; roaming the wasteland, sifting through dustbins and old supermarkets for that small bit of precious loot that you can trade in for some bottlecaps to buy that much needed stimpack. Really - in the beginning, you barely scrape a living off ...what is essentially garbage! Low on ammo, low on medical supplies, in dire need of chems to get you through hostile encounters, and as a result, getting addicted to them, and also in constant danger of radiation. Fallout 3 nails the gameplay immersion in the first few hours after you exit the Vault, but over time, you start getting really strong. Just after finishing a dozen or so side quests and not even properly into the main storyline, I already found myself with thousands of caps, ten different weapons and pockets filled with hundreds and hundreds of bullets of every different kind, size and shape. At this point you start to lose the survival-struggle feeling the game initially puts you in, and it just devolves into a cheap Call of Duty experience, as you no longer need to worry about caps or ammo scarcity. Things are made worse by the fact that you can only level up to 20 (which you reach after about 20 hours of gameplay). One of the Downloadable Content, Broken Steel, ups this to level 30, but that's about it - no more fun from there on, just combat and selling loot, rinse and repeat.

Gameplaywise, Fallout 3 can be considered the sequel to The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. Since it is the same developer that created both games, one can notice a lot of things that these two games have in common. To begin with, Fallout 3 uses the same 'Gamebryo' engine as Oblivion, and so, the physics, looks and game mechanics are very similar on first glance. However, the graphical quality has been improved - most noticeably on the faces of NPCs and on distant landscapes, which now appear to be a lot more realistic than in Oblivion. Nevertheless, when it comes to the overall graphical presentation...well...let's just say HDR lighting is pretty much the only thing that makes this game look good. If I turn it off (or even use bloom lighting), we are transported back to 2006 running Oblivion on a low-end rig - that's how bad everything looks.

One of the core elements of RPGs is character interaction - Fallout 3 has its ups and downs, here: unlike Oblivion, you can only talk to a select few characters in the game, with the majority of wasteland dwellers shooing you off if you try to talk to them. Furthermore, you cannot manually raise their disposition towards you via conversation. However on the bright side, those characters that you do get to speak to, present you with an astonishing number of ways to engage in dialogue, almost forcing you to save the game beforehand, and then try all alternate versions to converse with them - learning something else every time. This makes for some good replay material.

Since Fallout 3 is set in the (dystopian) future, guns play an integral part in the game. Bows and magic were supplementary methods of combat in Oblivion - it was just too easy, too effective and too seductive to pull your blade out and charge the enemy headlong. In Fallout 3, close combat is a viable option, but as the game progresses and you get your hands on more and more ammo, ranged combat, as found in most first person shooters, becomes the norm. Fallout 3 introduces a new ranged combat system called V.A.T.S, which allows you to pause the game the moment you catch eye of an enemy, and then decide which part of his body you want to target with your gun - the V.A.T.S. system shows you how high the chances of a hit are, in percentage, and drains your AP points to allow you to engage the target in bullet time, placing precision shots on the selected body part. If critical damage is done, be prepared to witness slow-motion dismemberment and some really gory visuals that put Oblivion's best fan-made gore-mods to shame. Looks like Bethesda wanted to show us how grown up they actually are. In some aspects, Bethesda has even gone overboard: You can kill an NPC, smash up the corpse to a bloody pulp and then proceed to eat them. And this isn't a mod or something - it's actually in the game.

Another new addition to the combat system is, as mentioned before, the body parts: while in Oblivion you just lost health and contracted diseases (which have been replaced by radiation poisoning in Fallout), you can also cripple parts of your body in Fallout 3. This has a variety of disadvantages, ranging from blurred vision if you receive blunt trauma to the head, to loss of aim if your arms have been hit badly, or loss of movement speed if your legs have been crippled. To heal your damages, you need to apply a stimpack directly on the affected limb. However, this means you aren't using that stimpack to heal your general health - tough choices.

Just like in Oblivion, you can repair weapons and armor. But instead of buying repair hammers, you now have to scrounge for identical loot and basically *fuse* them together. Also, it is not until late into the game that your equipment can be brought to 100% of its condition, as neither you, nor the wasteland merchants possess the skills to bring things to pre-war condition, which I found to be a very realistic and immersive approach, given the rather ramshackle state of the Fallout world they live in - in other words, damaged equipment is the norm.

