Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 December 2017
This CD Album has been recorded to a very high standard, New sealed as requested in a jewel case (of which is preferred,) great packaging and service. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2015
Great music from wonderfully talented musicians. James Grant you are an awesome singer song writer & musician. Simply the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2017
My favourite L&M cd out of a top quality back catalogue - enough said !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
So glad I could this on CD,a timeless classic full of the song writing genius that is James Grant.Top stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2015
blast from the past so a bought it, great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2006
It pains me to say that this gem of an album housed some of the best peices of music from the late eighties that was barely heard by the masses. True music fans heard the single 'Halleluiah Man' and then set about finding this album. Released in 1988 it was the follow up to 1986's 'All You Need Is..Love and Money' which spawned the much played singles 'River Of People' and 'The Candybar Express'. This set was obviously more sophisticated, a top producer in Gary Katz was drafted in to bring a more produced sound rather than the raw edge of the debut.

The songs were more melodic and the lyrics more attuned to everyday people's experiences.
'The Shape Of Things To Come' is a beautiful ballad of the highest quality, heartfelt lyrics which depict the absolute helplessness of the heart when without the object of its desire.
'A Strange Kind Of Love', another single is a cracking dance track, not that my local DJ ever played it, he was far too scared that he'd clear the dancefloor, better to stick with the boring manufactured drivvle that was around!
'Axis Of Love' is a clever use of words to describe the turbulence surrounding the struggles of keeping a relationship. On to another single
'Jocelyn Square' where we get the best lyrics " I still think about you, but only really when it rains" In Scotland it rains a lot!
'Walk The Last Mile' is another slow, moody ballad where we find songwriter James Grant in absolute awe of someone, " In your light I crumble" "Your at the centre of everything I do, wherever I go, I'll walk the last mile with you" A modern day poet indeed!

I agree with the previous reviewer, this reissue should have included the rather great b-sides that are not so available now, especially 'Love Is A Million Miles Away' 'Wanderlust' and 'Set The Night On Fire'. There was a 4th single released 'Up Escalator' which was aimed at the Christmas market, showcasing three brand new songs, the best of which was 'Soon'

This was the band's most successful album, selling over 250,000 copies worldwide if I remember correctly, going silver in the UK. It deserves to be triple platinum, more people should be aware of this album, Buy it now in your thousands!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 June 2010
LOVE and MONEY had popped out their debut album "All You Need Is..." on Mercury Records in the UK in 1986 to critical acclaim but only slight public interest. All of that changed for the Scottish soul rockers with their sophisticated and smart 2nd album.

"Strange Kind Of Love" was UK released on LP, MC and CD in October 1988 on Fontana SFLP 7, SFMC 7 and 836 49-2 respectively. In keeping with the times -both the cassette and the CD carried a lone bonus track "Scapegoat" to entice people away from the 10-track vinyl version. It was also produced by GARY KATZ of STEELY DAN fame and carried the then desirable DDD code on the rear (a Full Digital Recording). I picked up on the title track's CD single and have loved the album ever since - even hoping it might one day get a Universal 2CD DELUXE EDITION treatment...but we settle for something close.

Which brings us to this UK released April 2010 reissue. "Strange Kind Of Love" by LOVE and MONEY on Cherry Red CDMRED442 (Barcode 5013929144224) is an 'Expanded' single CD Remaster which offers fans the 11-track CD version with a further 6 bonus demos added on and plays out as follows (79:21 minutes):

1. Halleluiah Man
2. Shape Of Things To Come
3. Strange Kind Of Love
4. Axis Of Love
5. Jocelyn Square
6. Walk The Last Mile
7. Razorsedge
8. Inflammable
9. Up Escalator
10. Avalanche
11. Scapegoat

BONUS TRACKS:

12. The Hallelujah Man (Demo)
13. Walk The Last Mile With You (Demo)
14. Scapegoats (Demo)
15. Up Escalator (Demo)
16. Strange Kind Of Love (Demo)
17. Axis Of Love (Demo)

This new version features involvement from two principal members of the original band - lead singer and songwriter JAMES GRANT and Keyboardist PAUL McGEECHAN. The booklet's not bad (Halleluiah has been properly spelled as Hallelujah), but disappointingly its 12-pages excludes the lyrics and a few pictures that came with the original issue and although both of the boys and Katz have provided new comments on the album, they're short and strangely uninformative. But the really great news is the SOUND...

