Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.29

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2009
This is a superb collection of the (although arbitrarily chosen) best songs of Lila Downs, a vocalist and musician of mixed Mexican-American origin, with a wonderful voice and mastery of the vocal technique. Also, the downloading "bit" at Amazon was flawless. Both recommended - definitely!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
If this is the first of her albums you listen to and it does not get you hooked you are a lost case, if you have all of her albums you may create this compilation yourself, but you won't do a better job. I find the selection of titles and their arrangement excellent and it truly takes you to the soul of Lila Downs' music, which is beautiful, sad and passionate, joyful and dark, always full of life and surprises. The more I listen to her music the more I love it. The pieces feel very familiar to me but always retain an edge to them that keeps them alive and interesting, something I just cannot quite grasp/catch and brings me back to them, apart from the sheer liveliness and beauty of her voice and expression. If you are happy and content with life, this music will deepen and enrich your experience and joy, if you're in the dumps you will feel understood, embraced and possibly pulled out by an invisible (but audible) force. Something like that.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This is an easy listening album, with a wide variety of styles.
While some of it probably is the best of Lila Downs, I'm not sure that every track qualifies.
That's not to say that there are any 'bad' tracks, just that some aren't quite as good as others.
There are some real gems, like the haunting 'Llorona', and the superb 'Naila', while the bilingual 'Perhaps' wouldn't be out of place in a 1950's Havana nightclub.
Less spectacular are 'El Venadito' which has a bouncy tune, but is sung in a voice that sounds like an Anime cartoon character.
Lila uses a similar voice in 'Canción Mixteca' which is also bilingual, but includes verses in one of the indigenous Mexican dialects.
'La Cucaracha' is a hippy, trippy kind of song, appropriate to its subject, Marijuana.
The other high spot is 'La Cumbia de Mole', which praises a traditional Mexican dish, in a style which mixes traditional and modern.
I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this album but, if you're not sure, do a search on YouTube and listen to some tracks first or, for the price, do what I did, take a chance and just buy it :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 June 2010
Wonderful, wonderful!! this is my first CD of Lila Downs and I can't listen enough!! So glad I bought it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2016
I bought this after becoming addicted to her CD Pecados y Milagros. This is a decent retrospective of her work up to that 2010 breakthrough album, but not including it, so okay to have both.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
If you like moody latino music and have a knowledge of Spanish then this is for you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2016
Wonderful energetic voice, great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
lila is grate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Fantastico
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)