Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
62
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2009
Such a great idea, to play this music at airports, bus terminals, train stations. Who knows, perhaps a taxi company playing mellow repetitive music of Brian Eno in their cars would be a success... There was a time in my life when I needed to develop some distance between myself and music. That space was filled by Brian Eno's ambient albums, and Music For Airports is one of my favorite Brian Eno's albums, next to Thursday Afternoon, On Land, Bell Studies For The Clock Of The Long Now, Music For Films, Neroli, Discreet Music and Apollo Atmospheres And Soundtracks. If you like ambient music of this nature here is what else I would recommend; Jean-Michell Jarre -En Attendant Cousteau (title song only); James Johnson & Robert Scott Thompson - Forgotten Places; Kuhlman Rehberg Mense - The Sunken Road; Klaus Schulze - Irrlicht; Labradford - E Luxo So; Dead Texan; James Johnson & Steven Philips - Lost At Dunn's Lake; Pete Namlook & Tetsu Inoue - 2350 Broadway 3; Pete Namlook - Air 2; Recycle Or Die; Labradford - Mi Media Naranja; Klaus Schulze - Body Love; Zoviet France - Shouting At The Ground; Wiese Klaus - El-Hadra; Vidna Obmana & Sal Rosenthal - Terrace Of Memories; Gavin Bryars - Sinking Of Titanic; Alio Die & Mathias Grassow - Expanding Horizon; Popol Vuh - Hosianna Mantra; Harold Budd - Pavilion Of Dreams; Sigur Ros (..); Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works Volume 2; David Sylvian - Approaching Silence; Rapoon - The Kirghiz Light; Ultra Milkmaids - V/S Part 1; as well as many other albums where elements of great ambience are just part of equation; Godspeed You Black Emperor - Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven; Harold Budd & Eraldo Bernocchi - Music For Fragments From The Inside; Pieter Nooten & Michael Brook - Sleeps With The Fishes; the music of Craig Armstrong (The Space Between Us and As If To Nothing), John Serrie (Planetary Chronicles and The Stars Go With You); Vangelis (1492, Conquest Of Paradise and The City and many others). Oh well, I guess I have given you a few recommendations. Please return the favor, because you can clearly see what ambient music I like...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2004
Nearly everyone who uses a computer is familiar with at least one piece of Eno's work; he wrote the little 3 second Windows booting-up music for Microsoft.
This album is a perpetual favorite, one of the New Age genre classics. Divided into 4 sections ("1/1," "2/1," "1/2," and "2/2"), it soothes the listener with repetitive piano and synthesizer motifs, and adds the color of chimes and vocals. This is the "ambient" music style, something to play while you need to concentrate, perhaps, or to relax or go to sleep by. I can also recommend the newer "Glitters is Gold" which also has non-linear music of this type.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Music to dream the day away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
Love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2002
You don't go to an airport to listen to music. Don't buy this album to listen to it, or you're missing the point. The point is it's "ambient", in the true and original sense of the word -- it must be allowed to just be there, around you, flowing gently in and out of your consciousness.
Like some of the reviewers here, I am used to music being in the foreground. I used to think "if it's not interesting enough to hold my attention, it's not worth having". Music For Airports changed that view. Truly ambient music serves a different purpose.
It neither wants nor needs your full attention, and if you give your full attention you will be bored and disappointed. If, on the other hand, you put it on and forget about it, you will notice it occasionally and, just maybe, you will fall in love with its beauty and simplicity without ever knowing why. You might even have to fall asleep to appreciate it, but perhaps that's right too. It's music for the unconscious mind, and it remains one of the best, most timeless examples of the genre.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2000
A (very) quiet revolution on release, 'Music for Airports' is considered something of an ambient classic nowadays. As such, it's not bad - a neat manifesto that, in forty-five minutes, begats, explores, and exhausts the entire genre. It's hampered by a lack of refinement (the first three songs sound like sub-mixes of a larger piece), and it has a slightly tragic legacy (witness countless subsequent sample-mad musicians trying to mask a lack of effort as 'ambient'). Still, it sounds timeless today. If you like this check out 'Apollo', which is much the same, with the addition of slide guitar.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
I first heard this album in 1978. I had heard Eno with Roxy Music and found him fascinating so, after his departure, kept tabs, listening to Here Come the Warm Jets,Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy), the original 'Obscure' albums and No Pussy-Footing. And then this came out - on vinyl.

Well, I wore that copy out and had to buy a second. That, too, wore out. Then some bright spark invented CD players. I bought one so that I could listen to this album without the clicks and hiss of vinyl. It was this album that prompted me to buy a CD player.

I have now been listening to this album for about 30 years.

As soon as I hear those first few unadulterated, simple piano notes, I relax. I slip into a timeless place framed by a few minutes of 1/1. The piano is underpinned with deep, almost subsonic layers, light percussive background hints and organic/electronic hues. Have you ever struck a note on a piano and then just sat, listening to it fade away?

1/2's ethereal voices could almost be too sweet but, if you actually listen to them, don't let them wash over you, you hear a slight faltering, a hesitation, which makes them fallible, not heavenly. It's certainly not Spem in alium, it takes you into yourself. It's so, so simple - get an old string synth or something, you could do it yourself. But you didn't.

Then 2/1 is 1/1 + 1/2. And they work well together - it's not repetitive, it's cool, calm calamine lotion for the mind only not so pink.

And finally 2/2. This is the one most definitely reminiscent of the early Obscure label recordings, great soft monoliths of sound sliding over each other like sonic cushions - know what I mean? Squidgy...Actually, it's my least favourite track.

Still, an album I have lived with for over half my life, and I don't see that changing. :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2001
This is a colossal achievement; rarely is music so powerfully evocative and at the same time so unobtrusive. It has greater depth than more recent ambient compositions and its structure is reassuringly simple. It can be as important a part of your home as your furniture; leave it on in the background or sit and make an effort to listen to it - in both situations, listening to "Music for Airports" is an incredibly rewarding experience. Whether working, relaxing or socialising, this CD is _the_ essential accompaniment to modern lifestyles.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2010
This is perfect mood music...this could conjour up images of cloudscapes, empty aitport terminals at night or day, ait travel...This really is music that is not so much there to be listened to as experienced. The main thing about this is ther space that exists in the music that's up to the listener to fill. The music itself does not demand your attention, but subtlely fills the space around you. Either at low volume, or louder, this has the power to draw you in and leave you spellbound everytime. I get very reflective, and always feel rejuvenated and envigourated by the experience each time I listen to it. The ambient series stands apart and, of it's kind, I think this music is unrivalled. Trust me when I say you will be listening to this for many years to come if you buy this....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2002
A disturbing quiet and reflective calm music album, like wallpaper music .....its there, some will like and some will not. It's a rather uninteresting album and the more so by its absence of beats or attention grabbing instrumentation, but I none the less would not want to be without this album. Its highly original, imaginative, reflective and as interesting as it is obscure. This CD will always be in my top 100 and will always remain at position #100. There are many better titles about now, but this is the 'original'...and who would not want this one in their collection! Munt1
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)