Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
87
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2009
This two-disc version of `From Elvis In Memphis' collects together the `From Elvis In Memphis' and `Back In Memphis' albums, both of which were derived from Elvis's celebrated 1969 recording sessions in Memphis. Leftovers and singles taped at those sessions are also included. I won't appraise the musical merits of these songs because they have been eulogised already by many people. Instead, I'll address if it's worth upgrading the previous inclusive Memphis 1969 compilation, the double CD set `Suspicious Minds'. Despite my misgivings when this latest project was first announced, it is phenomenally good. The sound is very classy, yet the rawness and emotionality that underpinned the greatness of the original album are somehow enhanced. The overall timbre is crystal clear yet full of warmth. But what tingles the spine the most is the detail now plainly audible in Elvis' voice - I've never before heard him sounding so evocative, so nuanced and so engaged on these recordings. State-of-the-art audio software is of little or no value unless the engineers operating it are musically literate. The technicians who prepared this new set have truly picked up on the honesty, humanity and simplicity in the music, and have brilliantly brought those key elements to the fore. Closing the final disc with the singles means that the set ends on a run of mostly good songs. Some of the mono single mixes are very distinctive particularly `Kentucky Rain', its ending shorn of overdubbed strings - I'd not heard it in this form since dispensing with the old UK vinyl compilation `Hits of the 70s' half a lifetime ago. The FEIM Legacy Edition doesn't contain the out-takes found on the `Suspicious Minds' set nor its informal fragments. But this is easily one of the most intelligent and tasteful remastering jobs I have ever heard, the enormity of Elvis's talent is plain for anyone to hear, and I would urge all his fans to check it out for themselves.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2004
A classic Elvis Presley album, and indeed one of his all-time greatest, "From Elvis in Memphis" presents the harvest of two recording marathons in early 1969 at Chips Moman's American Studios in Memphis. Following hot on the heels of the '68 Comeback Special, the Memphis sessions produced a string of hits and sterling cuts, which helped to reestablish Elvis as one of the leading figures in rock culture. Even now, some 35 years after date, there isn't a weak number on this disc, with Elvis returning to his roots of blues, rhythm 'n' blues, country and gospel, and blending it all into his charateristically eclectic mix, as only he could, yet with a force and conviction which hadn't been heard for years. The way he turns the old Eddy Arnold country hit-tune "I'll Hold You In My Heart" into a powerful blues cut which doesn't let go, is just one example. The opening "Wearin' That Loved on Look", "Long Black Limousine", "Power Of My Love", and "Any Day Now" are all magificent achievements.
For the current CD release six more songs from the Memphis sessions (the hits "Suspicious Minds", "Kentucky Rain", "Don't Cry Daddy", among others) were added.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
One of the greatest albums of all time, an album which cannot be classified into a genre of music, this album has everything from Rock N Roll to early R&B, Country, and pop.
and for only £6.99 is amazing.
In 1969 this album ranked 2nd in the 'Best Album 1969' award behind The Beatles 'Abbey Road'.
Elvis spent January/February 1969 recording 32 songs in the Memphis studio in downtown memphis, meanwhile over in London the Beatles were recording their last album tracks for 'Let It Be'.
17 of the tracks Elvis recorded during those sessions are released here, they are considered to be the best of the 32 songs recorded, the next album 'Back In Memphis' which contains 10 more songs from these sessions is arguably as good.
The bonus tracks are singles released during 1969/1970, all gaining good chart positions, the greatest being 'Suspicious Minds' reaching #1 in the US and peaking at #2 in the UK (behind the dreadful 'two little boys' by rolf harris). 'Don't Cry Daddy' peaked at #6, while 'in The Ghetto' Peaked at #3, 'Kentucky Rain' peaked at #16, 'Mama Liked The Roses' was the B-side to 'The Wonder Of You'.
The Album is full of non-stop classics including 'In The Ghetto' and the relativley unknown stunner 'Any Day Now' which easily matches Suspicious Minds.
