Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2003
Wonderful! Beautiful! This is what Orbital are all about!
This is music that draws you right in. Where some of Orbital's later work makes you sit back and ponder it critically ("Hmm, it's quite good, but..."), this album just grabs hold of you!
Many of the tunes merge into each other, creating an ongoing tapestry of sound. It always feels totally organic, never self-conscious or calculated, and powerful yet soothing at the same time.
Admittedly there are some stupid samples near the start of the album. What were they thinking? : ( But just try to ignore that. It can be quite easily detached from the rest of the album. Snivilisation is a far better example of the intelligent use of samples.
This album is a treasure! No nonsense, just giving the people what they want! Great beats, great melodies, it's all good!
For anyone who's heard The Altogether but hasn't heard this yet, listen to this and you'll understand why the Altogether met such a lukewarm reception!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
Orbital produced two great albums when they started their career, and although it has been up and down since then, this seems to be the album that everyone knows best.
Also known as 'The Brown Album', it continues where 'Orbital' left off, but the direction is probably a little more towards conventional techno, albeit with a much wider range of influence behind it. The rhythms aren't too conventional here, and it was the start of the break from pure dance music and a nod in the direction of experimental music.
'Lush 3-1' and 'Lush 3-2' are the standout tracks for me, but when you listen to this album, you don't really think about separate tracks too much, as the CD needs to be appreciated as a whole rather than concentrating on any of it's constituent tracks.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2007
Been having a look through the amazon reviews of my fav and not so fav albums. Orbital II is definitely up in my top 20 ... and possibly top 10 when the mood takes. I'm doing this review both to throw in my tuppence, but also to get the overall rating pushing more towards the deserved result of 5/5. I ended up leaving listening to Orbital after "middle of nowhere". For me, the Brown Album marks the pinnacle of their career. It's cohesive and consistent. Genuinely ground breaking - both in how it pushed the dance/techno scene and demonstrating a maturity in the genre that could span an entire album and bring in new listeners. I can't emphasise enough - there is not one dud track on this album. It's 16 years old (eek!) and it just hasn't aged! If you don't own it BUY IT! NOW!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I have never listened to this before even tho it was originally released quite a long time ago.Ive listened to this album a few times now and i'm quite impressed with it. Lovely and ethereal.Im sure it will become one of my frequently listened to CDs :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
This album formed the backdrop to my teenage youth and for me is just Techno bliss. Orbital are simply the best, the pioneers of this kind of music, they are the "Beatles" of Techno! "Lush" is perfect, but for me "Remind" has the best build up, analogue waves intertwining you can virtually see this music as well as hear it, best listening through some really good headphones, close your eyes and you can see the sine waves bouncing off each other with lots of attack and release. This is by far the best Orbital album, followed by Snivilisation, Orbital I and Insides.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This album took me by surprise, not only because I hadnt really heard of Orbital before, but because no other album is quite as good as an "album" as this one. That is, one you listen to all the way through every time, not one you "liked this or that track" off. Quite simply put, if I want to listen to some Orbital, I never waste time debating which song to put on, just stick this on and get on with it!

I could go into each song and give individual ratings but to be honest the whole is greater than the sum of its parts, not only as an overall album but the way the tracks subtly blend from one to the next creating differences which aren't massive, but when you listen to say, the second track then skip forward a few, the change is quite large.

In summary then; get this album, whack it on and leave it on. Just listen to it. All the way through. More than once. I just wish there were other albums of similar quality by them, or maybe I haven't looked hard enough yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2001
This is easily one of the best dance albums ever to be created. It combines pounding techno drum beats with hugely atmospheric and chilled out samples to create the best dance you'll ever hear. I'm not saying this is better than their other offerings, which are all brilliant, but I wouldn't really classify them as dance, more 'electronica'. There is only 1 bad track, which is 'walk now', so just skip that one. Tracks 3-6 are all mixed into each other, and are just absolutely incredible. There's also the mesmerisingly beautiful 'halcyon' which I think is the best dance song ever made. Basically, this album is fantastic, and you can always find it for cheap, so no-one should be without it, unless they have an absolute hatred of dance music. and even then they should at least borrow it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Albums one and two (affectionately known as the green and brown albums) are milestone releases, bringing us a fresh new look at what had become tired old electronica. Out with all that weary predictable stuff like chord progressions, string pads, and electronic choirs - and in with bright, sharp industrial melodies, brimming percussion lines, and infinitely unusual track titles. This is electronica as it should be, fresh and original and certainly not just a copy of some other band or artist. A real shame the brothers just gave up and started pressing buttons at the end of 1990s - monkeys throwing banana skins at phone boxes could have done better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2003
Songs sound better structured than before and have a much more lasting affect on the listener.
'Lush 3-1' is one of the best songs on the album, but for the real highlight listen to 'Halcyon'. This is one of my favourite Orbital tracks. Starting off with a solo sample of Kirsty Hawkshaw, the song builds into one of those memorable songs you will be humming for days.
A great album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Varied soundscapes and amazing samples make this a firm favourite of any music lovers CD collection. The stand out track for me would have to be Impact, such a groover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)