Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
40
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 December 2009
Louis CK is so unflinching in his honesty, it really is quiet courageous. We aren't talking about politics or religion here (although actually he does cover race issues), but the everyday stuff that we all have to deal with but would NEVER admit in public. Like stories about when he was nine and began to dry hump everything in the house, or his completely unhealthy (and therefore relatable) attitude to food, in particularly 'Cinnabuns'. Or the difference between wearing boxers and briefs, and why his nether regions look 'like a pig's a*s'. It's so refreshing to see someone talk about themselves in such a realistic and self-deprecating way, when 99.9% of the media is about projecting an image of perfection and superiority.
And it's funny - actually funny. With some stand-up, you know is technically quite good, but will only make you laugh a couple of times. But with this, I literally laughed at everything he said. This show immediately starts off funny, and just gets better - there are no pointless or overwritten 'jokey' jokes.
Also I think hugely important is that even though he is fantastically offensive, his basic likeability always shines through, and you never feel he is being cruel or mean, even when he's being brutally honest.
If you're interested in comedy, there's also a 40 minute extra of him talking to camera, and answering questions from a list. Sounds boring, but is actually quite insightful, and interesting to know why he chose not to make a flashy over-produced DVD, and about the time he did a gig in a trailer park.
This guy really deserves to be hugely popular. Much more than the bland, mildly amusing 'entertainer' comedians that sell so well. Louis CK is the real thing.
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
I am a comedy nerd, and an open spot and I had never seen any Louis C.K before. I thouroughly missed out.

He is absolutely fantastic, much better than the generic, bland stand up of the Michael McIntyre's in todays current mainstream. It is a disgrace he is not big over here in Britain as he is absolutely phenomenal. If you like angry stand up, that isn't afraid to push boundaries, this dvd is a must have.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
The show is incredible. Hilariously funny and painfully real. If you like your stand up being a man standing with a microphone just talking about his life in a funny way, with no pretence, you'd be hard pushed to find a better example than Louis CK.

Only 1 'extra' to speak of, an interview he films himself on a video camera. It's not amazing, but does give some nice insight into his career and his views on comedy. A lot of stand up DVDs tend to scrimp out on extras, and while this isn't amazing, it's nice that there's at least something there.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
If you don't know Louis C.K., do yourself a favor and buy this DVD, I guess you won't regret it.

You need to know that Louis is a little bit aggressive in his sketches (you'll hear the "F" word a lot) but hit the nail on many aspects of our society, just like being a dad, in a relationship for a longtime, etc. and each time I couldn't stop laughing.

My only regret (nothing to do with Louis C.K. or Amazon) is that this is the only DVD that has been released in Europe. I would have loved to buy "Hilarious" for instance but it is only available in the US (zone 1).
Now I know some people will tell me to buy a zone free DVD player but it's a shame that it isn't just available to buy without any zone protection in the first place
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Absolutely hilarious! i like; too the bone and dark comedy, but Louis C K takes it farther than i've seen since Ricky Gervais and Jimmy Carr. I'm a father and a husband and nearly everything he says in this DVD is on point and fall off chair funny. If you have a sense of humour watch this! if you dont, then its not your bag........... probably sitting in a dark lit room with no mirrors will suit you instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
Keep an open mind, and listen carefully. You will be entertained and think too, shedding new perspectives on things which are obsurd when you think about them objectively. Be wary, don't show this to people who are up-tight, closed minded or PC police...this is down to earth, and brutally honest humour, which some may see as being sexist, racist or crude. Which in actual fact, is not.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
The only disappointment we had with Louis CK is that his other stand up hours' are not available on region 2. Why not?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
Every now and then you will hear a comedian being asked, "Who is your favourite comedian right now?" Almost always it seems that the answer is Louis C.K. This DVD is yet another example of why he is so popular. His material is honest, brutally honest, self-deprecating, humiliating stuff, but it is always told with a confidence and control over the audience that leaves you spell bound. He is a truly brilliant comedian who finds the raw humour in his life and shares it on stage, no matter how embarrassing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Really really funny. I love Loius the TV show and this certainly will not disappoint if you like it too. Unfortunately, I didn't read the description properly and stupidly bought the DVD for the wrong region, but I just changed the region on an old laptop and ripped it so I could watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
As always, Louis C.K. tackles controversial topics in a hilarious "No Holds Barred" fashion, as well as cracking us up with issues much of the public can relate to, making us feel like he is an average guy with well above average ability to trigger laughter-induced stomach pains. C.K is one of the best comedians around today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)