My conclusion is go out and buy this album if you haven't already got it, its absolutley fantastic all the way through and like I already said, it was voted in the best album awards with The Beatles 'Abbey Road' as the best albums of 1969, but they are still fantastic.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
I bought this CD with trepidation, I was wondering that is can't be any better than his previous songs. I am just totally blown away by this double disc CD. For the casual Elvis fan, this CD sees Elvis in another unique musical dimension. The tracks 'wearin that loved on look', 'Power of my love' and Black Limousine are totally mind blowing and are worth the whole album alone. I wished Elvis had sung these songs at his live shows ! I would go far and say, some of his B sides and lesser known songs are even better than his famous songs !
I was surprised that he had such a diverse his musical and vocal range. He sings R&B, soul and pop at his most sensual and sexiest, and country at his heartbreaking mold. This man is a genius, he deserved much better at the time of the original release.
This double CD is a 'must have' in any Elvis collection. Also, the booklet has fantastic photos of the King and good history of how the memphis sessions came about. Its great value for money ! You will not regret it !
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2002
This new-digtally remastered version of Elvis' best album, actually tops the original because of the half-dozen bonus tracks.
Actually, "From Elvis in Memphis" is in my opinion, the best album ever made. Nothing can top the flawless rock, blues and country songs magnificently performed by the King.
The legendary tracks, such as "Suspicious Minds", "In The Ghetto", "Kentucky Rain" and "Don't Cry Daddy" are all here; but it's the flawless mastery of a man who genuinely could do it all, that makes this album essential.
What makes this better than "Sgt Pepper", "Revolver" or "Pet Sounds"? I hear you ask.........well, Elvis flawless performances, without the need to experiment with sounds, tinker with effects or create psychadelic lyrics. Lennon or McCartney could'nt perform blues or country, whilst Dylan could'nt sing rock or Jagger not a ballad singer; none of them could sing gospel; whilst Elvis Presley easily could do it all, effortlessly from his first to last recordings.
The likes of "Suspicious Minds" and "The Ghetto" speak for themselves; whilst "Stranger in My Own Home Town" is a blues masterpiece straight out of the Mississippi delta and "Wearin' That Loved On Look" is a lesson in how to sing a rock song.
But there's country and gospel laded R 'n' B such as a blistering version of "I'm Movin On" or "Without Love."
I cannot recommend this album enough; it was #1 in 1969 and a re-release this good, of such a stunning, stunning album is essential for any collection of casual music fans of avid fanatics.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
This Is The Album That Brought Elvis Back To Life And What An Album It Is , Powerful And Strong Songs That Would Stand The Solid And Unforgettable Test Of Time And Has Become One Of The Favorite Elvis Albums From All Generations Of Fans All Over The World, We Have All Kinds Of Musical Emotions Going On Here In This Great Album ..From ANGER, MOODY, REFLECTIVE , SADNESS AND DOWNRIGHT SOPPY LOVELINESS , Powerful Tracks Like Power Of My Love And Wearin" That Loved On Look, Reflective Sadness Of Long Black Limousine And The Heartache Of The Crime And Poverty Of In The Ghetto . Is Truly Amazing Demanding Vocals Pushed To The Limits But You Know What Our Man Does It With Great Style With A Voice That No Mere Mortal Can Ever Achieve , So With Album And Also The Double Vinyl Album MEMPHIS TO VEGAS/VEGAS TO MEMPHIS That Was To Be Released The Following Year , We Elvis Fans Were In For A Fantastic Whole New Journey For The Next Few Years , Exciting Times Lay Ahead . Fantastic Album, I Genuinely Recommend This Album So Highly , It Is An Essential Album For Your Collection. BUY IT
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Elvis Presley's 1969 triumph - FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS 2-CD gets the SONY LEGACY treatment culminating in a total smorgasboard of treats for the listener -- from the R&B clout of "Wearin' That Loved On Look" with gorgeous gospel piano, to the majestic, gospel soul of "Long Black Limousine" the quality never drops on this superb release sounding all the better for its stunning audio upgrade.

