Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
67
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2011
I love this game to pieces but was very upset when i found that its not compatible with or Windows 7 which we got fairly recently. I can open the game and play for about 5 mins then it freezes saying its not compatible. I just hope a newer version will come out so I can buy that! I have also liked this game enough to give it as presents to others who are all hooked.

I would highly recommend this to any one with XP or Vista but its not for you if youve got Windows 7
55 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
When I started the game, it wasnt FULLSCREEN! EEK!

This is easily fixed, however:

Load the game.
Click on options.
Set graphics detail to high.
Set resolution to 1024x768x16 (there will only be 3 options anyway)
Click apply/save/ok.

Now exit the game completely, shut it down!
Right click on the desktop icon.
Click properties.
On the Shortcuts tab, look for the box next to Target.
It will say something like this: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Mythology\aom.exe"
At the end of the line, press the space bar and type xres=xxx yres=xxx - the xxx being what your current screen resolution is, for example, mine is xres=1366 yres=768.
When that is done, it should look like this:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Age of Mythology\aom.exe" xres=1366 yres=768

Now click apply.
You may be prompted to make the change as the administrator, just click ok.

Now load the game and there you have it!

It will stretch the opening logo/pictures and make them look horrible and pixelated, but when you get to the actual start menu for the game, it will just work and be fullscreen :)

Enjoy all!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
Had the game when I was much younger and loved it then,decided to treat myself to the Gold Edition and was once again not dissapointed. The graphics of the game, especially during the video sequences havent aged particularly well but considering the age of the game it isnt a major gripe to have. The only other small reservation I have with the game is the relative shortness of the Titans expansion pack but that could be more to do with how much I enjoyed playing through the campaign I just didnt want it to be finished as quickly.
All in all a classic, with a much easier control system than the previous Age of Empires games providing hours of entertainment, both throught the campaign option and the random map section. A must-have for all fans of the genre.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
I used to play this game ages ago when it first came out, and thought I'd give it a go again. What a good decision! Though this game may not exactly be the most graphically intense like most of the newer games, it is very fun with a great plot line. Can't recommend it enough!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I would struggle to find a person who hasn't played the Age of Empires series, but very few people I've spoken to have played Age of Mythology. It carries over all the aspects that made Age of Empires great and adds a mythological twist. I'd recommend it to just about any RTS fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Haha my early teen years. I love this game. It still works perfectly on windows 7. There are even still people playing it online, but people playing online are a lot better than they used to be. I keep losing :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
I was so pleased to get this as I lost my previous version some time ago and thought it was out of date. Although I have Windows 7 I had no problem installing it and it plays ok but it does occasionally crash so you need to regularly save your game, not having any other programmes running seems to help. The game itself is a wonderful addition to the AOE stable, it has more variety and sophistication than the standard game and the mix of different Mythologies - Norse, Greek, Egyptian, and Atlanta in the expansion, makes it more interesting and challenging. The graphics are good. You do need to read the manual !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
In my opinion, these games are the greatest strategy games ever made (while the Total War series comes pretty close) they need to seriously make a sequel to the Age of Mythology series!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
awesome game, really fun awesome price and all round good stuff :)... just saying to the people who want to play on multiplayer, just use vooble... it makes multiplayer EasyPeasy!... i have played many times with my friend - no problems at all. Just Google 'Voobly'! spread the word :D
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
great games, play it every weekend and it has neverbothered me once with a problem. i would reccommed it to you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)