Another nice feature is the inclusion of two radio stations, thus giving you the opportunity to take a break from the generic environment music and either get all patriotic with Enclave Radio, or kick back to some 50s tunes with Galaxy News Radio. Both stations' radio hosts also regularly interrupt the broadcast for either patriotic speeches, or down to earth news, the latter often following your actions in the game. However, the rather short tracklist (for a long game like this) means sooner or later, you'll get sick of the same songs playing again and again. Bethesda could have expanded the song list (given, that a lot of the songs are in public domain today, and thus need no expensive purchase of rights), but luckily, there are fan-made modifications that add new radio stations to the game, such as Tenpenny Tower Radio, Conelrad, or even mods that add new songs to both of the original stations.

Horses as a method of faster transportation are gone, but the fast-travel system has (thankfully) remained. I saw so many motorcycles in the game and thought 'why not?' - they would be perfect to trudge through the wasteland and park before a metro entrance or such, but no.

Another area where Fallout 3 falls short is when it comes to populated settlements. There are exactly three big settlements in the Capital Wasteland, as well as some minor villages. Compare this with Oblivion's nine unique cities, each of them having at least half a dozen quests and about 30 NPCs and you'll realize just how desolate the Wasteland is.

As an Oblivion player, one thing I missed are the factions. In Oblivion, you could become a member of multiple factions, each having a unique and challenging storyline that took you all across Tamriel. In Fallout 3 however, you only get to join two factions, which aren't even marked in your notes, and none of them features a particularly distinct line of quests - unless you consider capturing slaves in the Wasteland, and then bringing them back to point A, a real quest.

Fan made free modifications, such as high resolution textures, new weapons, clothes, darker nights, bug fixes etc. can be found on Fallout Nexus, but unlike Oblivion, mods aren't as desperately needed to make the game better this time around, in Fallout 3.

In Oblivion, you got better at the things you did. For example, the longer you used an axe as your primary weapon, the more skilled you became with it. Of course, at the beginning of the game you had to choose certain skills as your 'main' ones, i.e. they would increase a lot faster than others, but still you were given a lot of freedom. In Fallout 3 on the other hand, Bethesda decided to bring the classic RPG elements back, such as experience points and skill points. The points range from 0 to 100. You need to have invested a certain amount of points into that particular skill to be able to make use of it in practical situations. Let's take lock picking or hacking, for example. If you have the respective skill upto 25, you can only hack 'very easy' terminals, or crack 'very easy' locks. A skill of 25 to 50 allows you to work on 'easy' locks or computer terminals. Very hard equals a skill of 100. For explorers, this often means that some locks/doors will remain inaccessible until you have poured enough points into either of these skills to access new areas. However, these usually only end up leading into small rooms with a lot of loot, so players won't miss much gameplay if they cannot get to these areas. Investing skill points into any of the weapon classes improves the effectivity of the respective weapons, as well. The higher your sneak skill, the harder it is for enemies to detect you. Furthermore, there are so-called 'perks' in the game - a list of abilities that you can pick every time you level up. For example, one perk increases your radiation resistance, while another increases your pistol accuracy by 5%, per tier.

Another thing worth lauding is the Wasteland itself. While the world space may be slightly smaller that Oblivion's Cyrodiil, and completely barren to boot, it still has its charm, and is full of small shanty towns, abandoned schools, metro stations, desecrated vaults and irradiated creeks. Washington D.C. especially, is indeed a sight to behold - the entire Mall has been modelled very well (although not to scale) and a lot of the landmarks can be explored.

Intended or not, Fallout 3 also has many humorous factual errors. For example, it never rains. Packaged pre-war food found throughout the wasteland, such as 'Blamco Mac & Cheese', is edible 200 years after expiry date. All cars you manage to blow up explode into nuclear mushroom clouds, and pre-war robots still roam the Wasteland, 200 years without refuelling or maintenance.

Overall, Fallout 3 can be considered a reboot of the franchise - there's no need to have played its predecessors to be able to delve into the world properly. Unfortunately, the game is rather short. And by short, I mean averaging at about 70 hours of gameplay, that includes 40% exploring of the entire map and doing about 70% of all sidequests. Now this may not be "short" for most RPG standards (Mass Effect gives you what...30 hours at most per game?), but compared to Oblivion, it is. You could pour well over a hundred and fifty hours into Oblivion and still have things to do. Fallout 3 is essentially half of that. This is a legitimate reason why the game's DLCs deserve to be bought - not only are they excellent additions to the game (unlike some of Oblivion's DLC such as the infamous horse armor), but they also give you more hours of gameplay, while bringing a welcome change from wandering the desolate Capital Wasteland. The Pitt for example takes you to Pittsburgh - or what's left of it. A complete change in the visual palette from green-tinted wasteland to reddish-brown post-apocalyptic industrial nightmare. Battling mutants here is a very different experience from that on the Capital Wasteland.

