Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
66
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2010
As someone who loves the Lions and all it stands for this DVD just confirms how strong and committed the players and coaches were to beat the Boks. Once your ten mins in to this you start to relive the emotions the boys went through all over again. Make's you want to dust off the old boots and play again.....well almost. It's interesting, fun, inspiring and tence even though you know the final out come. Definatly worth a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
I was forced to watch this by a friend, and even though I don't follow or watch rugby, I thought it was AMAZING. I was totally entertained throughout the film and i think it gave a real insight into what the players, and everyone involved actually go through. It was great to see behind the scenes of the rugby world and i was taken on a fun and emotional journey. The build up to the last test was gripping, and i was glued to the TV the whole way through. WHAT A GREAT DOCUMENTARY!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
I was very fortunate to have been invited to a preview, it was so incredible that I bought 5 copies as gifts when I got back- it was so good that I wanted to give my friends something special - and this was it!! It is emotionally charged, powerful, intimate and intense at times, yet funny and so brilliantly told that I felt that I was living and breathing with the team. I particularly loved to see how a cool and calm Ian McGeechan got so passionate and emotional about the final test....... who said an Englishman does not show emotions? Who said big boys don't cry? Great uplifting story!!!!!!!!
44 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
Following Living With Lions was always going to prove difficult, and so Living With The Pride has proved. While some of the production qualities are quite arty and build a mood, you feel that it never quite gets into top gear. While some of the players feature strongly, others don't appear at all. If they're quiet, fine, show us that, but it was wrong to leave them out altogether. If Andy Powell is as mad as suggested, let's see it. We've all seen the games, but you come away with little idea of where the matches were played, where they stayed or where they visited. Also, there's precious little input from South Africans. So, much like the tour, it offered great promise and came up short.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
I couldn't wait to receive this, but was nervouse the DVD wouldn't live up to some of the excellent reviews i'd been reading. Or that it wouldn't portray the tension & brutality of this tour. I needn't have worried. This is the best tour review to date (even better than Living with the Lions, which was the bench mark until now). The DVD takes you through the tour. Has unbelieveable behind the scenes footage. You actually feel like your in the dressing room & part of the team. Although you know the results you find yourself willing the boys on. After the first two defeats, The build up to the third victorious test is absolutely gripping & the dressing room speaches & ultimate victory, makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. An absolute must for all Rugby / No sports fans. With out a doubt the best Sports Documentary of all time !!!!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I was lucky enough to avoid the X-Factor on saturday and was able to watch this DVD instead (in another room of course - god forbid she misses Xfactor) anyways It was brilliant - all the behind the scenes were amazing and I think it really gives a feel of what it's like to be on tour! Would recommend to any rugby fan casual or hardcore!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2009
The fact that the Lions did not win this series may have limited the sales of this 'behind the scenes' DVD. It should not. Filmed in the same manner as 'Living With The Lions' from the previously successful 1997 Lions tour to South Africa, this takes you into the normally closed world of team selection and tactical discussions. It also has extensive 'player-cam' clips of the thoughts and experiences of many of the squad. Don't buy it for extensive passages of play; the essential elements are covered, but above all this is a documentary. It lacks a little of the humour of its predecessor and Jim Telfer's speech to the forwards could never be matched by anyone, but the quiet motivational speeches are inspirational and the emotion shown by Ian McGeechan when the party is over would bring any hardened prop forward near to tears.

Not as good as the first, but invaluable for any fan of rugby to understand a little of the traditions, rituals and spirit of the game. Lions tours may not survive in the professional era; certainly the previous one to New Zealand under (Sir) Clive Woodward nearly killed them off. This tour brought them back to life and long may they last, in this form anyway. Even if Lions tours do survive, McGeechan is unlikely to be involved again. In one way or another, this DVD maps the end of an era. Buy it immediately; treasure it, show it to your kids when you think they are ready to hear the swearing and dig it out from time to time to time to remember what true rugby sport is all about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
I was hoping for more match highlights, particularly from the tests, and so the second DVD was a disappointment. The first disc was excellent; providing great behind the scenes footage interspersed with clips from the matches, illustrating the emotional rollercoaster of this Lions tour for the players and management. With commitment and carnage such as this, why does anyone bother to watch football? There is no team sport more exciting than rugby played at this gladiatorial level. A warning if buying this as a gift for younger viewers: the pre-match verbals are very strong. My rugby-playing nephew will have to wait till he is 14 before he receives this; I don't want an ear bashing from his mother.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
What more can i say!! If you want to see this tour in detail, see what the players were going through, see the team talks, see the injuries, see what it means to the players and see how it really was then this is for you. You can actually feel the emotion when you are watching and even as i am writing this the memories and tingling sensations are flooding back of the tour and what i saw on this DVD, some parts even brought a little tear to my eye as you realise this is THE pinnacle for these players who are after all like me and you and you can see how much it means to them. If you love sport, rugby or not, this is for you - shows how it really is and a MUST WATCH!!! You will not be dissapointed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Couldn't wait for this DVD to arrive in the post! The day it arrived my husband and I were routed to the TV until the last second of it. Its a great DVD and covers all angles - the lows, the highs, emotions. Fantastic all the way through. Friend of ours wanted it so had to order it for him so I expect he's currently watching it now. Great Christmas present for all those rugby fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)