Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
4.7 out of 5 stars
Gone With The Wind [Blu-ray] [1939] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£19.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2011
I have never seen Gone With the Wind so when the 70th Anniversary Blu-ray edition came up on a special offer I thought it was about time I tried it. I suppose that in summary it could well be the best film I have ever seen. This version has been totally remastered to 1080p with 5.1 soundtrack. For a 72yr old film the colours are superb, the soundtrack is crisp and clean, the cinematography and lighting is the best I have seen. The cast are all heavyweights with Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh leading a cast that cannot be faulted. The acting is old school and brings the film to life. And Vivien Leigh, wow.... how gorgeous, until now I had always thought Monroe or Hepburn was the most beautiful actress ever but now Leigh takes that place. The only drawback is the sore bum you get as the film is 4 hours long. It is the only disc I have ever come across with an actual intermission.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Anyone who loves cinema should buy this highly enjoyable and landmark movie.

I bought the 2 disc 70th Anniversary Blu Ray as an upgrade from an late 1990's DVD I own.

Whilst the DVD was enjoyable, this new Blu Ray has excellent clarity and resolution. The sound and picture are both a marked improvement, showing the artistic colour palette and elaborate set design to their maximum advantage.

One of the very best Blu Ray restorations I have seen.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Probably the most stunning motion picture ever made with almost flawless casting and mind-blowing production values. This restored Bluray version is probably better looking than the original appeared in the 30s when cinema quality varied wildly across the world. The colour is breathtaking and Warners have done wonders with the soundtrack by bringing out all the hidden dynamics in the original recording. Subtle surround effects have been laid down in places such as the siege of Atlanta and passing wagons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
BRILLIANT AND AS DESCRIBED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
The quality of the restored 1080p HD is superb. Having watched the original film in a cinema back on the 80's I am very impressed with what the restorers have done with this Blu-Ray production. If you want to see this film - which has grossed more box office money than any other film to date and more Oscars - then watch it on this Blu-Ray double disc edition.
The second disc contains a comprehensive documentary about how the film was made and David O. Selznick's obsession with perfection that speaks for itself in the finished film. This second Disc also contains profiles of all the stars and the supporting cast and in several cases their early deaths.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
Gone with the wind blu ray review. The films' picture and sound are of superb quality as good as any new film. There are hours and hours of extras, especially interesting is the Vivien Leigh story and interview with Olivia De Havilland. Great value for money. Amazons amazing low price an excellent fast delivery service. Treat yourself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
I have both the DVD and this fully restored Blu-ray version and the difference is amazing! The clarity and depth of colour is a joy to behold. If you have the DVD then I advise you to get yourself the Blu-ray and see the difference. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Gone With The Wind for me the most outstanding film ever if you have not seen this film buy it good value for money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)