More so in the fact that the main quest only takes place across a fraction of the map. Oblivion's main quest took you all across Cyrodiil - from Chorol and Kvatch in the West, over Bruma in the North to Cheydinhal in the East. In Fallout 3, there's no need to even set foot in the Northern half of the map to complete the main quest. By the time you finished the game in Oblivion, your quest list is usually filled with tons of side quests that they made you run into in the main mission. In Fallout 3, you can get through the whole game very quickly and without many side missions ever popping up, you have to wander around to find them.

In light of all these factors, the crash-prone technical hiccups due to incompatibility with Windows 7 (game still works, though), as well as the Games for Windows Live requirement (but offline play is possible) Fallout 3 just barely manages to achieve four stars out of five, but gets all five for the immersive gameplay.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
Just finished this game and I can say as a seasoned ( and mature! ) gamer, that
it has been one of the best gaming experiences I've had.

I'm particular to 1st person games where you can immerse yourself in the
environment and create your own adventure ( Thief, System Shock 2, Elder Scrolls,
Stalker )so it's great to play a game where the illusion can't be broken easily.
When you interact with characters they're believable with realistic reactions.

I've played Fallout 1 & 2 and although I understood that this iteration
had more in common with Oblivion, it retains enough of the original elements to
satisfy fans, such as the V.A.T.S system of combat, and the frustratingly
enjoyable choice of where to allocate your level-up points.

I have a fairly high-end PC ( Quad core, 9800GTX graphics ) and it ran o.k.
However, I had a problem initially with it randomly crashing to black screen,
requiring a full mains shut-off and restart to recover. I eventually found a
cure: set to 800X600 with Anti-Aliasing off. All other settings could be
set to high, so it although it's disappointing not to able to play on the
highest settings ( the story of my gaming life!)it still looks good, with
satisfying detail in the distance.

One other point: the combat quite gory if your of a sensitive disposition.

In summary, if you love this sort of game, you love this game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fallout 3 Is epic in every way. Owned the main game as soon as it came out and purchased both retail expansions and loved it. After paying it through I stupidly sold them. When the GOTY pack came out I bought that for a second play through.

With the main game and 2 expansion packs I probably had 2 crashes if that in 100's hours of play.

On the same PC with the same hardware the only way I could even get the GOTY version to run was in windowed mode, and even then it crashed every 20-30 mins. And the 2nd DVD was very poorly compiled into massive .exe files that it takes 10+ mins for the disc to even be recognised.

Buy Fallout 3 you will not be dissapointed, just not this version of it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
Fallout 3 can be for parallel futures what the Elder Scrolls could be for parallel worlds.
Expect the same level of freedom of movement, freedom of choice, freedom of character. Do what you want, whether it works for or against the main plot and game line.
The story is impressive, believable and the characters within it, intriguing and deep. The world you are thrown into feels natural, the characters properly living in it.
As in most games of the genre, you "escape" from your imprisonment into liberty (Morrowind from a boat, Oblivion from jail, etc), out of a "Vault", where society as you know it has since lived after a nuclear apocalypse, and pursue a quest into searching your father. From there... do as you may... Explore, destroy, follow the quests, etc. Anything.
Controls are smooth, exploration is amazing, the world is a magnificent perspective of a waste land. NPCs can be found anywhere, living in small or larger communities, and many can offer you sub plots as you go, some of which can have impacts you only notice many hours later on.
As amazing as viewing and exploring and interacting with the NPCs is concerned, the world is well made. You can not avoid combat, however, as one can imagine there are many outcasts wandering about. And as far as combat is concerned, and at least until mid-game where you start feeling leveled-up and more powerful, most combat will involve entering the precise limb-target mode. This essentially, stops the game and lets you accurately choose a limb or portion of the body for your gun shot. While it seems amazing at first, especially when it triggers slow motion, after a while it feels bore some and repetitive, since you get a tendency to enter this mode for most of the shots. This kills the dynamic and pace of the game, and tires your play, as combats can take more time than you'd want. Later on, when you're more powerful, you can discard doing it altogether, but you will sacrifice ammo for it.
Regardless, it is a great game, worth the money and the time spent in it for the experience, the reward for the exploration is incredible, as many landmarks from DC are included.
If you are not into those games where exploration and random encounters take a major part, better avoid it, though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
Since I got myself a new gaming PC, I ordered a few games and started playing them all at once.

