Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 August 2014
I decided to buy this product because I was looking for an inexpensive solar light to illuminate the area outside my back door.

The product is made of a reasonably high quality material that is fit for purpose.

10 mins after taking the product out of the box I had screwed the solar panel and light unit onto my garden fence and did not even need to review the instructions.

The movement detector and solar light head can be moved up and down but not sideways.

The light quality produced is sufficient to illuminate my back yard and door area and the sensor activates the light consistently, even when the cats walk past.

The other 3 lights that I bought at the same time that I paid about £50 each for did not even last 6 months.

I have not had a single problem with it in 2 years and I highly recommend it.

If you wish to add a comment on this review then please follow the link below.

Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2015
I bought this for my shed. Fitting it was easy. I have the solar panel outside and the light inside. The cable is long enough for any application and the light is perfect for a shed. The movement, time and darkness knobs are easy to work out. Maybe there could be more articulation on the solar panel fitting, but pointing it at a clear bit of sky seems to work. I haven't used it in winter yet, but as it is only needed for a few minutes every day, wouldn't have thought charging it would be a problem. It performs very well for a reasonable price.

UPDATE: Now that winter is upon us, I wanted to see whether this would continue to work with long nights and a lack of charging time. I can report that it has never let me down. It is absolutely perfect for a shed/garage light. A brilliant solution for those places where it isn't worth putting in electricity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2015
Annoyed now, have just written a great review for this light and lost it when taking a photo so having to start again! Will probably miss lots out now! I have 2 of these and bought one for my mum as I was so impressed! A lot of light in a small package.. Sensor is adjustable for sensitivity and duration and also for ambient light level. Adjusts on two planes for light and sensor direction, so you can sense in one direction and light up another.. You do end up with odd angles though as not both rotate to enable them to be on the same plane.. Not a problem if you aren't inclined to OCD! Suits my purposes perfectly, lighting my path to the door when I return from a night shift, will see how long into the winter the solar charge lasts, but so far, so good! Highly recommended!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2015
I bought this item in October 2012 and as of March 2015 it's still working fine, detecting "warm body" motion and providing bright illumination that lights up my whole driveway. It charges up even in the darkest days of winter, and I've never known it to run out of power during the night - it's never failed to come on, at least not that I've seen!

So, after three winters it's survived gale force winds, torrential rain, sub-zero nights and record beating Summer highs. It's incredibly well made but - just as a small warning - the version currently on Amazon is an updated model compared to the one I own, so I'm hoping that the company has kept up its high build standards through successive models.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2012
Bought two of these to illuminate the inside of a garage on the rare occasion we go in at night. Almost bought three to ensure sufficient light to park bikes or rummage for tools but these LEDs are very bright and do the job just fine. Adjustable for sensitivity and length of time on. Very effective indeed. Seem to use an LED 'panel' as opposed to individual LED bulbs you see in cheap torches and this appears to make a difference - a solidly made bit of kit easy to put up and worked straight away with no tweaking or fiddling. A good and effective security light and not a toy. Don't forget the supply cable from the solar panel is not connected with a jack-plug to the unit. Fine if the installation is outside but if you want to use the lamp internally (and the panel externally of course) then the panel has to be passed through a hole or window or somesuch to set up. I should have realised this but didn't spot that detail so mailed suppliers support desk to ask if the wire could be snipped and reconnected (sometimes this is not advisable but I don't see why not in this case). I'm still waiting for a reply over a week later. Meanwhile I've bodged the installation by removing and replacing a window frame -and would rather have just clipped and reconnected the wires. Great kit -strongly recommend but poor support.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
I also have a version of this lamp by the same manufacturer with two lamps, but this is just the single. Nevertheless, its a highly effective and useful piece of kit.

It has two main parts, the lamp mounting, which includes the PIR sensor, and the solar panel, which needs to be mounted in direct daylight, preferably south facing to catch the best light. They are connected by a cable which is pre-attached and a decent length (a generous 3 metres).

Simplicity itself to install, with just 4 screws, which are supplied. Most usefully, and unusual on a solar powered device, the PIR is adjustable for light levels, sensitivity and duration - up to 4 minutes when activated.

I've installed it on my shed about half way down quite a long (and dark) garden and it provides a bright white light. Its difficult to estimate the equivalent wattage of a 230v light, but suffice to say its about as bright as the previous light I had there, which was a mains powered bulkhead light fitted with a 40w bulb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2014
I had purchased another PowerBee product recently from Amazon and was most impressed with the performance, I needed a reliable security light on a very dark area at the back of my house, after researching the reviews on this item I decided this was the exact security light that would suit my requirements, PowerBee products are made of a high quality and are also VERY easy to install, this unit is fantastic and gives of a super bright light, worked on the evening of installment and hasn't failed to perform since, I have highly recommend PowerBee to my friends and family wishing to purchase solar lighting of an excellent quality, Thankyou PowerBee :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2014
This is the first time that we have had a light of any kind outside the front door. I do not know why we have never bothered before, as it was so annoying during dark evenings getting home from work and trying to get the key in the door. I think we just moaned about it as we tried to get in the door, but once we got in the house, it was forgotten about until the next time lol.
Anyway, I am so glad that we picked this Solar light. I did stacks of research as usual and settled on this one. I was as skeptical as most people...using a solar light during the Winter, would there be enough sunlight to 'charge' it up?
I am happy to report that this light is perfect!
It has never let us down.
What a difference it has made.
I could just kick myself for not buying one years ago :)
Thumbs up from me
xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2016
This is bright enough to light up the small area that I bought it for. Works well and as it's solar powered means I don't need to worry about running mains power. The solar panel is small, but is powerful enough to charge the battery for this light.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2013
Ordered this light as I already have a double version of this light from Powerbee and was impressed with that product and only needed a smaller light for a passageway at the side of my house.

Was delivered in super quick time and easy to attach to the wall and has been perfect, even though there hasnt been that much sun from when I purhcased, has produced plenty of light all the time and has never failed, made of good quality and highly recommend this product and any others from powerbee as I cannot complain about the three things I have ordered.

The lights really do work in our climate, even with very little sun.

Highly recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)