Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
17
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£19.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2015
This has always been my favourite New Order album, particularly for 'Sub-Culture' and 'Elegia'. The extra CD is a great bonus, both sides of the 12" of 'Sub-Culture' plus an epic version of 'Elegia'. Ultimately the original edit is preferable but still - I never knew such a thing existed and it's great to have. The highlight of the extras though is the 12" of 'The Perfect Kiss' - it's wonderful and shame on me for not buying it on its first release. If you bought 'Low-Life' back in the day (i.e. on vinyl) then this extras CD makes it worth buying again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
It is very misleading stating that the album has the "original artwork", as it doesn't have the original tracing paper sleeve. I appreciate that it's a re-issue, but I feel that you could have made this clear in the description.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Awesome
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
This is a wonderful album but the pressing I bought is poor and the album skips on both sides on track three. Disappointingly I have returned it to amazon and I'm reluctant to buy again in case I get another dodgy pressing.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Great album. Really good buy with the extra tracks on the additional CD. An old fave on CD. Just in time to go and see Hooky play them live
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
New Order at their best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Also for my Collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
Having purchased PC&L and The Queen is Dead from the same reissue series I was looking forward to getting hold of Low Life on vinyl again. Sadly I was dissapointed to find that the original artwork was not reproduced.
Placing the 180gm chunk of vinyl down I was impressed Love V sounding so refreshing and like the Velvets at their best. The clarity of Hooky's spoken "Am I the only one who...."

4 Points for content. 1 deducted for the lack of original artwork.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
This has always been my favourite New Order album. The addition of the remixes on the second disc, together with the superb 17min version of "Elegia" makes it even better for me!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2008
New Order- low-life (remaster)
------------------------------------------------
Although this album is not as good as their previous effort
in 'power corruption and lies', it is still probably their
2nd best album to me......

'Low-life' has amazing artwork, a good track selection,
and contains what i consider their best song ever,
'the perfect kiss'..

So lets talk about specifics: for the album
====================================================
1) The album is not overly loud, or 'over mastered', i'm
still comparing all the individual tracks...

2) The soft parts are clear, with no noise or artifacts
that i've noticed..listen to 'elegia' and you will hear
how well done it is.

I'm listening through altec-lansing speakers, and also through
headphones

3) The loud parts are not distorted, crank up 'the perfect kiss'

4) Tracks are complete and not missing parts, no glitches,
or stutters.

The bonus disc:
===================================================

1) Well after all these years of waiting, since 'substance'
came out on CD, back in 1987, we've waited and waited in
vain for the full 12" mix of 'the perfect kiss' to be released.

21 years later WE NOW FINALLY HAVE IT....

Honestly if this was the only new song on the bonus disc,
i would have been ecstatic..... so now it's here, and with
nothing missing, and in great sound quality....

2) We know have both full versions of subculture.... now i
know that most people don't like it, but i thought it was
a very cool remix for the time, especially with all the
stutter-editting that is even being used now..... the dub
version is actually kind of dark and industrial sounding...

3) If you didn't get the bonus disc of retro, you will enjoy
the full 17 minute version of elegia, if you have not heard it,
another masterpiece...

4) Sadly only two tracks from salvation are represented here, and
not really worth mentioning...

===================================================
Overall, low-life has held up after all these years,
the song quality, and standard are still very high, and worth getting...

The bonus disc is very very good, and the sound quality is very good too..
once again they could have put more tracks on there as,
but i cannot state how great it is to finally have the full 12" mix
of 'the perfect kiss' on there.... everything else is just extra to
me..
44 Comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)