PAUL McGEECHAN has handled the Remaster himself using the original tapes and he's done a fabulous job. The original CD (despite being DDD) used to sound ever so slightly subdued - clinically clean even... Well now it has real muscle and on some tracks is hugely improved to a genuinely thrilling level. The punch out of the slinky "Shape Of Things To Come" is just brill, while "Axis Of Love" has huge guitars and drums now. It's a massively improved remaster and makes the ageing original redundant. Guests included Jeff Pocaro of Toto on Drums and Timothy B. Schmidt of The Eagles on backing vocals.

The big letdown is the extras. Ok, the six demo tracks are new, but they just sound like lesser run-throughs to me and aren't really that interesting or even different. The pick of the crop is a more brass/harmonica version of "Up Escalator", but the others sound way too much like INXS rejects. Which brings me to what could have been on here...

In the UK Fontana released 4 singles off the album - "Halleluiah Man" (September 1988), "Strange Kind Of Love" (January 1989), "Jocelyn Square" (March 1989) and finally "Up Escalator" (June 1989). As well as CD singles there were a plethora of 7" and 12" single versions - almost all of them with exclusive non-album tracks and extended remixes. Some were truly fantastic songs and have remained firm fan favourites ever since. There's the original 1988 version of "Looking For Angeline" from "Strange Kind Of Love", the lovely "Wanderlust 2" from "Halleluiah Man" and "Saint Henry" from "Jocelyn Square" - it's these that I would have preferred to see on here in upgraded remastered form. Like Deacon Blue, The Silencers, Kate Bush, Lies Damned Lies and Prefab Spout - Love And Money B-sides were always worth collecting. Pity Cherry Red chose not to use some of them here.

To sum up - a fantastic remaster then, disappointing extras and an adequate booklet.

The third member of the band Bass Player BOBBY PATERSON (ex Primal Scream) died in 2006 in Glasgow and he is recalled in the liner notes as their 'absent friend'. It's great to see both him and the album he was involved in remembered so well after all these years absent in the wilderness...

What a great little band Love And Money was - I remember them with such affection. From here, it was on to their true masterpiece - "Dogs In The Traffic" from 1991 and hopefully Cherry Red will tackle that too. Recommended…
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2002
I bought this album after hearing 'Halleluiah Man' in my local pub back in '89. Every track is instantly likeable, a rare quality in an eleven track album. For as long as I've had it, it has been the one album I can honestly say I would select to live on a desert island if I could only take one. Good lyrics when you get past the brilliant sounds, buy it, believe me! When you have heard this you will want more and the other L&M albums are also very good but this is my favorite.Easily worth six stars
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2010
After many years of being unavailable, this wonderfully atmospheric album finds its way back onto the shop shelves. All credit to Cherry Red Records then for giving it a new lease of life. I have one issue though. The original album had the lyrics to the songs but this time round, they've been omitted. Why, oh why, do they do this to us? They have researchers who look into these sorts of things, so why is the booklet now coming up short? How much more would it have cost to include a couple of extra pages to accommodate the lyrics? It's really annoying. To be fair though, the same omissions have been made with ELO and Alan Parsons Project rereleases, so other record companies are guilty of this practice too. Perhaps someone from the record companies might read this one day and respond accordingly on future reissues. By the way, 5 stars here of course for the music itself.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2001
Over the last few years James Grant has proven himself as one of Scotland's leading singer/songwriters. Admittedly his best work can be found on the album's after this, most notably L&Ms 'Dogs In The Traffic' and his two solo records to date, however this record contains most of L&Ms best knows songs, minor hits like 'Jocelyn Square', 'Halleluiah Man' and the title track. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)