Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
413
4.1 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Drop Spreader|Change
Price:£31.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2016
 Purchased to use with "EverGreen Complete 4-in-1 Lawn Care, Lawn Food, Weed and Moss Killer"
Spreader comes in pieces so requires assembling.
1) Attach wheels to bucket with - one large washer each and secured with cotter pin, clip wheel cover plates on.
2) Attach lower parts of handle through bucket, and secure with bolt and large winged nut.
3) Attach upper parts of handle to lower handle with bolts and large wing nuts (same type as used on lower so no chance of confusion)
4) Screw adjuster into mating part on top handle.

Ready to go, the lawn care product i purchased is manufactured by Scotts (same as the spreader) with the recommended feed rate being clearly shown on the back of the packet (4.5)

Good as feed does not dispense unless you walk (one wheel is a dummy and one drives the screw)
Good because you can adjust feed rate (although this is very crude)

No real negatives, i could name a few but for the price - Overall good product for the price.

See pics and videos, i have done a small video which has a slow motion section at the end which hopefully shows feed being dispensed which hopefully should upload ok to amazon server.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
An excellent product - the second one I have owned.
Lack of maintenance and poor cleaning after use was the downfall of my first one. Lawn fertiliser / weed killer is highly corrosive and the rust attacks the main centre axle. I would recommend removing and stripping the axle prior to use and coating liberally with grease prior to re-assembly. Hose down with pressure washer after use to remove all traces of fertiliser and re-grease frequently.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Used it for lawn sand. much easier than doing it bay hand. I set it to 7 and it was too fast, I would say a 6 would be better.
It recommends removing the spindle and oiling before putting it away. this is easy - just bang it out with a plastic hammer.
Washed it down and dried it and sprayed with oil.
All back together waiting for next year.
It probably took longer to strip it and re build it than it took to do my lawn.
This is not a bad thing, it makes doing the lawn a breeze and it was quite easy to strip and re build.
Am I glad I bought it - yes.
Am I glad I read a previous review that recommended buying one with a handle to start and stop the flow YES
Would I recommend this, yes I would
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
Does what it says on the pack. Easy to put together out of the box, evenly distributes the lawn feed (or whatever your going to use). It was worth paying the few quid extra for the on / off lever at the top as you can really control the flow and not over dose on the turns.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Love this! I researched various makes of these online and read loads of reviews. This one seemed to come out top and it did not disappoint! I have three lawns in my garden and this item is a God-send. Very easy to use and I couldn't believe how much less product I used when spreading it properly and evenly, rather than by hand as I've done in the past. It didn't clog once and after use it was easy to tip the remaining granules back in to the bag and I just sloshed it out with a bucket of warm water and it came up spotlessly clean, so virtually maintenance free. It's important to wash it out afterwards and not leave any product stored in it according to the reviews I read, because otherwise product gets stuck, clumps together and jams it, so bear that in mind before putting it away. Highly recommend it, wish I'd bought one years ago!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Arrived the next day after ordering. Easy to put together. I set the height as per instructions on the grass weed and feed pack and away we went. Dead easy to use and even coverage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Item as expected... i think, not having owned one before. The instructions are not very helpful in terms of calculating what the spreader settings should be. Most of the settings stated are the recommended settings for their own products which is not helpful if thats not what you are using. Did some basic math ratio to calculate what I hope is the correct setting but then couldn't find a matching number on the spreader so ended up winging it which was what buying this was all about!

Four stars as it does spread evenly when you choose the right setting but 3 stars for the documentation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Interior axle, cotter pin and washers all rusted/corroded, despite washing out and drying thoroughly before storing away. Manufacturer needs to spend a little more on making these components out of stainless steel. Registration mark for calibrating is non existent. Disappointing considering the RRP. This could be a good machine if corners weren't cut.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
This is so much easier to use than the chipper model feed controller no handle bar. No the other model you have to stooping down to stop the feed on the lawn this dose ones back in very fast pay the extra few £s. Mack life easier for your self. Had this model before and it lasted over 20 years a very good investment. It works just great moss and weeds all gone now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Used to have a hand operated spreader which obviously resulted in uneven application of grass feed. This product did work a treat. We did have a few burnt areas after the first attempt but as long as you keep the release closed as you manoevre then you do not get over application. Took previous reviewer suggestion of cleaning down to ensure no corrosion. All OK so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)