Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
23
Octahedron (HMV)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.48+ £1.26 shipping


on 9 July 2010
Firstly, songcraft on this album is their best yet. By this I mean, giving each song what it needs, to be the best it can be. No less, no more, no filler. This is a really hard thing to come by in prog rock where "tripping for tripping's sake" can and often will become self-indulgent. A mere 3:38 song on a Mars Volta album must have blown hard-core fans' minds... But to me this is one of the best prog rock albums ever - we always knew these guys know how to write music, but here they have so well executed the concepts from start to finish. It is still slightly baffling that they aren't as famous as Radiohead or Tool with whom I think they are now easily musical equals.

Secondly, as another reviewer pointed out, the sonics are better balanced and the production is superb. For example, previous albums tend to - not always - have too much much treble (particularly on the guitar). Listeners without a burning desire to give themselves tinnitus while playing music full-blast will be happy about this, because you want to hear the awesomeness of all of the components of the band interacting together without some massively overloaded high-end frequencies on guitar or vocals destroying your inner ear at the same time. To mix and produce these guys must be a total nightmare with so many instruments competing for a look-in.

So, along with the overall greatness of the music, the interesting lyrics, good balance of song vibes and fantastic production makes this an eminently listenable album and I'd highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in rock music, let alone genuine prog rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2009
A veer towards the mainstream perhaps, generally with softer melodies and less experimental sounds. But this is still the Mars Volta and maintains their character. The vocals are unusual but beautiful. The melodies are excellent, though the first 90 seconds of the album could have been ommitted. This is still the band that has brought me more joy than any other. What will they do next?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2016
It's a hugely ambitious record. But not as ambitious as dodecahedron.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
BEST SERVICE AND BEST ITEM. WILL BUY AGAIN.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2010
In my opinion their best album since Deloused... The 1 and half minutes of silence at the start are worth the wait for what is to follow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2015
Love Mars Volta
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2010
This CD is worth a listen and some passages are good. Not something I'd listen too very often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2014
Well I listened
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2009
I never thought they could record something as good as Frances the Mute again but they have and how. This album is quite different from others in that it is lighter in touch. Only three tracks are really trade mark Volta here. Lots of atmosphere and lots of keyboards, some great atmospheric Floyd sixties sounds in the background, great singing and one hell of a great solo towards the end of the album on possibly the best track they have ever recorded.

One great album by a brilliant and inventive band, I did miss the Saxophone but we have that on other albums and its really nice to hear a band willing to change.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2010
Octahedron is the definition of a grower, each listen brings the album closer to your heart and rewards you with a deeper and fuller appreciation of the superb music and lyrics on offer.
The unusual thing however; is that with any other Mars Volta cd the repeated listenings unveil hidden saxophone parts, guitar licks you hadn't heard before or hidden layers of vocals that you missed while concentrating on the drums.
With Octahedron its what you don't hear which becomes so impressive with each new listen. The focus, clarity and purity of this album is what's breath taking; The band likened it to an acoustic album not because of the instrumentation but because of the stripped down feel and intimacy that this record has.
Opener 'Since We've Been Wrong,' may feel like a ponderous Televators-alike when you first skeptically listen to the album, but the haunting vocal performance and unusually decipherable lyrics will at first challange your skepticism, impress you and finally make you fall in love.
That is the perfect example of why this album is so magnificent, songs like 'With Twilight As My Guide,' and 'Halo of Nembutals,' insinuate themselves into your brain and slowly wrap themselves around the pleasure centres.
The album is however no all-ballad oddity with no power, single 'Cotapaxi,'is a frantic punky song that would fit right in on The Bedlam in Goliath and album closer 'Luciforms,' features an impressive Omar solo along with some fine complicated material that stops the album from feeling like a complete departure from tradition.
Some fans may be dismissive of this record because they wanted something brash, noisy, busy and confusing but were instead treated to the most deliberate and thoughtful Mars Volta album to date and that's the great thing about the band, you never know what to expect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Amputechture
£8.68
Noctourniquet
£13.05

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)