Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 June 2017
One of my all time favourite films. Outstanding great British actors who I could watch over and over and still enjoy every minute.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Earthy and sometimes depressing insight into new town living for certain people.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
A must watch don't blink, especially at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2010
Eran Creevy produces the goods in this charming little film. I have read a number of reviews that criticize this film for not delivering the same amount of guns, bats and beatings per minute as your average British gangster flick but the beauty of Shifty is that it doesn't have to. The joint leads in this film deliver concise believable character portrayals the story, whilst contrived in places is rich with detail and intelligently structured. This film is well worthy of a place in your favorite DVD storage area.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2017
Very good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2010
This is a classic example of what it is that makes British cinema so brilliant. This is not high octane cinema; the characters are subtly understated, compared with what we are used to from American cinema, and they become all the more believable and convincing for that. This adds greater weight and credibility to the plot which builds steadily around the twin themes of friendship and a compromised drugs deal, cranking up the suspense and keeping it going to a satisfying end. Writer and director, Eran Creevy, is one to watch out for. He is already in talks with Ridley Scott and we are sure to hear more from him.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 January 2010
It's not very often I feel this way about a movie, but after watching Shifty, I was really left wondering if this was a good movie or not? On one hand, I really like the friendship both Shifty and Chris make, but on the other hand this film is really slow for the sort of action you expect from dodgy, gritty movies from the UK, and with the premise of dealers working in dodgy estates where things do get heated, but really this film didn't really get to the highs they made it out to be.

Riz Ahmed is excellent as Shifty and does play the role well, but Daniel Mays wasn't that great, nether was Jay Simpson, a builder who's hard drug problem has landed himself into bother, and the role of the others were so mediocre it was a bit boring to say the least.

Shifty is a strange movie, you either like it or don't, but with me I was just left in the middle ground, so that's why I would suggest renting this before buying it, as it's a bit of an acquired taste. I like the way they went for an intelligent guy who just didn't deliver; that was a good move, but otherwise it's a bit slow - and at the end you really don't care whether Shifty does go or stay.

The extras are not bad for this blu-ray, you get commentary from the director and Riz, who plays Shifty, a behind the scenes look at the film; a music video with Plan B and Sway (which was OK) and a lot more stuff, including a sampler of the soundtrack, which I didn't understand, as most of it was in the film anyway! Eran Ceevy has put on some promos so we can see his work.

Not a bad Blu-ray, the sound was pretty good with it's 5.1 mix, but the video was not up to a good bitrate, but I guess this was due to compression. Don't get me wrong, the picture is good, but I would have liked to see higher bitrates like 25MB/s - but that's not really the issue, and the film looks pretty good on any screen.

So-so, definitely rent before buying though!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2012
I liked this film, it is a good story set in the suburbs and the seedy world of crack cocaine, lowlife, money and greed. The acting is good, Riz Ahmed and Daniel Mays put in good performances, but to be fair the whole cast are good.

Shifty is a good film and well worth renting or buying the DVD. When you take a look at some of the rubbish that comes from Hollywood, we need the Cinemas to start showing some of these low budget British films that are sadly overlooked by our theatres. It is ridiculous to think that in the sixties we had more choice in cinemas than we do today. All we get where I live is two multiscreen theatres totalling 20 screens showing tripe or kids stuff most of the time.

At £100k this film was made for less than even a small Hollywood production spend on their star's chauffer driven cars, or what Bernie Eccleston's brats spend on champagne.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 January 2016
This 2008 British Urban drama follows Chris [Daniel Mays], after 4 years away has settled into ‘typical’ adult life complete with mortgage, but now returns to where he grew up and is shocked to discover that his best mate Shifty [Riz Ahmed] has been dealing cocaine for some time. The pair spend the next 24 hours together, with Chris watching Shifty as he deals to a variety of increasingly desperate customers supplied by the double dealing Glen. But why did Chris leave and what brings him back?
Well filmed and with decent characters and unlike most films dealing with drugs, gangsters and family problems, this didn’t resort to back alleys and seedy rooms, as the estates used all look pretty average helping to keep it more real than most. Also Shifty isn’t your usual smack head, he’s actually educated and had plenty of choices. This isn’t a brilliant film but it is good at capturing themes of friendship, loyalty and the shock value of seeing how past acquaintances have turned out.
The single disc loads to 3 trailers then goes to main menu offering play, scene select, extra features [commentary, making of, behind the scenes, music videos, soundtrack sampler and trailer] and set up [5.1/2.0].
With scenes of drug usage, dealing and plenty of casual swearing this is an undoubted 15. Shot in 18 days on a £100,000 budget, its another example of what can be done with little money and the booming bass in one scene works really well in 5.1. However it does have a really relaxed pace to it and will not please action fans, and although I found it compulsive viewing, I found myself struggling to give full marks until the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)