Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
74
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:£5.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
I love metroid and other M does not dissapoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
Great game, was bashed for no spectacular reason.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
does not work on my older wii
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Honestly I think this game is great. Sure it isen`t as good as the metroid prime trilogy or super metroid but it is still metroid, and a very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Jhon's son is writing.I liked this game because it had good graphics for the wii,it had a good story,it had good controls and it was just plain fun.I don't know why it has so much hate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Simply put, I enjoyed this more than Metroid Prime!
I love the fact it's a side scrolling game again, you can run towards and away from the screen too, but the camera angle is still mostly fixed.
You can go into first person mode, like on Prime, by pointing the Wiimote at the screen, this helps you search for things (though there is no scanning of terminals and all sorts like there was in Prime) as well as attack enemies.

Controlling the game can be a bit strange, like mentioned above, going into first person view is easy enough to do, but you cant move in it, you can only look around and lock onto enemies, but the game does slow down slightly when you first switch to give you a second to get orientated.

Samus' usual array of weapons turn up, though gone are the days of blasting away enemies hoping to get more health and rockets, now you can refill your rockets at any stage and refill a part of your life bar when near death, but takes several seconds to do leaving you vulnerable.
Saving stations are frequent to refill you completely when needed.

Level design is mostly straightforward, you may get lost slightly but nothing like in Prime, you don't have to backtrack for ages to get to your next objective, also, there are no doors that respond to certain missiles, they are either open or locked (to be unlocked later in the game) or a bomb will get rid of them.

Combat is fun as you can now jump on enemies heads to blast them, or, if they are stunned, run up to them and perform a death move, which can be satisfying to watch.

The whole game and story is more cinematic, told through some pretty good CG cut scenes, sometimes telling you of Samus' past or just what is happening at the moment. Yes Samus does speak, mostly through her own thoughts and sometimes to other people, some people may have a problem with this but I don't, it makes it a better game and gives her more character, her voice acting can be a bit dodgy at times, but that's rare.

One of the main reasons I didn't like Prime that much was platforming doesn't work for me in FPS, it works far better in a side scroller, as it does in Other M.

In short, buy it now!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
People seem to forget that Metroid was a side scroller!! I had the original all them years ago on the NES. it was a great game, so is this. It don't deserve any hate, in fact its more closer to the "true" metroid games than the Prime games EVER was. Lots of people forget this and i hate that there ignorence gets this game poor reviews. If you want a metroid game like the good old originals, get this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
This is a game that I picked up but took a long time to get around to since it does have a shakey reputation, a reputation I don't think it deserves.

Firstly, the gameplay is just great. If you've played the original 2D Metroid games then this will feel familiar as it has defiantly taken a lot of inspiration from those titles rather than the more recent 'Prime' series.
It also tries to include first person views and aiming at certain points, though these can be a little hit or miss. Sometimes you have to scan the environment to continue, though you'll not really know what you're supposed to be scanning for. Aiming for targets in the environment or points of a boss can be frustrating as the aiming can be very hard to control. Thankfully it doesn't happen all that much and most of the time you're given more than enough time to aim at things, though the FPS sections would have been better left out.

Motion controls are kind of 'neat' with this game in that they're barely used. For most of the game you'll control Samus by holding the Wiimote like a NES controller using the D-pad to move and 1+2 to jump and shoot, which fits the game perfectly given how it feels like a classic Metroid game.
Hold the Wii mote in the 'waggle position' and you'll jump into first person view to look around and shoot. At first it feels a little awkward but you quickly get used to doing it and despite my distaste for the first person segments, doing this felt pretty satisfying.

The graphics are great and the design is wonderful. It does a great job of bringing the environments and characters to life in a way that really does feel like 'classic Metroid'. There's so many points that just feel like it was a remake or re-imagining of the older games, which was highly appreciated given we haven't had one of those games in a number of years.

The story was, well, it was there. The gameplay really did hold this game up.
I have to say though that I disagree with the usual complaints such as "Samus taking orders from a man" or her "being depressing". The 'orders' thing is pretty well explained and makes 100% sense with the context of the story with very few exceptions (such as the Varia suit being unused at first...Using that won't destroy the ship), it's only really 'out of character' if you expected Samus to give her superior officer the middle finger, use all her equipment anyway and end up blowing up the entire ship because the guy was right, you shouldn't have been using explosives and wave shots until you knew it was safe to do so. Her being depressing? Well, I can't really imagine her as anything else. It felt quite fitting really for an isolated lone warrior with dead parents.
No, the story was just 'average' because it simply was. Metroid games have never really had all that much story and Samus hasn't been built upon that much, so I don't really know what I was expecting...Like most Nintendo games though, I didn't buy it for the story.

