Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 October 2017
Amazon customers beware! This is not a book in the normal sense of the word. It is essentially a print-out of a raw computer file; indeed it contains half a page of file information between the contents list and the start of the main text! Needless to say, it is not properly formatted, there are no proper chapter breaks or section headings, and it looks weird because there are extra carriage returns in the middle of many of the lines. Unless you are desperate for a reference copy of Mere Christianity that you can scribble on, you will probably be inclined to throw this product straight in the bin. The only good thing about it is the cover photo, which belies the quality of the printed text.

Mere Christianity is a superb (if slightly dated) book, and remains essential reading for anyone exploring the basics of Christianity. But make sure to buy a properly produced book rather than this shameful product of the computer age.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2016
This is a brilliant book and has stood the test of time. If anyone claims to be an atheist...they should read this.
If anyone says they are agnostic..they should read this.
If anyone thinks anything at all..they should read this. Next to the bible it has to be the best apologetic of Christianity.
But ultimately no one will be convinced of anything unless they are genuinely open and ready to be surprised by God.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2017
I bought this to re-read before passing on to a friend. While Lewis' exposition of the Christian faith is as unarguable as ever, this edition was not a proper book. It is clearly a download of the text which has been printed with erratic & irregular page & paragraph breaks, missing punctuation and spelling errors. Lewis would be spinning in his grave (were he not rejoicing in heaven). It was ok for me to re-read but I have bought a proper copy to pass on to a friend
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2017
As an atheist who has seen first hand all the good Christian values have brought to societies, I was expecting something that would bridge the gap between my thinking this was more out of the innate good in men and the impact of "god" in this outcome. With the lateral thinking in this book, you find you're met half way, some perspectives given lead some credence to the argument of a creator, though some come across as a little holier than thou. Overall a good argument for the Christian way of life for those already converted, a little preachy for those who aren't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
Beautiful, simple, complicated and annoyingly honest. A must read for anyone wanting to explore Christianity.

I've been hearing recommendations of this book for a long time. And now that I have read it I understand why. Extremely intelligent, annoyingly honest and beautifully put together by an amazingly imaginative mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2017
Remarkably up to date yet also a product of its time period having been composed and written through the tragedies of WWII.

I don't fully agree with all of his theology but that is irrelevant. The thought sand passions expressed I. This book are a great starting point for any believer with questions about the subjects covered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2016
Initially when I started reading this book I was a little disappointed as it seemed very basic, howver the content deepens as you get into it. Over the years I have read many articles quoting this work, but never actually read the original, Having done so, my only regret is that I didnt read it years ago
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2014
what can be said of c. s. lewis, the man is just brilliant. if i were to be honest, were i not already a Christian, i doubt i would have found his arguments persuasive, however i don't think this is really the point of the book. he gives brilliant insight to the basic Christian doctrines and illuminates on them perfectly. while i dont think his argument for God is massively persuasive, it is hard to find a chink in the armour that is his justification of what the Christian should believe. really enjoyed, a must read regardless of beliefs, it is a really helpful insight as to why Christians believe the basic outline of what they believe. also really well read, great performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2015
I have frequently given this as a gift. It is simply the most accessible sensible introduction to traditional Christianity. Some of the social presumptions are a little dated now, and you may find Lewis's views on the role of women questionable, but skip those pages and teh rest is great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
As a historical document I think it gives a very valuable insight into the way people thought during WWII and the immediate post-war period. As an apologetic I think it is far less effective today. I think that someone like G.B. Caird, an Oxford don, who was his contemporary, make a far more effective case for Christianity entitled The Truth of Christianity which was published in 1962. I think that Lewis' children's book are a far more effective apologetic today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)