Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2009
This series is a brilliant idea introducing listeners to music from across the world that they are very unlikely to hear anywhere else. But beware - one man's wailing may be another man's great song! I tend to prefer up tempo music and the first CD opens thrillingly with a Tex-Mex rocker El Gatillo by Calexico followed by La Vida Trombola by Manu Chao. The CD cover describes the process of choosing the songs and then says that a running order naturally suggests itself. To my ears this gives a selection of dirges all together on parts of the 2nd CD and I found it very hard listening. No doubt they are all good songs taken in isolation.....but together? The UK selected song is 'Hong Kong' by Gorillaz. Charlie Gillett no doubt revels in his ability to clutch the obscure but I do wonder how much better the selections could have been from other countries if this is presented as the best effort from the UK.

Beauty is in the ear of the beholder and any praise or condemnation of this twin CD will be very much a personal view. I don't think I have ever been so excited by the start of a CD and yet so disappointed by the end. More than most CDs, I think it is wise to listen to samples before deciding whether to splash your cash!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
A superb double album CD set, with a great range of excellent pieces of music....tremendous quality & variety, really energising but also thoughtful: one of the best purchases I have made in a long time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
always the best compilation albums Charlie Gillett has done it again. While not the best of the last decade this is still an excellent introduction to the years best albums in the world genre
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
In a word--disappointing.
I realize it's all subjective, but for me there isn;t a single track I would call memorable. Having been thrilled with previous compilations from Charlie Gillett--namely World 2004 and world2006, I was hoping for more of the same,ie, more European/latin American. Please Charlie, for 2010, could you find more Fanfare Ciocarlia and really spoil me with more helpings of Ry Cooder. His,'Muy Fifi' is a knockout! Ed. Ashmore.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
"The press release boasts 34 artists from 34 countries, which is admirably democratic but hardly the point. The great thing about BBC DJ Charlie Gillett's essential annual compilations is that they function equally well as a primer for world-music beginners, and a place for the seasoned expert to find new treasures. So there's familiar names such as Miriam Makeba as well as relative newcomers such as Afro-Peruvian sonic cubists Radiokijada, and thunderous Hungarian violinist Felix Laiko." Independent on Sunday, 12th July 2009

"Hard to believe that Charlie Gillett's annual global compilation is celebrating its 10th birthday. Always a useful alternative to a weekend at Womad, the playlist looks lively this year. Fans of Afro-Peruvian music will be glad to see that Novalima and the electronica outfit Radiokijada have made the cut. Hip-hop may be gaining ground across Africa, but Gillett's ear is drawn to richer soundscapes, as represented by, for instance, the Gangbé Brass Band, from Benin, and the vibrant Angolan veteran Bonga. Gorillaz are among the infectious left-field choices, and the joyous presence of the Afro-Spanish diva Buika and the enigmatic Malian Rokia Traoré are testament to the fact that world music makes 99% of pop sound tepid." Sunday Times, 5th July 2009

"Charlie GIllett scoops up yet again the tracks you loved but never got round to owning and those that would otherwise have entirely slipped past you unnoticed like so many logs floating down the Niger in the middle of the night. The fact is that most people in this `world music' business can get away with specialising and roping in others to cover areas they are not so interested in. Not so the DJ who needs to play across the board. Charlie's profound love of music and sonic curiosity stands him in good stead though for the job at hand." Fly Global Music, 25th July 2009

"Charlie GIllett scoops up yet again the tracks you loved but never got round to owning and those that would otherwise have entirely slipped past you unnoticed like so many logs floating down the Niger in the middle of the night. The fact is that most people in this `world music' business can get away with specialising and roping in others to cover areas they are not so interested in. Not so the DJ who needs to play across the board. Charlie's profound love of music and sonic curiosity stands him in good stead though for the job at hand." Evening Standard, July 2009
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
some good un's and some that take time to grow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)