But overall, it's a great game. The story isn't the greatest but I feel it's been ridiculed a lot more than it deserves and received a good deal of nitpicking. Had it have been a less renowned title, I don't think it would have been as severely bashed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 3 September 2010
The METROID franchise was slowly going astray, falling "victim" to innovations that mostly worked yet, at the same time, were turning METROID games into a typical space shooter. Don't get me wrong, I greatly enjoyed the Metroid Prime: Trilogy - it just did not give off the sense of a classic METROID game. Well, NINTENDO made sure to take care of that.

THE OTHER M is an old-school platform shooter, only equipped with the latest innovations that enhance rather than hinder the true character of the game. Samus Aran can now move in 3D (and not only in a sidescrolling manner), yet this is and feels like a classic platform game. There is some puzzle-solving and expect to spend quite some time in the form of a morphing ball, zipping through pipes, bypassing obstacles, unlocking security doors and finding powerups; and the FirstPerson perspective is still available to deliver devastating missile shots (while keeping Samus stationary and vulnerable to enemy attacks, one cannot play the game as an FPS). Nevertheless, this is an pure action-shooter game that is greatly enjoyable.

Visually this must be the best game I ever played on Wii, with beautiful and distinct environments than never get boring and never interfere with the gameplay. And, following the tradition of the classic Metroid games, the THE OTHER M experience is enhanced by great orchestral music. Nothing epic, but it sure fits the mood of the scene it accompanies.

THE OTHER M is a tad story-heavier than I would have liked and the cinematic sequences are unskipable(?) whereas, annoyingly, the story at times throws Samus in the midst of her enemies with minimal firepower and often without her Varia suit. Other than those minor complains (and it being a bit short), this is one of the best games I have ever played on a console.
I dare say, this is a title that is comparable to the monumental Super Metroid.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
Okay, I don't normally write a review this close to purchase but seeing so much negativity from the US. and various other places, I felt obliged to reassure the average gamers out there!
As a game in its own right, this is a top notch platform blaster! As an addition to the series, it may and obviously has polarized the community. I think it's important for me to address the issues that people have been having first.
POINTING: Such a major "problem" for so many people is really quite well implemented. The transition between sideways control and pointing the remote at the screen to fire missiles etc. at a locked-on point is smooth and you get used to it fairly early on. Just don't rely on it in the heat of battle until you absolutely need to to defeat the current enemy.
SHOOTING: You have something of an auto-locking system which purists say goes against the series norm, but in reality, it's the only way to implement a firing system in this format. You will soon get used to just facing the general direction and pumping away to dispatch your foes.
VOICE ACTING: Samus's voice has been deliberately chosen to deliver the sense of her loner nature and therefore unfamiliarity with dialogue. It isn't bad acting, it's been purposely detailed and it's not THAT important a feature of ANY game which is 90% gaming and 10% talking.
CONTROLS: Use of just the Wii remote is somewhat foreign at first, if you're used to playing the 3D games but anyone who has played sidescrollers, whether of the series or not, will pick up the intricasies in no time. I have yet to find a situation which necessitated the use of the Nunchuck over the D-Pad. Sure, it's a little less accurate in the wider sections but you still have 8 directions at your disposal.
MUSIC: Yeah, you'll have to go a long way to match the majestic scores of the Prime series but there is an atmospheric air about the levels and although it could have done with a little more memorability, it shouldn't detract from your enjoyment and involvement in the intensity of battle.
So, that out of the way, what you are left with is an altogether different animal to the 3D games of the series but an intuitive blending of styles which, for the most part, has been pulled off with a good deal of accuracy. For newcomers, this will be a challenge without any shadow of doubt. I've been gaming for nearly 30 years now and I still died several times against the same enemy until I worked out what to do! For me, this makes for a good experience, as just breezing past the opposition is no real fun at all, whereas, using your noggin gives you a greater sense of achievement. Yes, the path to the end is relatively short and linear but you will have many a good battle on the way and although there is a sense of repetition for some of the enemies, the new death-blow sequences are really cool and different for each enemy.
So, if you can rent this one, it may be the way to go first with all the different opinions out there. Everyone is entitled to their own and a few will disagree with some of what I've said here, no doubt...fact is...I enjoyed it...end of!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)