Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2009
I loved Volume 1 (see my review of that) and this album is not only more of the same, but even better.

The song choices are amzingly clever. Nothing obvious and yet you'll know pretty much every song here.

I've been playing this at home and my teenage kids think it is genuine 'cool 60's music' as opposed to the cover versions that it actually is.

I love the way the voices work together but most of all I love the Byrds-esq guitars. The Tom Petty cover here is epic.

Buy this album. It does not disappoint.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Not as good as Vol 1 (in my opinion) but an interesting choice of songs. Susanna Hoffs is an excellent singer who somehow has not had the great success she perhaps could have expected post Bangles. Someday is a well crafted album and better than Under the Covers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2009
This is an improvement on Volume 1, and I love that one.

Great playing, great singing - Sweets' voice really complements Hoffs. Whilst the songs are not new (which is fairly obvious from both the title and track listing!), they are great cover versions of fantastic songs.

One minor gripe (which does not remove from the enjoyment of the album), why is the deluxe version only available as a download, as there are some great tracks on that too? Some of us music buyers, still prefer the physical album!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Worth it just to hear Hoff's voice. Songs are musically very similar to the originals but with Susanna Hoff and Matthew Sweet's voice adding a different layering to the songs. Played to death in the car for a 9 day road trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
After 2006's under the covers vol 1, a collection of 60's classics and obscurities I was really looking forward to Vol 2.I haven't been disappointed, this time round the 7o's are the focus of sid n susies musical journey.Hearing material by the likes of Clapton,Fleetwood Mac,Carly Simon etc (Songs i've not heard in a long time)has been a total
joy.Rather than taking the material apart and reworking the arrangements
Hoffs & Sweet have used the originals,more as a labour of love of the song
and had immense fun in doing so,which is evident on listening to under the covers vol2.Highlights for me have been "Beware of Darkness", "Gimme some truth" and surprisingly a song i never really liked by an artist i've
never been a fan of. I'm talking of course about "Maggie May" by Rod Stewart.The combination of Susanna Hoffs voice (of which i'm a huge fan)
and Matthew Sweet's pop sensibilities,have got me to really like this song.Of course with a project like this there are other songs from this era i'd loved to have heard included ranging from Led Zepp to Lou Reed,The
Knack and Wings,any hopes for Vol 3 then?
Overall a pretty damn fine album well worth a listen
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
They have chosen some amazing classics to cover on this record. I love the songs and the order that has been chosen is perfect too. Great guitars and two beautiful voices to back it up!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
LOVED Vol1, didn't know if Vol2 could live up my expectations and it has.
These two voices blend incredibly together and the song choices are impeccable.
Please let there be a vol3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
works on several levels fans of the 70s, the Bangles & really works as a companion to Volume 1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Didn't think anyone could sing Maggie May like Rod... apparently Susanna Hoffs can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Buy it now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£21.77
£7.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)