BioShock: I'm in a plane. Plane crashes. Strange tower nearby. Game begins. I have no idea who I am or what the heck I am doing there, nor even why I was on the plane in the first place.

Singularity: I'm in a helicoper. Dude talks to me. I'm some supersoldier. Helicopter crashes. Again, a strange tower is nearby. Game begins. And I still have no clue about myself at all.

Dead Space: I'm in space, in some vessel, approaching some mysterious, huge mining spaceship. Upon landing, the vessel crashes. Game begins. Again, who the hell am I? What am I doing here?

But don't get me started on Dead Space.

So, what about Fallout 3?

Whooooooow... I am... wait, can't tell, if you haven't played the game, you're in for an actual BEGINNING OF A GAME!

Yes, there's actually a story about who you are, what you are doing there, how you got there.

So, what stands out in Fallout 3 is already the beginning of the game. You actually get to know the people, including yourself, before the real story starts. This changes a lot about the whole experience, much like HalfLife so many years ago took a lot of time to let Gordon Freeman walk through the labs before anything happened. Many game makers haven't learned anything from that, but the makers of Fallout 3 certainly did.

Another thing that stands out is the incredible speed of starting the game and loading the levels (including travelling).

In the beginning I died a couple of times, even though I was pretty careful. Now, I played S.T.A.L.K.E.R shortly before, which takes eons to reload the same level when you die.

In Fallout 3, you die, game reloads in a fraction of a moment, you go on.

The only drawback were some unexpected crashes on my PC, in particular when entering a new level. However the game managed always to save the game before crashing, so I could just restart and go on. No corrupted game files, nothing.

And the game?

A true successor to the first installments.

I was somewhat curious if the makers could really live up to Fallout 1 and 2, but they did a great job.

Even with the new FPS gameplay, the music, design and story are on par with the earlier games. I very much like the changes between day and night, the interaction with all the characters and overall impact of this game.

There's quite some gore, which I find not so important, so it strikes me as odd that the game makers have put so much attention to detail into the dynamics of bodies flying apart. But it's okay with me, since it fits very well into the rather grim setting of the game, as well as the stark contrast between pre-war advertisements and post-war reality.

Okay, after some time in the game, some level designs and enemies are a bit monotonous, however when taking into account the sheer vastness of the game there's more than enough new locations, people and side quests. Sometimes, just roaming the wasteland is entertaining.

The only thing I find strange is that buildings don't cast shadows. Some walls in entrance areas of underground metro stations receive sunlight. But that's a minor detail, that I am more than willing to ignore.

A full five points for the world, characters and story telling.

If you like to roam the wasteland around Washington D.C. with your dog "DogMeat", fragging some mutants and raiders, while trying to accomplish a mission (hopefully trying to help the people), in a world with countless characters, and a believable world, I can only recommend Fallout 3.

You can play this game as an evil killer who flattens everything and everybody, or you can be the good guy. You can be the pick-pocketing thief or the sniper expert, the sneaky hacker and lock-picker, or some mixture of all of these.

I prefer to be the good buy with some precise energy weapons, a bit of sneaking and hacking skills, and well, a rocket launcher always comes in handy when things get hot.

You decide! And that's what I like about this game.

If you don't know the franchise but enjoyed Deus Ex, I believe you're gonna like this.

codive
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
For those of you having an issue with the second DVD (i.e., it won't run at all) there's a fix going around on the Bethesda forums. It seems to be a problem for Vista users only. The fix is pretty simple; disable Autoplay by going to the Control Panel and deselecting Autoplay everything (you can turn this on again later). Next, disable the UAC (also in the Control Panel under User Accounts; this will need a restart). Finally, put the DVD in again, right click it and select Explore then right click the Setup file and select "Run as Administrator". Give it a few minutes (it can take as long as 10 minutes in some cases) and the installer will run.

After this, re-enable Autoplay and put the first DVD in. When the autoplay screen comes up don't select Play Game. Instead go to the Download option (or Downloadable Content option, I can't remember now but it's one of those) and make sure all the DLC is selected otherwise you'll just be playing vanilla Fallout 3.

I had all these problems with the game and was ready to send it back thinking the second disc was faulty. So I hope I've saved you all some time by writing this out here.
99 Comments| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)