More standouts are the blues power of "Power Of My Love," side two's bluesy romp - "Stranger In My Hometown" and "From A Jack To A King's" obvious sing-a-long charm. Additionally there's wonderful sitar on "You'll Think Of Me."

The CD finishes with 10 classic Presley singles all recorded in mono: "Suspicious Minds," "Kentucky Rain," "Rubberneckin" and "Don't Cry Daddy" - there's to many highlights to mention here but definitely something for everyone in a classic 2-CD package.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This is one of Elvis Presley's finest recording sessions and is further proof of his mind boggling versatility.

The year was 1969. Elvis was 34, had been married for two years, and now a father to 8 month old baby daughter Lisa-Marie. The conveyor belt Hollywood movie years from 1960 to 1969 had been a drain on his professional status, self-esteem, and reputation as rock's greatest star. But all this was about to change as he sealed up his acting career for good with a poignantly titled film called Change of Habit.

Spurred on by the highly acclaimed 1968 television special aired a month earlier, Elvis walked into American Sound Studios in Memphis Tennessee and laid down some of his best tracks. Directed by the studio owner Chips Moman and produced by Felton Jarvis - both highly accomplished in the music industry - and backed by some of the finest musicians available, Elvis had more than enough enthusiasm and energy to get the entire session wrapped up in three separate visits to the studio totalling 18 days between January and February 1969.

The resulting output was dynamic. Though the original 1969 release of From Elvis in Memphis is already highly acclaimed, I can assure you that at least 34 out of the 36 tracks on this Legacy Edition are `masterpieces'. I cannot stress enough the brilliance and importance of this colossal album. Other than creating evergreen songs like `In The Ghetto', `Kentucky Rain', and `Suspicious Minds', just wait till you hear the remaining tracks. It is Elvis at his most soulful and like you have never heard him before.

This is undoubtedly one of Elvis Presley's most important work and should rank with the brilliance of his world changing 1950s recordings and the early sixties sessions. I guarantee you hours of exhilarating listening pleasure and a totally different Elvis from the one you may know.

This double cd set is of great sound quality and comes in an attractive (but fragile) gatefold package. Every music fan should own a copy. Buy it or plead guilty!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2002
From Elvis In Memphis is an amazingly good album, full of excellent performances by Elvis Presley at his very best.
It is the best album ever made, God knows why it's not 10 or 15 times platinum.
Of course the songs are outstanding, plus bonus tracks from Elvis other 1969 album 'Back in Memphis' and 'Suspicious Minds' which was never on an original album?
But this is just such a great album, thoughourly deserving a push at the charts or being more prominently sold/placed in shops.
The likes of 'Gentle On My Mind' far eclipses Dean Martin and Glen Campbells versions as does a superior performance of 'Without Love' again much much better than the excellent Platters version and Tom Jones's.
But the lesser known 'Wearin' That Loved On Look' is stuuning rock music with a tinge of rythm and blues; 'Stranger In My Own Home Town' is blues; blues the equivelant of his 1960 'Reconsider Baby' and of course from one of the greatest blues performers that ever lived.
I can't fault this CD, one reviewer said that this is the Casablanca of music; son, thats an understatement, this is Elvis f*~#><ng Presley the King of Rock 'n' Roll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2002
The best album the King ever made, and just possibly the best album of all time, is From Elvis in Memphis.
Yes, it should be better known, but tracks like "In the Ghetto" from this album have become legendary.
Every track is a masterpiece and as an album is the blueprint for adult orientated rock albums such as Blood on the Tracks.
Amazingly the masterful Suspicious Minds was never on this album when first released, but now it's here. And along with tracks from "Back in Memphis" (Elvis other album from 1969) this is the definitive version.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)